We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
50
46
31
15
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
46
31
15
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvista marlocal flavorfun placepool siderooms are cleanevery eveningvisiting costa ricajaco beachpoolssecuritypartyingsurf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great place to stay and have a good time. Ocean is right outside and make for pleasant sound for sleeping. Just make sure you have sunscreen. Also very nice pool bar and restaurant. The pool bar appeared to open about 9 or 10 in the morning and closed about 1 on weekend nights.

Room was clean, spacious with the staff being very attentive. Hotel convenient to shopping and eating in Central Jaco. It was a short ride up to Los Suenos for what that offers.

The only negative was the casino manager. They could do much better if they got rid of him. His attitude is not conducive to gamblers.

Room Tip: At this time beach in front of hotel has tricky undertow. Sea bass along with the ceviche was very good at beach side restaurant.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Cocal has all of the things you want in a quick getaway to Jaco. Good Bar, Food, Nice little Casino with poker. 2 pools next to busy bar on on beach. The condos accross the parking lot are also very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A beach front hotel with fairly modern/clean rooms,efficient staff and security, and good value relative to similarly located properties. The restaurant serves simple meals prepared just right. For instance, I paid $150 for a less than average seafood meal for two just south of the hotel, and the next night had a delicious and much more satisfying seafood meal at the Cocal for $32 for two.

There is an offsite tour guide named Ketty that is well known at the property and stops by regularly. There is also an onsite tour coordinator, but they seem to represent a select group of vendors, whereas Ketty has the flexibility to select a vendor, or customize a tour that best suits your desires.

Yes, there are working girls at poolside and in the casino, but not aggressive. For the most part just decent people that haven't yet found an alternative way to make a living, and some have interesting stories to tell given the opportunity. Beyond that, what happens between consenting adults is not my business.

I have a fairly well established itinerary when visiting Costa Rica that always includes one or two nights in Jaco, and Cocal will be my go-to spot for the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the parking lot for privacy, value and a quiet sleep. If you don't mind a mild party atmosphere and some foot traffic until about midnight, then pool side or beach front is just fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirAlMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I visited the Casino / Bar while i was in town. What an experience. Hard to put into words but definitely a place i will never forget. Look up stories about this place on the internet, all of them are true. You want an experience to tell your future grand kids about one day, do not miss a night here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackMac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I very much enjoyed visiting this casino hotel while there last week.

The tables were generous with me and I came away a winner. Drinks were priced fairly. There were many attractive local ladies, as well as some from San Jose, in the bar area next to the casino that more than just a little friendly. I found it to be a fun place with many locals from San Jose and foreign visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews