We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for backpackers in Jaco!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Ranked #2 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for backpackers in Jaco!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Buddha House and met a great group of people there! It´s in an excellent location, right beside the bars and restaurants and 2 minutes walk from the beach. Yet it feels very calm and safe behind gates that close at night and with security. The staff were really friendly, helpdul and relaxed. The place is nicely decorated with lots of colours, has clean rooms and a chillout area with a little pool, table and chairs and hammocks. It feels like a big house. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    77
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
95
89
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muenster, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I spent 4 nights at this place in the dorm room and it was the best hostel I have ever been to in Centralamerica. Clean facilities, rooms, showers, kitchen...The colorful ambience, the very friendly and funny but still professional staff and the central location made my stay unforgettable. I can highly recommend this place. I have been to two other places in Jaco before and I never felt that comfortable as at Buddha Hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed four nights in one of the private rooms and was impressed by what a great place it is. Good downtown location near all the shops and restaurants and only a 3 min walk to the beach. The property is a perfect place to relax and hangout with a nice layout, beautiful garden and amazing decor. The best thing about this place is the friendly staff that really went out of their way to be helpful and make our stay enjoyable. Definitely recommended and I will stay there again next time I'm in Jaco.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Specialpermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Was at the Buddha House end of october. Great Place. Rooms clean. Deco is fantastic. Staff Maricela, Michel and Miguel were awesome. The owner Octavio has a great place. Will return soon. Christian. Saludos Maricela, Michel y Miguel me gusto mucho la estadia. Saludos a Fran tambien. Octavio trata bien a tus empleados que son buenisimos.

Room Tip: Great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 977CHRISTIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

we had an amazing stay at Buddha house! was supposed to be there for two days but ended up staying for five. the atmosphere is so chill and welcoming. front desk staff is super warm and helpful. kitchen and common space area very inviting and beautifully decorated. pool is nice too! we took advantage of bike and surfboard rentals. rooms were big and pretty as well! bathrooms are very clean. located very centrally just a block away from the beach. totally exceeded our expectations. i am already planning a trip back!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koshka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reeuwijkbrug, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The atmosphere was great! The people who work there are nice and friendly! They even try to talk some Dutch :)
The room and bathroom were clean.

The only thing whe didn't like was the ven in our room, our ven was broken, and makes a lof off noice!!

I absolute recommend this hostel iff you are looking for a nice place near by the beach!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Upon arriving in Jaco, the people at the Buddha Hostel made things very easy to get situated. The staff was easy to chat with, being my Spanish isn't greatest. They were very informative when it came to places to eat, pubs/bars to checkout, tours to check out etc.

There is a pub right next door which can be a bit loud at night on the weekends if you are looking for rest and relaxation.

Overall, a great experience being that I felt very safe at Buddha Hostel and this would be the place that I stay at when again visiting Jaco.

Room Tip: The private room (#6 I believe) had 2 beds which made it good for having 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 44 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#11 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha House Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Property: Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Address: Pastor Diaz Main Avenue | Facing El Bohio Street, Centro, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buddha House Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL/BACKPACKER ACCOMMODATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Buddha House Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cometa Hotel Jaco
Buddha House Boutique Hostel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing