We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb, and what wonderful staff too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply superb, and what wonderful staff too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My extended family, friends, and I are so happy (and fortunate!) to have stayed in Hotel Club del Mar.

To begin, we were in the Jaco area for my wedding at a different location. There were numerous friend and family groups traveling in from the United States, Canada, and China with people of all different ages, interests, and needs.

We had a fantastic stay here. The condos were really superb (huge living spaces and kitchen, large, clean, and modern rooms, all the amenities a family would need!) and so were the individual suites. The hotel is also right on the beach. We would walk out of the condo, across the pool (great for kids and adults!) and well-kept grounds, right onto the beach and into the ocean. It was also very accessible from the main road, as well as from the beach for those friends who liked to walk to the downtown area by that route.

I can go on all day about the hotel itself, but the true value of staying at Hotel Club del Mar is the excellent service. The owner, Philip, was a godsend to us. We had some major trouble with a rental car agency, and Philip really went to bat for us. He really takes his guests under his wing, watches out for their best interests, and makes sure they have a perfect vacation. He is always on the premises during the day, and meets personally with all his guests. The staff he employs are gracious and professional as well. If for no other reasons than the staff's graciousness and professionalism, I speak for my family and friends in highly recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: The condos are great! If you are traveling with your family or a group of friends, I'd highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    105
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
123
118
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

It's easy to enthuse about a great holiday, and that in itself would be a straight forward task after staying at Del Mar. But. It wouldn't do justice to what Philip and his team have created, so I hope this does. You don't walk into reception and find yourself hit by the clichéd scripts of sanitised corporate hospitality, that simply see money in foreign travellers; you go into the reception and you're greeted with an abundance if calm kindness that glides through every moment you will experience at Del Mar. And those moments are like magic. The premise is designed to incorporate the surrounding forests into open spaces of the restaurant, bar, poolside and guides you out to the beach where sand, warm sunshine and the evening view of an immense sunset will define the happy memories of your holiday. The team has a natural confidence to understand customer service without expectation and without intruding; the result is a beautiful mix of privacy and company throughout your stay. Any question you may have will be answered with informed enthusiasm, and every member of the team is a delight to speak to. Rooms are immaculate, sound proof and fully equipped with fridges (having stayed in alt 4stat acc in Jaco, this is clearly not the type of attention to detail to which they all adhere, but at Del Mar nothing has been forgotten).

I am a female, travelling alone and felt more comfortable at Del Mar than I sometimes have at home (London).

More than that, the magic of the place suits everyone from single travellers, to couples, families and groups of friends. It's a real experience of Costa Rica and while it may leave you wishing you had more time to stay, when your holiday is over you'll understand what they mean by Pura Vida.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here for a week for surf camp and yoga as a solo female traveler. I always felt safe, had plenty to do and never had to leave the hotel if I didn't want to. The staff are SUPER friendly, they remember your name, and it is on the end of the beach so it doesn't get a lot of the beach foot traffic other places get. I didn't have to leave if I didn't want to which was a big plus. The food was also delicious! It was better than the food out in Jaco in town. The place is a 20 minute walk down the beach to town during the day and a 5 minute cab ride at night. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is a decent hotel. I'm a Costarican princess, if you are looking for all-inclusive, stunning beach, and 4+star then this is not the place for you. This is an average 3.5 star. My parents picked it as it is a short drive from San Jose. The good: I liked their pool, and everything was clean and nice enough. The hotel is safe for Jaco. We used the safe for our valuables. I didn't mind the room. Loved sleeping with the fan and the doors open to hear the ocean but if it's too hot, the ac works fine. The gardens are pretty and I got enough sun and pool-time to make me happy before coming back to Canada. The hotel is isolated from the town and main beach which is nice. The beach is an ugly one but the sunsets are gorgeous. The hotel staff were super friendly, especially the owner, the food was cheaper than the awful restaurants in town, and everything was decent enough. Loved their traditional casado fish meal, the seafood pasta, and the rice with shrimp. Everything else was blah. The not so great: Some of the pool chairs need replacing, the roof looks rough, and Jaco beach is not the best that CR has to offer. Jaco is a tourist trap and not as safe at night. Please note the ocean has jelly fish called 'Hilo de oro' at certain times of the year and Jaco is wonderful for surfing, but has strong rip-currents. I had a lovely time, but neither Jaco nor the hotel wouldn be my first choice.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LPH2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

great service, great space, excellent apartments and food. beach is not very nice (black muddy sand) but as overall I have nothing negative to say. if you are in one of the apartments you need to clean it yourself but that is no hard job. built in washing machine and dryer in a cupboard and loads of storage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent Attention, we get a digestive liquor cup as courtesy after our dinner. But the food was not awesome, my fish was over cooked and the mash potato is from a box, for that price so high, I would expect a natural puree and fresh fish.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anamaria1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed five nights/four days with my wife and two young adult daughters at the Club Del Mar in Jaco between Christmas and New Year's.

The Club is an independent hotel right on the south end of the beach in Jaco, a truly excellent location for us. They have a wonderful selection of activities. We were particularly attracted by their excellent surf camp located on one the easiest beaches I have ever surfed in my three years in the sport. One literally walks to the front of the property to meet the charming surf instructors, walks into bathtub warm water with a soft sand bottom, and rides some of the longest most stable waves around.

The staff are charming, including waitstaff, desk, housekeeping, beauty salon, and owner Philip. They offer a wide range of activities, in addition to two days of surf lessons, we also did a day of zip line and jungle horseback riding that was outstanding. On Saturday night they featured a jazz quartet of Tico jazz musicians visiting home from Miami and doing a charity fundraiser performance in the hotel dining room, crazy talented!

The club is an independent facility, a more informal experience than you might get at a branded international resort company property. It fits the vibe of surf community Jaco nicely, draws a mix of Costa Rican and foreign visitors, the iguanas on the property are friendly and we were very comfortable and happy there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing