We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pochote Grande
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Heredia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying nearby at Claritas hotel which is adequate but lacked any ambiance. On my morning walk I noticed this lovely spot and we decided to have breakfast which is not included at Claritas. The food and service was good. I ask to view the rooms and they appeared much better than ours. Next time we are jumping ship. This is a delightful spot.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paparaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Although this hotel is only rated a 2 star, it is an excellent choice for the following reasons:
1 - It is super clean
2 - The food is outstanding and very reasonably priced - how about bacon wrapped filet mignon for $18.00 USD?
3 - The location - right on the quiet low key end of Jaco Beach
4 - The staff are really attentive, friendly and willing to please
The facilities are nice - nice pool area with lovely foliage and it is a small complex, only 24 rooms so it's not crowded and noisy - no lineups at the bar!
The rooms are very basic - but the a/c works great which is most important!
Bring your own shampoo and beach towels, and enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovetravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Don't be fooled by the professional photos of the pool area. While the pool area is nice, it's the highlight of the place. Way over priced for uncomfortable beds, crappy showers, loud air conditioner and poor breakfasts. The operator, Manfred, is curt and unfriendly. To get to the hotel you have to drive up the back alley. On top of that, construction workers of a thirty story building right next door are hammering 16 of 24 hours a day. Nor is this place within walking distance of the tourist./main strip of Jaco as advertised, more like a half hour. Not impressed and believe us, we are easy going people, and don't stay in resorts, but really... this place is worth $75 dollars a night maximum not the $135.00/night we paid. Will return to Costa Rica, but won't return to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The rooms are good size, but the amenities (or should I say amenity) consists of two small bars of soap. The curtains appear to be tie dyed sheets. The shower was beyond awful--clean, but just a sort of stream dripping at you. There was a small fridge, which was a plus. The place is very basic, but it has a nice pool with some shade at some hours of the day, and the beach is right there, which is a plus. If you were expecting a white sand beach, you'd be disappointed because it's brown and sticks to you and is very pebbly, but that's not the hotel's fault. The proprietor runs hot and cold. When we checked in he was not particularly nice or helpful, but the next day he was much more pleasant. We took a River Crocodile Cruise which was close to the hotel and was excellent. We had a nice lunch there and the breakfasts were good. Town is a short walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very nice small hotel. Clean, safe, goood food! perfect for families to relax. The pool is Ok but there is no pool for kids. The room was just a few steps from the pool and very close to the beach. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aluxcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stay with some other friends. Breakfast is great, very clean areas. Manfred is very friendly guy and always looking to make you feel great. The bar is not a regular fancy place, but is OK. Beach is just a few steps form the room. NIce and clean pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco-Nunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here in November 2012. Right on the beach, a/c, fridge, pool and right on the beach. I could hear the ocean from my room if all was quiet.
The staff was friendly and provided me with information about safety in the area and good places to eat. The house keeping was great and very through. Everything was kept clean and the grounds well maintained. I felt safe as a single female traveler.
The kitchen was affordable and they would make me anything I asked for. It was the low season so there weren't many guests around. I was able to check in early and check out late at no extra cost. I would go here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#25 of 41 in Jaco
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 41 in Jaco
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Property: Hotel Pochote Grande
Address: Pochote Street, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family-owned hotel with 24 rooms, seeking to attend each guest individually. We are proud to have a lot of happy, frequently returning guests. We have a privileged location with direct access to the beach. We represent an excellent alternative for those who are looking for relaxation and tranquillity away from big tourist centres. We are located at the quiet northern end of Jaco beach. Nevertheless alternative entertainment is only few minutes away: CROC`S Casino Resort is located across the street, and the centre of Jaco is only a 15 minute stroll away, offering all kinds of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pochote Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing