We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular among the locals, but dirty.”
Review of Jaco Beach

Jaco Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.00*
and up
Surfing Lessons in Jaco Beach
Ranked #4 of 45 things to do in Jaco
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Popular among the locals, but dirty.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We walked to the beach to watch the sunset which was spectacular. There were many locals on the beach eating , drinking, and enjoying the sunset. There was also lots of trash. The beach is a coarse, volcanic, almost gravel, in some spots. We were warned about the rip tides at this beach, not to venture very far out and to be off the beach by dark. This was because of the drugs and prostitution in the area. I can't verify that, because we didn't stick around to watch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    374
    291
    95
    49
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folly Beach, Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it! Not to touristy.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My boyfriend, I, and another couple spent 2 months in Costa Rica (October, 2012), and Jaco was out main base. We stayed both in Jaco, Sonidos Del Rio (vacation home) and on the top of the hill at Hotel Vista Pacifico. We love to travel, but we hate tourist crowds. Jaco was perfect.

It is a great beach for beginner surfers, and it's just around the corner from Hermosa Beach, which is definitely for more skilled surfers.

You can walk to almost everything if you are staying downtown or right outside of it.

There is a variety of restaurants, all good. Definitely check out Taco Bar and Los Amigos while you are there.

Its just about an hour to Manuel Antonio, and an hour to and hour and a half to San Jose (depending on where you are going).

Mostly young adults. Not many teenagers or families with kids.

Tips:

Don't get stuck in the river mouth on the beach. Crocodiles live there.

Avoid the Beetle Bar unless you are looking for a hooker.

Wear water shoes if you can. The small rocks on the beach are painful to walk on.

Make sure you stocked with everyday items (shampoo, body wash, razor blades, tampons, etc.) if you can help it. They are about a 25% mark up anywhere in Costa Rica (if you want to stick to your normal brand).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JAytes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jaco beach- lots to do, good location, warm water!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We visited in June 2014 and enjoyed the town of Jaco. We stayed at the Monet Carlo condos which were a quick walk to all of the restaurants and shops and the beach. Every restaurant we tried was very good. Our favorite was the TacoBar which had delicious fish or steak tacos. Food is fairly cheap, 3 of us could eat for $30-40 a meal including a drink. The beach was fine, Pacific ocean very warm. Sand could get really hot though- bring flip flops obviously. We saw iguanas by the bridge on main street, and one day 2 scarlet macaws flew over as I sat out at the pool. We spent a morning driving down to Manuel Antonio and saw some monkeys in the trees on the side road leading to the park entrance ( don't bother with the $10 park fee, there wasn't anything to see- the animals were way up in the trees basically hiding from view). We also swam at the beach there in Quepos/Manuel Antonio and it was very nice. Watch for stray dogs if you are afraid of dogs. If you want to do a great hike, check out Rainmaker park for $15pp it is only 25 minutes from the condo in Parrita ( look for the Paintball sign 5 mins south of Parrita on hwy 34). That was a great hike for about a 2 mile loop through the jungle, across hanging bridges, and ending with a swim in the waterfall. We also found a wonderful horse farm run by Julia, called Caballo Azul (caballoazulhorsetours@gmail.com) just off the highway in Esterillos Estes 25 mins south of the condos. Look for the Horse Tour sign -she took my daughter on a private pony ride cantering down the beach and back for 1 1/2 hours for $65. She takes good care of her horses, unlike the Vista Los Suenos zipline/horse tour place where the poor horses have to endure hours of tours back to back in the intense heat. I recommend getting a car ( about $275 for the week includes the liability insurance). Then you can go where ever you want and are not dependent on the pricey tours. Just make sure you are a good driver (my husband can drive in New York city, so he can drive anywhere) because there is a lot of passing on one lane highways, and they drive a bit crazy in Costa Rica. It was an easy drive from the airport- about an hour and 20 mins to Jaco. But the signs are pretty bad, not so much getting to Jaco but getting back to the airport- get the GPS or plan on using your phone everyday! ( call your wireless provider and add international DATA and minutes) Getting back to the car rental by the airport would have been a nightmare if we hadn't researched it online the night before AND plugged the address into the Iphone. Leave yourself a good 3 hours before your flight time to find your car rental and get to the airport, check your bags and get through security. We left the condos in Jaco at 8am for a 1pm flight and it was just enough time. All in all it was a great trip, my biggest complaint was just the weather-- it was like 95* with 95% humidity. So it felt like 100*. All I did was sweat all the time! And it was so so hot by 8am until about 5pm. The evenings were still hot but better as we walked to dinner. Maybe visit in December or January? Might be high season and very busy then. We could see how this town could be a big Spring Break destination with cheap food, cheap beer, a beach and bars. But it was quiet when we were there. Drink a lot of bottled water- make sure to stay hydrated! My daughter and I almost got dehydrated, so we loaded up on water/gatorade. Most people also speak a little English and are very friendly. Change money in town at the bank- you get a better rate than at the airport. Have fun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank ArtTeacherAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adventure awaits”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent location to enjoy all the fun in Costa Rica. Warm pacific waters, cool breezes and friendly locals make the stay that much better. A host of high quality restaurants are an added bonus and offer a full range of cuisines.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Our6kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good sand and crashing waves”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I loved the beach in Jaco. It was beatiful to look at, and had great sand. The waves crashed, so it was fun for the family to play in. There are no amenities though, so keep that in mind if you go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank robkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaco Beach also viewed

 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing