We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condos, right on the beach”
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice condos, right on the beach”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The good: Very nice, spacious rooms with nice furnishings. Located at the end of the Jaco beach. Good pool, clean beach, security personnel just in case. Friendly staff. Good value for the size of the rooms.

The bad: No beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach, only around the pool. The pull out sofabed was too uneven, thin, and noisy to use.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronkleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    110
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
136
122
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We rented a two bedroom condo, #6.

Pros -- the rooms, amenities, decorations, etc. were perfect. The rooms were clean, well lit, and equipped with everything you need. There were also security guards along the beach front part of the property. I felt very safe and comfortable.

Cons -- we were on a bottom level and had a partial view. I would have appreciated a condo with a better view. The highway backs up to the condos, and you could hear trucks roaring by all night. The bugs were also VERY loud.

Recommendations to hotel -- Our package included breakfast, which was actually a plate of fruit, toast and coffee. I would have appreciated something with protein like an egg or nuts or something. We stayed at other hotels that included breakfast plans, which were more generous and included warm items and juice in addition to coffee.

Room Tip: try to get closer to the beach and away from the highway to get a good night's rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We recently stayed for a week at Hotel Club Del Mar and had a fantastic time. We booked a 2 bedroom condo, and the space was perfect for my wife and I and our two teenage kids. The kitchen was fully outfitted, the condo was spotless, and there was tons of room for us to spread out and relax between surf lessons. Jaco beach was right out front of our hotel, and the Del Mar Surf school team had our whole family up surfing waves on our first lesson. The staff at the hotel and surf school were outstanding. Big thanks to Marcel and Natalie at Del Mar Surf - You guys made our holiday. Thanks to Phillip the owner of Club Del Mar for providing such a well run place to stay. Popcorn at the tiki bar to watch the sunset was the icing on the cake. We will be back next year.

We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Try for one of the condos close the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our family (2 adults and daughters ages 13 & 9) had a wonderful Spring Break week at Club del Mar in Jaco Beach. We had a two bedroom condo - great space for our family and very clean. I was worried that the resort was too small and our girls would be bored by the end of the week, but Club del Mar really grew on us and by the middle of the week we were in love with this place. It's quiet and just a great place To relax whether you have kids or need adult time. Nice black sand beach that's great for jogging barefoot. Wonderful yoga classes. The massages at the spa were awesome. Food at the repost restaurant is great and very reasonable prices. We met several nice families and the kids all played in the pool together. There is nota a fITness CRT but with jogging on the beach and yoga we were ok. The staff and owner, Phillip, were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffan_2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The friendliest staff here and a beautiful location! The restaurant here had the best food we found in Jaco! The owner Phillippe was friendly, helpful and informative. Within walking distance to town, beach and great hiking trails.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, this property is perfectly located at the south end of Jaco Beach. It was a short (cheap) cab ride into town for a night out or shopping, but far enough away to be able to enjoy the ocean without the crowds.

We stayed in the hotel room building. The view of the ocean from our room was somewhat limited, but we enjoyed the view of the pool area almost as much as the ocean. The room was very nice with a good sized balcony, which we took advantage of daily. There were both glass and screen doors to the balcony, so you could let in the breezes or keep out the heat, depending on the time of day. The room came equipped with a refrigerator and coffee maker. The bathroom was modern and clean with a very pleasant shower. It was not a tremendously large room, but it was well decorated, well maintained and perfectly suitable for our 4 night stay.

The pool was outstanding. The photos I had seen online made it look narrow and shady, but it was really quite large and beautiful. There were plenty of tables, chairs and lounge chairs so you always had a choice of shade or sun. The garden areas around the hotel were lovely, so the pool quickly became our favorite place to hang out. The ocean was just a few steps away in one direction and the restaurant & bar were just a few steps in the other. The poolside tiki bar never seemed to be open, but the servers from the main bar were out regularly to refresh beverages, deliver lunch, etc.

The restaurant’s food was quite good for breakfast and lunch. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but the menu looked interesting and we were told that the chef had worked there for a good number of years and was pretty well-regarded.

The service was good throughout the property. No complaints with the front desk, restaurant, bar or housekeeping staff.

It would have been nice if the hotel had provided chairs for the beach. Because of the tides coming in and out, the sand was wet and you really needed something off the ground to sit on. A few chairs with umbrellas would have put the icing on the cake.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Club del Mar. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POMNSCUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A lovely and easeful respite that offers a quiet beachfront experience. Phillip, the owner, and his staff were courteous and engaging to make sure our experience was exactly what we we desired. Traveling to and from was easy and taxis to town we're readily available. I look forward to returning with others or would even feel confident to come here solo.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 17victoriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.7 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.9 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.7 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing