We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Find Near Jaco”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Quality Find Near Jaco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at Hotel Club Del Mar in May with my husband and we had a great time in and around Jaco. The location of the property was ideal for us, as we wanted to be near Jaco but not in the midst of the town. The hotel is about a 10 minute to drive into Jaco, which was convenient since we went there for meals daily.The hotel is about one hour away from Manuel Antonio Park, which is easy to navigate if you have your own vehicle. Overall the location was fantastic!

The beach direclty outside the propert was pristine and beautiful and not heavily traveled, so it made sunbathing a stress free experience. We never actually swam in the pool so I don't have specific comments about it other than it was small but seemed like it would do the trick.

Our room was on the second floor of the main building. Though the view was only average, the room itself was quite impressive and certainly more than I had anticipated. It had a separate sitting room with a tv, couch and chair that led out to a balcony. The sleeping area, though small, was very comfortable since that room was equipped with an air conditioner. There were reading lights on the headboard which was nice if we wanted to read before bed. The bathroom was very large and had a huge shower with a normal shower head and hot and cold dials. This seemed like a luxury since the other hotels we stayed in in Costa Rica only had the suicide showers. The other hotels also did not have hot water at the sink, where this one did, let alone a large sink and countertop area.

Our rate included breakfast and because we departed early for a tour one morning we asked if it was possible to get breakfast to go. The hotel very kindly provided two fruit trays for us, which was not only much appreciated but very delicious. We're glad we could take advantage of the breakfast option even though we weren't at the hotel to eat. The day in which we did eat breakfast at the hotel the food was very good.

The front desk staff was helpful and courteous right up until we checked out. First, the positive. They were greatly helpful when telling us how to get tickets to the Paul McCartney concert. We didn't know where to go to purchase the tickets and they not only figured out where to go but gave us directions to get there. We were very impressed with this particular service. We found they needed some improvment during our check-out, however.

Upon check-out, the price we were charged varied from the rate quoted on Booking.com where we booked the reservation. Booking.com quoted a USD rate we could expect to pay, though it noted we would pay in local currency. Consistent with Booking.com we were charged in Colones, however, when translated to USD it was not consistent whatsoever with the rated quoted on booking.com. The staff tried to tell us the difference was the impact of the exchange rate and taxes, but the rate in question was the base room rate, not the all-in rate including taxes and fees. The specific question I repeatedly asked was what was the agreed upon rate,

1)the quoted USD rate or
2) the equivalent amount of Colones at the time of booking (an amount which was not disclosed anywhere on our reservation)

They could not answer me this question which makes it very difficult to agree on how much we should pay. After we tried to explain that we were seeking to clarify the benchmark nightly rate (and understood exchange rate fluctuations and that we had to pay taxes) they got a little bit condescending and said we didn't understand. They even said to each other in Spanish "they don't understand," when in reality we absolutely understood the issue and furthermore understand Spanish and didn't appreciate the comment.

After going around in circles, they finally agreed to decrease the nightly room rate so it was consistent with the booking.com rate. We appreciated the resolution. The receptionist then told us they've had many problems with booking.com and that it's advisable to call the hotel itself to negotiate the rate and to book the room instead of going through booking.com. It seems like a pretty simple solution exists here; either the receptionsist need to know which rate and in which currency the reservation was made or the hotel should not use Booking.com.

Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay, the location of hotel Del Mar, and the value the hotel represented. If we were in Costa Rica again we would definitely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    106
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
126
120
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before. We stay here because it is off the beaten path for a busy place like Jaco. It is a 15 to 25 minute walk via the beach to the main part of town for restaurants and such. The restaurant on site is average but not great, in my opinion, and it can be expensive for the quality of food. The service in the restaurant and bar, however, is very good. The pool is great and you can see the ocean from your room or the pool. This is pretty good value for money in my opinion and the staff are usually really great, with a few exceptions. Unlike many hotels in CR, breakfast is not included unless you book a special deal through a website or travel agent, so know that in advance. Rooms have fans and AC and are comfortable. Some people said the beds weren't comfortable, but we found them to be fine. Lots of room, usually relaxing if there aren't big tours staying there. One downside is that there is a surf school on site... On some days of our stay there would be five to ten people hanging out pretty much in front of our room and it was noisy and it made it hard to sit back and relax with all those people just sitting around out there. The rooms have safes and there is security on site. I've stayed elsewhere in Jaco and this has been the best to date. It really is a nice beach and a lovely view. Our room did not have wifi, butt hats not the end of the world for us...we just used it in the bar area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelReviews411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel itself is nothing special, except that you get great breakfast and have large rooms. But it is very well located in Jaco at the end of the beach where there is pure dark sand and no stones at the beach...we saw Ara's and other nice animals too...good place to stay for a night or two but not more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in room #1, the view and spacious room were awesome. The bed was not very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and refreshing.

Room Tip: Room 1 as first choice, 2 as second. Best view from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during the low season. The hotel is located in southern Jaco and is right on the beach. Comfortable king sized bed, ocean view room, clean, air conditioning (room only, not in the bathroom which was hot as a sauna), sizable balcony, and a mini fridge. Oh, and free wifi! Like I mentioned earlier, it was the low season so the pool tiki bar was closed (bummer) and the hotel felt deserted. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and booked our day tours for us. Do have dinner at the hotel restaurantant, Sandales. I had a mixed seafood dish for dinner on our last night there and it was quite delicious! I probably wouldn't stay here for a honeymoon if you are looking for a four star + boutique hotel, but it was fine for a quick stay in Jaco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my wife and our 18-months-old daughter.
At the same time, there were other families with small children and all of us had a wonderful time.
Getting into details:
1. The hotel is quite old and it is noticeable in its arquitecture and the structures seem to need some paint and a little care, but despite these minor details, the rooms have everything you need: comfortable beds, nice shower, a little refrigerator, nice quiet A/C and a superb balcony facing the ocean.
2. The hotel location is marvelous, right by the beach, but far enough from Jaco downtown to avoid all the noise and the partying that goes around the town almost every night. The beach is nice and it was a nice surprise for me as a costarican who hasn't been to Jacó for more than 20 years to find out it is still clean and full of life (crabs, clams, small fishes by the shore, etc.)
3. The restaurant is very nice, the food is excellent and the service couldn't be better.
4. The pool is very clean and safe for children, with enough space for kids to play around without disturbing other people not related to them.
5. The staff deserves a whole review all to themselves: every single person which we had to talk, even for the smallest thing, were helpful, with a smile in their faces and a great attitude; even the owner, a very nice gringo called Phillip: visiting every table at dinner to say hi and check on customers' satisfaction.

Overall, a great place to stay, which could be a little renovated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RafaCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana City, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Im writingn this review a little late, but better late than never I suppose! I was married here in June 2012. Although I did not stay here, much of my family did. They had a wonderful experience with the staff and rooms. We had the rehearsal dinner here as well and with 65 of us, we got a little rowdy and had a blast! We were never told to be quit (we weren't disturbing, just having fun) and partied into the night. The wedding night was the exact same. They catered the dinner the wedding night, which was incredible and thanks to Victor, ensured I was taken of the day before and day of my wedding. He listened to what I wanted and it magically all came together for us. I cannot thank him enough for making this the best (and easiest) wedding day ever! The view was beautful ,pretty much right on the beach and the lush grass was great to sit and take in the ocean if you didn't want to sit in the sand. The rooms were a little pricey for me, however the rest was great!!! Thanks again Victor and the chefs at the Del Mar for all their work in ensuring we had a great experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.7 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing