We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
149
60
35
25
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
60
35
25
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnude pooljacuzzi on the balconybikini contestbody paintingclothing optional areaworking girlscosta ricakaraoke nightall inclusive packagefun lovingocean fronthot waterpublic beachstar resortthe entire stafflaid backcentral america
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

i read some of the copa,s reviews and wonder what some of these folks expect . if you want to sit around in a 5 star room go ahead. jaco is a party town and the only and the only place to stay is the copa.it,s got it all great food great entertainment.great people great times a lot of fun.my room has always been fine. the hotel has always been clean and i felt safe there is nothing the staff won,t do to help you,they treat you like a friend.if you want to take a vacation and pinch ever penny buy a big screen and watch someone elses at home.

Room Tip: ocean suites if you can get one if not 2nd floor overlooking the pools will keep you close to the fun
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

As always was a plesure to have you back at the Copa. To have repeat guest like you just confirm to us the we have a great location, nice, clean and fun place that make nice people come back.
Hope to see you back soon! Cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

we stayed at the copacabana and we had a great time there, we arrived in the aferternoon and we were welcomed with a free drink which one was very nice of them. our reservation was made in a oceanfront suite with jacuzzi, it was a very nice room because we had all the view to the ocean. we could see the beautiful sunset from our balcony!!( just amazing)
That night we had dinner and the food was delicious, the staff was very friendly with us, they helped us with tours and all the questions we had!!
The best of the hotel is the entertainment they organized, like live music with really good bands, and also they have BBQ nights which was great!!you really have fun at the copacabana without going out to other places in jaco.
we definitely come back again to the Copacabana Hotel. we are a couple who travel a lot and we can say that our stayed there was one of the best!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our activities and that you found inside the hotel all the you need to make of this days your perfect Vacation. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Having travelled in over 90 countries and lived in 16 this hotel is only the second I have cut my stay short the other being a backpacker guest house in Cairo. The reception is a mess of paper and general garbage you would expect to see in a run down student house. I actually though I had been dropped off at the wrong hotel for $236 per night !
The "Jaccuzzi Room Suite" had the Jaccuzzi on the balcony overlooking the open air restaurant and car park!. The room smellt very musty ,3 of the lights did not work and the air conditioning sounded as if there was a tractor in the room!
We asked to see other rooms and the one shown was pretty much the same so i guess this was pretty standard.
The poolbar looked a bit like the reception and totally put me off even ordering a drink, that's of course if you could track anyone down in the hotel to serve you in the first place
The so called "adult hotel" was predominantly a handful of single older males with local "girls" which I have nothing against as one of the resons my partner I chose it was for an open minded time.However, I was expectiong to see more than 1 other couple.
If you want to experience a luxury adult hotel then I suggest Desire Resorts in Mexico as I have been there 7 times and there is no comparison to this very poor imitaton.
Needless to say we cut or 6 day trip short after the 2nd day after no offer of any kind of small gesture of a refund from the owner John. Abysmal !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

February 14, 2013

Please allow us to reply to allegations raised in Peterg69 review. When our guests arrive we always make sure they are happy with their room and we make it a point to ask our guests. This guest was asked and he had no complaints, he wanted to leave because they only stay at luxury hotels. We tried to help this guest in any way we could by offering a free upgrade to another room, they declined. They mentioned nothing we can do would make them stay. The are used to high class surroundings. They even stated on Tripadvisor their style is "nothing but the best".

We do not promote our hotel as being 4 or 5 stars. We are a 3 star/fun filled hotel in a great location.. This guest checked out of our hotel and checked into another 4.5 hotel.

The price this guest paid to us was over $400.00 less per day than they would have paid to Desire Resorts, so how this guest expected the same facilities is beyond our imagination. Our food is rated the best on the Pacific Coast and far better than Desire Mexico, how do we know, because we were told by many of our guests that stayed at the Desire Resorts. Our parking lot is to the side our our building, not facing the open air restaurant as this guest alleges.

Our refund policies are the same as every other hotel including Desire Mexico "No refund for unused time". We totally disagree that our reception and pool bar area is a mess and we had more couples staying with us than has been alleged. The air conditioner in questioned was checked and it is in normal working condition. It appeared that this guest did not know how to use the remote control....

In conclusion, this guest never gave us an opportunity to make their stay better as we would have hoped.

Sincerely,

Copacabana Hotel and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I have travelled to over 40 countries and stayed in some pretty dire places. However, I have to say that this was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. How bad was it? My friend and I let the hotel keep our $150 night's payment and went to stay at another hotel after several hours.

The faults? Two double beds were crammed into a tiny room, so small that the door to the room could not open entirely because it kept hitting one of the beds. There were no towels in the room, and the ones we eventually got had unusual stains on them. The shower door would not open properly. There was no phone in the room. The TV was not plugged in. Why? you might ask. Well, because it not only didn;t work but emitted a strange low-pitched buzzing/bubbling noise when switched on. There were ants (or possible termites) all over the walls and strange small insects (bedbugs?) on the sheets. Techno disco music was pumping out from an empty lounge area when we arrived at night. And all of this was for a double priced at $150. The prostitutes at the bar did not liven up the place for us either.

Of course, the management did not seem to care one whit when we complained. We then decided to let them keep the money and sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

We would like to thank this guest for sharing their feedback. We make every effort to ensure our guests that stay with us have a pleasant experience and we would like to take this opportunity to address concerns raised in this review. First, we are an Adult Only hotel and sometimes this information does not show up on smart phones or tablets, it is clearly visible on our website. We have asked the various booking sites to make this information more transparent for smart phone and small tables users. Like any hotel, when we receive a reservation, we hold a room for that guest, while at the same time refuse other guests so we must charge for the room. Pictures of the hotel room this guest reserved are on our website and the other various websites.

The TV not plugged in could be valid. Whenever there is an empty room we unplug the TV. The hydro in this part of Costa Rica is not good. As an example, in January 2013 we had 6 TV's stopped working because of hydro issues and for this reason we always have spare TV's on hand and would have gladly replaced this guest TV if it was brought to our attention.

This guest room was cleaned not long before they checked in and shortly thereafter they were given freshly cleaned towels. There was no stains on the towels as this guest claimed. We do not have bed bugs/ants/termites or any types of bugs. Our rooms are sprayed twice a month to ensure this does not happen. This guest is simply not telling the truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Good location, nice people that is why they get 2 stars other wise it would be a 1 star. Stayed there 4 nights, long weekend what a bust there wet t-shirt or bikini contest what ever they call it had 0 people all a bunch of guys sitting around waiting for the girls. The only night they had anybody there was Friday when they had an OK band maybe 20 people total. Sunday the band was so bad in a 3 hour time frame they may have played 30 minutes very few (more like 0) local girls. The rooms are outdated stayed in one of the ocean front Jacuzzi rooms don’t bother 250 a night gets you less then Motel 6. The casino down the road has a lot of girls and action will stay there next time.

Room Tip: Stay some where else.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nrc20707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

We would like to thank this reviewer for their review and to acknowledge our hotel is in a great location and to also recognize our hard working staff, however, this guest was looking for a brothel type accommodation and we refuse to run our hotel as a brothel. On this site we are currently number 11 out of 39 hotels in Jaco. The casino that is referenced in this guest review is currently number 30 out of 39 hotel in Jaco. Their hotel reviews speak for themselves. On the Friday and Saturday nights when this guest was staying with us, we were completely sold-out and on the Sunday we were close to being sold-out. Our hotel guests comes first, not the bar guests from the town of Jaco or ladies of the night from Jaco. This guest does not like this approach, but wants the ladies of the night from Jaco to come first and not our hotel guests. We have only adult hotel on the pacific Coast of Costa Rica, but the adult activity is for our hotel guests and not for the public at large unless we invite a selected few.

We are a working girl friendly hotel, but it is controlled, contrary to the casino that is referenced by this reviewer. Most of our guests are not looking for working girls. This reviewer, (a couple) registered several working girls to their room that we allowed in. The wet T-shirt and bikini contests was a huge success (always is) contrary to what this reviewer stated, we had almost 150 spectators, so much so that guards were controlling the entrance way. We had to refuse patrons.

We are unaware of any Motel 6 that has 1 bedroom apartment on the beach with a full ocean-view and 2 person Jacuzzi on the balcony. Many of our guests at the time of this reviewer stay were mainly couples, single ladies and single men and these single ladies were mothers, nurses and lawyers. Lot of our male guests partied with the single ladies staying with us, but that does not mean they were looking for the ladies of the night. The ladies of the night go where they feel the business is. We are sorry but as stated above, we refuse to turn our hotel into what this guest wants us to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews