We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent 5 days and every single night the music was blasting from 10pm -1pm. I do not understand why the music has to be played so loud when there are only a few people in the bar area. This is not a nightclub its a hotel. I called the front desk to ask if they could lower the music and staff was not very friendly and nothing changed. So inconsiderate of their guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Cindy S, thank you so much for sharing your comments.

We take our guests´ comments very seriously since they help us see what really needs to be done to improve our services everyday to achieve their complete satisfaction. We take the comfort of our guests very seriously and any problems that we are made aware of are always dealt with as quickly as possible.

We are very sorry about how to volume of the music at the bar bothered you and we will share your comments with our General Manager to see if it would be possible to lower it down so this can be avoided in the future. We apologize about the shortcomings in the service you received from the front desk, you can rest assure that that issue will promptly be resolve so that it never happens again. It is very important for us to maintain the highests standards of service to all our guests so once again, we apologize for not providing you the satisfaction you expected. You can be sure that all your comments are going to be taken into account.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrived at 2 and received a room but was told we couldn't get our wristbands till 3. Kind of silly in my mind. The room was a real joke. Plastic furniture in a hotel room, no fridge, bottle of water, etc. While showering it felt like the floor was going to collapse at any moment. AC is the loudest I have ever heard.

Pool: only one and unlike most pools you can't drink in this one. Snack bar sucked! I would like a lil more option. And where's the guacamole, salsa and chips?

Food: only one buffet. Gets boring fast when three times a day you're at the same place. Food itself was ok; it's an all-inclusive so what do you expect?

Cons: location, beach was clean, Iggy the iguana is pretty funny and there's beautiful parrots that have taken up residency.

No complaints about the staff. They're great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HollyC_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear HollyC_08, we really appreciate your comments since they help us see how our guests see our hotel and its services and what we can do to improve them.

We are very happy to learn how much you like Iggy and the parrots, how clean you found the beach and specially how much you liked our staff and the way they treated you. We want our guests to feel comfortable not only with the accommodations but also by providing them with all they need so their vacation can be a very fun and relaxing experience.

We will like to inform you that the hotel is actually undergoing major renovations to update its infrastructure so our guests can expect some big and beautiful changes, specially in the rooms and the area around the pool. We will definately take into account your comments regarding buffet and snacks and will gladly forward them to our Food and Beverages Staff so that we can continue improving our services until we achieve your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to be of your service.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hey everyone, we just got back from a trip to Jaco and found our accommodations that were set up to be less than desirable. We decided to suck it up, walk down the street to this all inclusive little place and got a room. I love this place and would definately go back. The staff were wonderful, the rooms were great, clean, cute, only a double and a single bed tho which is odd, but we flipped to get the double, both were comfortable. Great balcony, pool was awesome. Two bars, beach and lobby, they dont open till 10 but stay open late, beach bar later. The food is great too, one restaurant but thats all you need. This place is right on the beach, beautiful sunsets, watching the surfers, great local. The cool thing about this place is its right in Jaco Beach. A booming little beach town, very safe, lots of canadians and americans young and old have come there and either never left or came back to retire. You can walk around and feel very safe here. If you go, there is a great little bar across the street Jaco Taco, amazing food, which you will find everywhere in Jaco. The food is healthy, fresh and awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Janis P, thank you for such a wonderful review. It makes us very proud that you called our hotel a jewel because that is how we try to make it in the eyes of our guests.
This is a hotel that thrives on our guests´ satisfaction, comfort and enjoyment, so it is only natural that our personnel will try to make them feel extra welcome and comply to meet their every need so we can be sure that they stay will be nothing less than perfect.

Our location is also very convenient because we are not only a few blocks away from the town but we are also right infront of the beach, so while you´re staying with us, you are going to have the beach right in your backyard. We are also very happy that you like our buffets so much, we will be more than happy to share this with our Food and Beverages Staff, I´m sure that they are going to be delighted.

Thank you so much for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We just got back from a week's vacation at the Best Western in Jaco Costa Rica. Stayed in room 216 (non-pool side which actually was nice and quiet).

Overall review is fair: Comfortable, clean, very polite staff, excellent service. Pool is very nice and the beach is your backyard. There is always someone there to guard and protect both the entrance and the area coming up from the beach. They are super nice to their customers. Most of the staff spoke English very well.
They did a great job with the meals, trying different variations of things each day. Anyone should be able to find something that they will like.
Very close walking distance into town (there's really only one main strip).

Suggestions for improvement that I did give them:
- Room needed a refrigerator.
- Complimentary bottled water.
- Pillows were too hard.
- No info packet in the room - there is nothing letting you know what time meals are served, how long the pool is open, what the wi-fi password is, what the hours of the bar are, taxi/shuttle info. You have to physically ask downstairs.
- No face/wash clothes
- No tissues
- No bar of soap (only hand gel in a dispenser)
- Showers were either 3rd degree burn or ice cold and the water pressure was so light that it took about 1/2 hour just to rinse the shampoo out of your head.

Other than those suggestions, the place was a good find for the price. Again the staff and service are the main reason for my positive review. Also, the resident Iguana was really cool. He likes to sun himself mid-morning on the patio by the pool!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tebbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Tebbett, thank you for writing such a thorough review.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed stayin with us and how much you liked our location, the services we provide and the way our entire personnel treats our guests. The goal we have is to provide our guests with the best services available, and the most comfortable accommodations so they can enjoy themselves as much as they can and have all the fun they deserve.
We try to make each guest happy by tending to their every need, complying with them in the friendliest way so they can be sure that they can always trust us with their complete satisfaction and well being.

We are very sorry that we do not have any refrigerators in the rooms When our guests check in, we give them a small plastic folder which has the schedule of the pool, the schedules for the buffets and bar and the wi-fi password since we do not have an information packet in the room . We really do not know why you didn´t get it and we apologize for it.

We are very proud to be a very eco friendly hotel, we are even certified as a CST hotel ( the letters stand for Certificado de Sostenibilidad Turistica or Turistic Sustainability Certification) which means that we do and use everything biodegradable and eco friendly in the hotel, that is why we don´t have solid soaps, instead we have dispensers with biodegradable liquid soap, that way, our guests use what they need to and there is never any waste.

Thank you for the other suggestions, we will keep them in mind, we really appreciate them. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I love this place. I have been visiting CR for many many years and the staff has always been extremely courteous. The upper management has changed but many of the staff has remained and the service is always been close to perfect. . .if something isn't right - they do everything they can to make it right. Internet in Costa Rica isn't always reliable but I have found that the free wifi is acceptable and there are also "hardwired" computers available if you just happen to have a problem with the wifi. After my second visit the staff remembered me and would call me by name (nice touch). The front desk is always helpful and willing to suggest those activites that only happen certian times of the year. "I love this place!" For the money - this is a great value!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Lee M, thank you for writing such an amazing review. It makes us extremely happy and proud to learn that you have visit us before because there is no way better for us to see how happy and satisfied you were with the hotel and its services than to see our guests come time and time again.
We strive to provide our guests with the best services and the most comfortable accommodations possible so they can have a fun and carefree stay. The only thing we want you to worry about is when you are going to get your next drink or what snack or dish to choose from.
Our staff always try to make our guests feel super welcome, surrounding them with a very warm and friendly atmosphere, and complying with everything they may need to make their stay an unforgettable experience.
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure being of your service and the entire team looks forward to your next visit.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in this place, what a mistake! We were traveling through and thought we'd do the all inclusive for a night, the only good thing was that our stay was only a night. The rooms are very dated, and I mean very dated. The AC sounded like an aircraft. The pools alright and it was nice that the drinks were included. The food though was pants, it was pretty clear it was done as cheaply as possible. When we went to bed at 10pm for an early night the music in the bar started and wouldn't finish till 1am. This was just a normal weekday night. It was so loud there pretty much wasn't anywhere you could get away from it. Reception didn't care, wasn't their problem. Their answer was we could try and move all our stuff into another room and see if that worked but it probably wouldn't was there answer. If all you want to do is eat rubbish food and get smashed every night, you'll have a great time, otherwise avoid.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Snow1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Snow 1985, thank you for sharing your review.
Our guests´ feedback is extremely important for us because they let us how the hotel and its services are truly perceived, that way, we can know for sure what we need to do to keep on improving .
We are very sorry to learn that your stay with us was not of your complete satisfaction because we do really strive to make our guests´ stays as comfortable and convenient as possible; always making sure that all their needs and requests are fulfilled. Right now, the hotel is undergoing total renovations of its infrastructure and the rooms are bieng completely remodelled so all the furnishings and electrical devices are going to be renewed.

We are going to share with our Food and Beverages Staff your comments about how you found the quality of the food so they can take them into account and get to work on it. Regarding the music´s volume, your comments have already been shared with our brands standard team so they can promptly resolve the issue.
About the shortcomings you received at the Reception when you complained about the music, we will look into it as soon as possible because we really do take the comfort of our guests most seriously and any problems we are made aware of are dealt as quickly as possible.

Once again, we apologize for your inconveniences and we will do everything in our power to resolve the issues you experienced. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The rooms had old furniture that was falling apart. The door leading to the balcony had gaps that allowed the hot air to come in. The radio at the pool and at the bar is played way too loud so that it is uncomfortable to lay out by the pool or take a nap in your room. The food was good but they run out of the better type of food early. Recommendation: Offer bacon in the morning every other day. Stop serving spam as ham. It tastes gross! Offer shrimp in garlic sauce for dinner or lunch. Make an elevator going to the restaurant for disabled people. It's not fair that someone in a wheelchair or with difficulties walking, can't access the buffet and has to eat in a table isolated downstairs.
The worst part was that the water became contaminated on New Year's day 2014. I called the front desk to let them know that the water coming out of my shower and faucet had a very strong smell like paint thinner or gasoline. The front desk attendant told me to come down to use another bathroom by the office. I called again a few hours later to let them know the smell continued and they never sent anyone to my room to fix the problem. Other guests complained about their eyes burning after taking a shower and they were ignored. The general manager never called the Health Department to notify them of the problem. Instead, they called an agency to come out to test the water so that they wouldn't have to close down the hotel and lose money. The continued to cook with the water, allowed hotel guests to take showers, brush their teeth, wash their hands with that water.
***This is what the hotel should have done if they cared about the guests and not just making money:
Immediately notified all of the guests about the plumbing breaking and the water getting contaminated with gasoline/deisel.
Called the health department to do a thorough check of the plumbing
Provided all guests with bottled water to drink and a large bottle of water to take a shower
Offered the guests the option of going to a sister hotel somewhere else

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Kimmy619, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay with us. We take our guests´ comments very seriously because they make us see exactly what their opinions and points of views about the hotel and its services really are, and with that valuable feedback, we are able to see what we can do to improve. That way, we can make them feel totally satisfied, getting everything they expect and much more.
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay since we thrive on our guests´ complete comfort and well being. We are going to take into account your recommendation about the radio´s volume at the pool and bar. We are also going to share your opinions and recommendations about our buffets´ dishes to our Food and Beverages Staff so they can get to work on them as quickly as possible.
Because we do take the comfort and satisfaction of our guests so seriously, we are very happy to inform you that the hotel is actually going through a complete renovation and remodelations, its infrastructure, the rooms, all their furnishings and their electrical devices so all our guests can always have the highest quality of services and accommodations possible.
We apologize for your inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
6.2 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort

Address: Pastor Diaz Av., Jaco, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £107 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Pacific region and just an hour and a half away from downtown San José, this beachfront hotel offers a premier experience in one of Costa Rica's favorite beach destinations. This all-inclusive resort provides guests with unlimited food and drinks, as well as exciting activities for all ages, outdoor swimming pools and tennis and volleyball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jaco Beach Hotel Jaco
Jaco Best Western
Jaco Beach
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing