We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #24 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
las vegas, nv
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I am sorry to disagree with the other reviewers but we found this property to be run down. Several hours on three occasions over two days without water and no hot water, ever. The sunset views were great but part of our lack of total satisfaction may be the town/beach; the beach is too muddy/gritty, unlike Manuel to the south which has the clean blue waters we came to swim in. Fundamentally, the price of a room in the similar property in Hawaii for example would be half the price. I guess that is costa rica however so be prepared. The food was good as well however and I think adventure travelers will enjoy the property if they have to be in Jaco. The staff were definitely cool for the most part but overwhelmed by the required facility work in plumbing, electrical, and refurbishment.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
20
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great location to watch the sunset. We never would have found this restaurant if a friend didn't recommend it. They have super sweet staff, and amazing on the beach location, which is not that common in Jaco. The meals are superb, fish cooked perfectly and the ceviche is something to write home about. Definitely give this place a try!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LankaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel really made the long trip from Europe worth all the effort! Fabulous location, amazing food, exceptional staff, and sheer perfection all around! What makes this hotel so special is how it is just steps away from the hustle of the main street but it is able to make you feel like you have been transported a million miles away. I was able to take full advantage of the beautiful pool and beach while my boyfriend stepped outside the door to go surfing. Canciones del Mar is the perfect place to get away from it all and feel like you are truly in paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had a wonderful time at Canciones del Mar. It is right next to the beach, and also has a large pool with many lounge chairs if the surf isn't your thing. The rooms were clean, and nicely decorated. We had no issues with housekeeping, and service throughout the hotel was wonderful. The restaurant was FANTASTIC, the complimentary breakfast was always excellent. Make sure to check out the bar and jacuzzi on the roof!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMK215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel has the best of all to offer. Beach front and right downtown in the middle of all of the action. Rooms were very charming and clean. Service was impeccable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is a quaint boutique hotel that has everything going for it. Fantastic location - walking distance to everything and ocean front. Excellent food/drink/and staff. Sunsets from the rooftop were amazing. Pool was nice and private and beach only a couple steps away.
Lots of iguanas and birds. Granddaughter loved feeding the iguanas! Would definitely recommened this hotel. Great Value!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_Karen_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Staying here recently over the New Years was the icing on the cake. Having arrived a day earlier than our our condos would be ready, we were accommodated by Day Star Property at this beautiful hotel on the north side of Jaco Beach. It is nestled amongst a canopy of palm trees over looking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Walk out the front of the hotel directly onto the beautiful beach and jump right into the water. My wife and I absolutely love the decor, with a giant stained glass window in our bedroom. A blend of rustic style blended with Tico (locals) accents make this a place to stay that you will never forget. A beautiful walk out balcony overlooking the very refreshing pool where I also got to experience some of the wildlife as a pair of Scarlet Macaws flew over and a sailfin dragon ran across the far wall. I really enjoyed jumping into the pool after my morning run. The water is crystal clear and there is a swim up bar however it looked to be in progress. On the beach side of the pool there is a bar/restaurant that served a traditional Tico breakfast. The staff had the place absolutely spotless when we arrived on New Years day. This hotel is everything that makes Jaco Beach a great vacation spot to just decompress and let all your worries go away. I would stay here again without even thinking twice.

Room Tip: Room 6 is where we stayed I believe it has a huge picture window in one of the 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#29 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#30 of 41 in Jaco
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daystar Bahia Azul
Daystar Bahia Azul
#14 of 65 in Jaco
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa Rica Surf Camp by SUPERbrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small 15-room hotel is a classic! The sea, the surf, the beach, the palm grove, the hotel-it is just as you might imagine a small unique tropical beachfront resort should be. The “Songs of the sea” is a quiet and cool oasis amidst the busy Jaco town scene, with each room’s small deck looking out over the ocean or on the lush gardens surrounding the pool. The hotel is built in Tropical Spanish Colonial style and the fully equipped rooms are spacious and quiet. It is the one place in Playa Jaco that combines the convenience of central location with beachfront location. Wake up to a delicious fresh fruit and buffet breakfast under the thatched roof of the beach side restaurant, then wander down to the beach for some sun and surf. If it gets too hot, retreat and cool off by the pool and Jacuzzi or catch up on your reading in the breezy elevated thatched roof tree house while you enjoy the view below. We have a small gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner, and our Costa Rican chef serves international gourmet and or local food. Also enjoy our Tapas Bar terrace and Jacuzzi on the third floor with a spectacular view over the ocean and green mountains where you can enjoy the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Ocean. We also do weddings and special events. We are committed with national sustainability programs and protecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canciones Del Mar Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing