We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Tangeri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tangeri Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I've stayed here a number of times since 2006 and the hotel and staff have never let me down. The pools are clean, and the iguanas that run around and drink from them really add to the over all vibe of the place. The rooms are very clean, with hot water and working A/C. The bartenders and staff are very nice, and the breakfast at the restaurant in front of the hotel is really good. Would be a beautiful place to get married- the sunsets are INCREDIBLE!


Candace Moore
Co-founder, Jetting to the Wedding
www.jettingtothewedding.com

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jettingtothewedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Director de Recepción at Tangeri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

jettingtothewedding, Sunsets are amazing !!! Hope you come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

Nice place, cool iguanas, rancho with rockers for ocean viewing, a surly squirrel, small pools, I had a second story room with ocean view in the green season for $90 total, including breakfast at the hotel's restaurant (a very good breakfast), located smack dab in the middle of Jaco, close to the bars us single guys love, and theres a gym too and ping pong and pool (the game with 8-ball!!) One thing: my feet hung off the short bed and the water heater is the electric kind right above the shower head and there were taped-up wires, this scared me.........but I showered and survived!! Like a mini-resort on the beach........nice for the price!! Free Wi-Fi and works well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Director de Recepción at Tangeri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

dhdman, thank you so much for coming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We booked into this hotel hoping for a touch of luxury - having spent a week in lesser hotels in other parts of Costa Rica. The staff did not seem particularly friendly, and it was annoying having to carry our own towels/remote controls to the room we had just booked. When we arrived it was pouring with rain, and the route to our room was not undercover - a bit annoying!
The room was spacious with two twin beds, and a rather grotty bathroom with cheap sachets of shampoo. The selling point was a balcony with a sea view and two rocking chairs - where we spent most of our time at this hotel. There are three pools and a few hammocks, which are ideal if you want to relax - however the hotel did not offer chairs on the beach (directly opposite), which some other hotels did.
Our main problem with this hotel was the cleanliness - I woke up with a cockroach on me in the middle of the night, and my partner and I both got bitten multiple times whilst asleep. I know that Costa Rica is a tropical country, but we stayed in far lesser hotels which were cleaner and less open to the elements (there was a mosquito grill over the balcony doors at this hotel, but it didn't seem to help!)
We paid extra to stay in this hotel, which is considered by Lonely Planet (and local taxi drivers) as 'top range'. I wouldn't bother next time - it's not worth splashing out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tezzthemezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Director de Recepción at Tangeri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

tezzthemezz, thank you so much for coming. Our hotel is oceanfront and it is difficult for us to cover all your way to the room. We like to see the jungle and we loved open air. Unfortunately you come with the rain and. Hope you enjoyed your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed here for two nights in our travels around Costa Rica. Great Location to explore Jaco. Even though it right in the town, the property is set up to give a little seclusion from their neighbours. Walks right out onto the beach!!! I loved the iguanas roaming around the property!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cool-son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Director de Recepción at Tangeri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Cool-son thank you so much for your opinion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Stayed at Hotel Tangeri with a friend for 2 nights January 2009. We chose Jaco because it is only a 2 hour shuttle ride from San Jose airport. According to my shuttle driver new highway will be completed in about 1-2 years (2010-2011?) that will make the trip less than an hour.

I stayed in a double room in the hotel portion of the facility facing the beach. This hotel also has small bungalows available which seem like they would be pretty awesome if you have several guests in your party. However, these bungalows do not have any view. The hotel building is almost directly on the beach. It wasn't more than a 2 minute walk from my balcony to the water. It is also convenient to the various restaurants and bars in Jaco.

Accommodations at the Hotel are good: a fridge, 2 double beds, a TV, air conditioning, and a balcony with 2 rocking chairs. My AC was broken but since I was only at the Tangeri for 2 nights it was not going to be a big deal.

I had room 206. I would recommend it because there are only 6 rooms that face the ocean (I imagine 204-206 or ground level 104-106). The $105/night during high season included breakfast and tax. i did not have the opportunity to try the breakfast.

This place is not for light sleepers -- there is a brand new big hotel being built right next to the tower. There is also a nightclub/bar (Ginesha) a short walk away that you may be able to hear. Even with the balcony door open I didn't have any problem with the noise but it could be bothersome to sensitive people. It isn't luxurious enough to be a honeymoon destination but it is a good value. Overall I would avoid central Jaco as a honeymoon destination because I found it quite seedy (i.e. drugs and prostitution).

The staff speaks English and I arranged my stay over email easily. They are helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank happyboredom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Director de Recepción at Tangeri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

happyboredom, thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Staff very friendly, spoke good English, and very helpful. We took day tours set up by the Tangeri and the driver Rigo took us to all of them. He was very knowledgable of the area. He took us by little "sodas" on the way for a bite to eat if it wasnt included in the tour for that day. Highly recommend the zip line tours set up by them. 25 lines over 5K, horse back riding and a good dinner afterwards. just use common sense when walking through the town. great food all up and down the streets of Jaco! Dont eat the American cuisine, you can do that at home. Eat the local food. Transfer funds via ATM ,better exchange to colones.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eandwwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Director de Recepción at Tangeri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

eandwwest, thank you so much for coming! Hope you come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We needed a place to stay in Jaco just for one night. This certainly did the trick. Jaco is getting "built up" as I write this so I am glad we got to see it before it is strung with high rise after high rise. The grounds are lovely, the pool(s) are very nice. We stayed in #201 - beachfront, second floor. The balcony view was out to the ocean, sunset and all (which speaks for itself). The beach there is big (perfect for a long stroll) and still pleasantly uncrowded. The hotel offered decent value at $130 for the night including breakfast and taxes. The room was clean, AC worked well. My one suggestion would be to offer towels at the pool.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank jeannieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Director de Recepción at Tangeri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

jeannieray, thank you so much for coming. You can take the towels at front desk, pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangeri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangeri Hotel

Address: Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#8 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £82 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tangeri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oceanfront hotel, with 3 swimming pools, a special for children, games room, gym, play for kids, and breakfast included for the rooms. In addition we have villas for 5 or 8 people with kitchen. The rooms have cable tv, free intenert access. There is a restaurant - bar with service throughout the day Great point to surf, amaizing views, nature all around and 2 blocks from Downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tangeri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangeri Hotel Jaco
Tangeri Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing