We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like camping!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“If you like camping!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2006

We spent a week at the Mar de Luz Hotel. What is striking at first is the lack of light in the room (ground level). It is very dark even with all the lights on. No place to hang things to dry. The kitchen is really really the minimum. For two people, only two forks, two knives, two plates, two glasses, I had to ask for a knife that I could use to cut my vegetables. You have to get water in a pitcher at the frontdesk everytime you want to cook. No hot water in the kitchen you have to go in the bathroom for it. You cook on a small gaz stove (two places). We even had to move the microwave on the refrigerator for more place to work on. So if you are use to camping you won't mind ... otherwise! The pools were rapidly becoming white probably because they were too small for the amount of people. And the last two days of our stay we were worried about getting cockroach because the appart next to us was having some. But the water pressure was really good and lots of hot water. The breakfast was really good (best rice and beans we hate of the whole trip and believe me we hate lots of that! typical meal here). In terms of for doing the grocery it's about a ten minutes walk from the Mas X Menos that has everything you need. That was good. The beach is not that great. Lots of rocks and a little dirty so it's better to walk with your shoes on. We found the "town" not that clean either, you better always watch where you put your feet when you walk.
For us Jaco Beach was a deception and the Hotel well although the backyard was very lovely and we always felt safe we found more little annoying things than anything else. This is only our personal experience!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    112
    33
    21
    11
See reviews for
116
131
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Myers, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2005

Well-landscaped hotel that is a block off the main drag in Jaco. The rooms all have a small kitchen. The grounds are nice and the pools were clean, although I couldn't figure out how to turn the jacuzzi on. My only complaint is that the rooms are a bit dark (stone walls).

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank Brynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2005

We enjoyed this hotel. The layout was great...secluded and tropical with great common areas...outdoor garden path and library. All the rooms overlooked the pool/spa area. Lots of privacy...families may not approve, but my boyfriend and I met a group of people and we all skinny dipped....it was so much fun--no one bothered us. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was average, but helpful enough. The location was central in Jaco. The breakfast was really good and included in our room rate. Overall, a good value and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2005

Very friendly hotel with a nice atmosphere, 2 pools and a hot tub, breakfast service available. Beautiful gardens and nice rooms with A/C.

We stayed in a large room for a family which had a refrigerator, sink and a microwave where you could prepare food as well as a small dining table. It woudl be a good place for a family with kids. The the room was clean and spacious. Front desk staff speaks English and is quite helpful. Internet service is available for a small fee. There is a secure parking spot available as well. The only down side to the room that I can think of is that the air conditioning was a little noisy. A very short walk to the center of the city, Jaco. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2005

My wife and I stayed ther this past September 2004. We are in our 50's and travel quite a lot. Altough we do surf, we did not want to stay in loud hotel, wanted to sleep throughout the night. Rooms were large and clean, staff was freindly and very helpful, pools were small but very relaxing. Price was great. Spent a week there and hope to return.

Short wal to downtown, felt very safe, car lot was lock, garden around the pool was tropical. Great time. The owners are gret people.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rowerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2004

This hotel/appt complex is a great opportunity to stay over in Jaco without being in the middle of it. Still it's a five minute walk to the village and Jaco beach. The rooms are pretty spacious and clean, the owners are very friendly and the tropical surroundings and nice pools can only make your stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2002
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carnokie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#22 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Property: Hotel Mar de Luz
Address: Mar de Luz street, Av. Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing