We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
South Beach Hotel(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$169
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Creole(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
149
60
35
25
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
60
35
25
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnude pooljacuzzi on the balconybikini contestbody paintingclothing optional areaworking girlscosta ricakaraoke nightall inclusive packagefun lovingocean fronthot waterpublic beachstar resortthe entire stafflaid backcentral america
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I along with some friends decided a year ago to vacation somewhere different other than Hedonism II. I've vacationed at Hedonism Resorts six times, and felt myself getting burned out. I along with some friends decided to vacation somewhere other Hedonism II that was all-inclusive. Our travel agent/coordinator suggested Hotel Desire Copacabana Resort & Spa in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. We all submitted our deposits within a week to Des, and it was well worth.
This was the most relaxing vacation I have ever experienced. Would I return? Yes! Great to the staff. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddierich15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

We try our best to make our guest stay perfect and we are glad to know that we did it with you. Thank you for your nice review and for taking time to posted it, we are sure that we will see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is great place, it feels like non-stop party in the private house backyard with pool and a beach and lots of fun people. Stuff is great... And what happens in Costa Ricca stays in Costa Ricca, so everything is possible. We had so much fun, we are going back again in November and we are planing to have honeymoon party next year.
Thanks Katya, you are the best
I&R

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy to see that you are coming back. We will make sure that you have a great time again. Your Passion Suite is waiting for you.. See you on November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Copacabana is right on Jaco Beach with a nice palm groove. I was there in August which is the low (green) season and so was quiet in the hotel.
The pools are in a inner courtyard with alot of pretty landscaping.
On Friday night there was a live band in the lounge/dining room.
The Beatle Bar is a very short walk (about a block) which is handy for a solo guy guest that I was.
The shower in the regular rooms is oversized and can fit a couple easily.
You can drive out on Jaco Beach & one of the drive-on entrances is nearby which is handy.

Open air lobby is great too.
I always felt at home right from my first arrival .

Room Tip: Suite rooms face the ocean which is nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CC F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are trying our best to make every guest feel like home. Make us happy to see that you had a great time and we are ready to welcome you again. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is our second time at the Copacabana but will be not the last one, we really enjoyed our stay
The food is amazing, the nightly activity is fun, the staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. It's true that the Copacabana its not for everybody, is clouthing optional adult hotel, partys go on every night, but is great for open minded couples and singles that wanna have fun. We were four single girls and we ejoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thanks for taking your time to write a review. Is nice to know that we met your expectations and for second time you choosed to stay with us! We try our best to make your vacation special!
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

To preface our trip report let us provide you with some background. We have been to several similar resorts in the past, including Hedonism II & III both in Jamaica, Desire in Cancun, Mexico, and Caliente Caribe in the Dominican Republic.

Arrival:
We arrived at the airport and we met up with the resort’s driver. Note: if you stay 7 nights or more, transportation to and from the resort are free. He stopped at a little store along the way if we needed to buy anything. The trip was about 90 minutes from the airport to the resort. The mountain views are amazing. The temp was no hotter nor more humid than the Baltimore/DC area. Mosquitos were no worse either.

Jaco:
It is a straight up beach/surf town with tons of restaurants, clubs, bars and stores, with the main strip just a block up from the beach and hotel. So everything is right there; beach, hotels and town. The mountains and jungle are very close by as well.

Beach:
The beach consists of darker sand with small rocks in parts all as a result of the local volcanic activity. The waves are huge (compared to the Atlantic) with lots of good surfers taking advantage of them. The water was also very warm. The beach is public and bathing suits are required.

Hotel:
From what we know, Copacabana Desire (CD) is the only Lifestyle friendly resort in the entire country. We were greeted by an accommodating staff that was also extremely friendly. The hotel is not large and could use some updating, but it has a cozy feel. That combined with the staff, makes for an enjoyable stay.
Things that could improve the hotel:
-Outdoor ceiling fans under dining/bar areas
-Our shower’s hot water control knob (Rm26) needed some work
-Lighting along walkways/balcony outside some rooms
-General updating of various trim/paint
-Have existing staff or a dedicated energetic Entertainment Coordinator (EC) that could organize some activities (some kinky) throughout the day/night
-Hot tub thermostat needs some tweeking
-Could use a small gym for workouts.
-WiFi would go out occasionally

Things that made the stay memorable:
-Staff: Manager Katia was amazing! She made sure the hotel ran smoothly and also took the time to get to know us (We asked her for mint for mojitos and softer pillows and she came through on both!)
Resident Asst Manager David: Worked his butt off taking care of the guests’ needs, giving us advice, as well as setting up for various events throughout the day.
Bar Tender/Waiter Fernando: Was so pleasant and made great drinks. He would even put sugar on the rim of his mojitos.
-Food: We cannot talk enough about this. ALL the food was nothing short of amazing. The cooks worked their butts off and many times we only saw one cook in the simple/primitive kitchen at time. And the food that came out of there was stunning! No need to leave the hotel for anything to eat. We were all-inclusive so we ate well! The menu was also very large with differing nightly themes for dinners. No luke warm/stale buffets here! Yes, Americans, believe it or not, food is actually better without preservatives, hormones, MSG, nitrates, & pesticides. We’ve been missing out for sure. And their low end coffee easily beats many high end coffees in the U.S.
-Recycling: recycling bins were available throughout the resort. You can’t recycle even if you wanted at most 5 star hotels within the U.S. I actually enjoyed taking items out to the recycle bins as opposed to throwing everything away for the landfill. This is therapy in itself.
-Dual flush toilets to conserve water. Again most U.S. hotels won’t offer this.
-CFL and LED lighting
-Nice nude pool, hot tub and cabanas.
-Swim-up bar
-Nice massage at the spa.
-Nice to have a Jacuzzi tub right in the room
-Stocked fridge (water, beer, soda)
-Good regulation of the working girls who would visit (Yes, many countries are not as up tight as the U.S. and actually have legal/regulated prostitution which ends up being safer for all parties and less costly than our failed war on the world’s oldest profession)
-Got our laundry done for free by hotel staff
-Hotel staff (Keike) also provided surf lessons

Excursions:
Ocean Ranch Park--Horseback riding/Waterfall repelling/Ziplining with dinner…for $99 and only 20 minutes from the hotel. Great deal!

Villa Caleta’s—a huge high end resort on a mountain to watch the sunset. The hotel (CD) staff (David) took us here.

Conclusion:
Don’t expect a 5 star resort, but the positives really outweigh the negatives and we felt welcomed and relaxed during our stay. Even though it is smaller than the other Lifestyle friendly resorts we’ve stayed at, size isn’t everything because we’d go back to CD before any of the others. And don’t forget to tip before you leave (especially the cooks)!

Room Tip: If your pillow is not of your liking, you can request a different style. Take time to feed the local iguanas.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChrisColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking a time to write a review. Your group was amazing and we hope to see you back soon. We will make sure to have Mojitos waiting for you!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews