We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel: okay; Beach: perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was one of many stops on our recent honeymoon. The hotel was okay (the room was small and the bathroom needed updating), but the location was great. We really didn't spend much time in the room so it wasn't that big of an issue for us. The locals were really friendly. My husband quickly became friends with a couple of the surfers. Speaking of surfing, if that is something you are looking for Jaco beach is the spot. The sets were amazing each and every day. I could hardly get my hubby off the board long enough for lunch!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooneyChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here in nov 2012, paid $113 per nt for 3rd floor room with king bed, room was comfortable, great little deck in room for smoking and sunsets, small but nice pool area, close to everything but quiet enough to get rest. Well secured and safe, you can hear the waves/ocean at night, restaurant was very good. excellent, very kindly service in front desk, restaurant, maintenance from to to bottom. Bathroom was a little small but had hot water and was sufficient. Hotel does not allow chicas so no hookers and old men looming around. Jaco is a nice place, yes there are hookers and drug dealers but if you ignore them it's not a problem. Jaco is not really for families and definitely not for honeymooners or couples. I would stay at hotel balcon de mar again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jajeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed here with a student group and was plesantly surprised witth the motel and location. The room we had was roomy, clean and had a beautiful view. The other rooms my students were staying were nice and roomy as well. We were not able to get wifi in our room, so we had to go to the lobby. It was about a 3 block walk to the downtown area, which had lots of touristy shops the kids enjoyed. The beach is NOT for swimming, the tide is rough and the beach is rocky. This is a nice place to stay if you are not planning on any serious beach time.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. It's located right by the beach and really close to the main strip.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. My room had a balcony facing the pacific and the a/c and hot water worked well. I had a little trouble with the wi-fi in my room, but in the pool/restaurant/bar area, the connection was good.
Food is available either buffet style or à la carte, and it was tasty.
My room was on the second floor, so i had no issue, but there was no elevator and it is also not safe to go into the water on this section of the beach due to rip tides.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here during an educational tour with our daughters school. We did not choose the hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. After a long trip of very poor lodgings this hotel came as a treat. At this point our standards had been lowered in terms of what to expect at each new location but we were happy and comfortable here. The pool area was great, the food and variations were terrific, the poolside bar was great and service was super. The rooms were comfortable with A/C, safes, small balconies to courtyard area and nice views. The hotel is right across from the beach which is nice and as an earlier reviewer mentioned, the number of macaw we saw every day was a super treat. I'd recommend this location.

Stayed: June 2012
Thank 4willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Pros: On the beach, good pool area with a nice bar and restaurant area, an almond tree nearby that had the most macaws I have ever seen in one place, a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants, a nice balcony, a comfortable bed, and working A/C. Cons: no elevator, rip tides in this section of the beach, and some seedy stuff nearby as teenagers were propositioned by hookers and drug dealers during the AFTERNOON.

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairwell (206, 207, 306, 307) have balconies with nice view of pool and beach. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzouLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Myself along with seven of my close friends stayed at this hotel for four nights. The hotel was across the street from the beach. Parking was easy due to a employee stationed outside of the hotel waiting to assist guests. The staff definitely made this hotel. Each employee was professional, yet friendly, and extremely helpfull. The hotel was clean but, the rooms were slightly run down. Nothing major, they could just use a little TLC. The continental breakfast was really good. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and it was very good although a little pricer then if we had eaten in town. There were two pools that were cleaned every morning. There were quite a few families with children of all ages so, the pool was pretty busy and loud during the day. During the nights we were able to hangout in the bar area and enjoy drinks, playing cards, or just chating. All in all I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asw1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.0 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 40 in Jaco
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#5 of 40 in Jaco
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 40 in Jaco
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 40 in Jaco
116 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Mar

Address: Bohio Street, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £70 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Del Mar Jaco
Balcon Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Balcon Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing