We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adults only and you'll have a good time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Adults only and you'll have a good time.”
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Had a pleasant trip, beautiful country, nice people, warm sand beach, clean rooms, easy check in. We had a little difficulty locating the hotel when we arrived, but after asking a local it was easy. The location was wonderful, right on the beach, parking right on the premises, food was superb, staff was friendly especially Ginger, guests were friendly and were easy to visit with. We do wish they had more amenities geared for the sun bather. We didn't have any chaise lounge chairs, only little folding chairs that we carried out to the beach for every beach visit. They only have two folding chairs. The sun is very warm which means I need to be in the shade most of the time and we simply walked to the next resort that had sand under their palm trees. Guess I'm saying that if you want to spend a lot of time at the beach you might want to check another resort on the beach. This resort is geared more for the fisherman groups that aren't interested in the beach as much. There was a considerable amount of noise in the evenings, so be prepared to stay up late and sleep in the morning. We were in the studio rooms which had more exposure to the noises.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    59
    32
    23
    33
See reviews for
5
143
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day 39th anniversary trip to CR in February, with 2 days at the Copacabana. We were more than pleased. From the complimentary welcome drink at the cozy bar in back to the Jacuzzi suit with a stunning ocean sunset view, our stay was just outstanding. Myrna (with the wonderful smile), at the front desk, will take care of your every need. Ginger, taking orders in the restaurant, made our anniversary dinner especially memorable (ask for her "made with love" ice tea).
While Jaco is not a particularly family oriented location, it is not the nest of drug dealers and prostitutes that some reviewers would lead you to believe. This is a popular tourist destination, with the attending "services" that are found in any such location. If you look for them, they will be found, but please don't think that's the main point of interest.
This is an older property, but well maintained. They have a fine restaurant and bar, nice pool and new construction underway for what appears to be a giant hot tub. We stayed in a suit, but the regular rooms looked perfectly adequate, if a bit small.
I would recommend the Copa, and hope to stay there again soon.

  • Liked — Location, service and restaurant
  • Disliked — stairs and Internet service
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gibby1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

I have been staying at the Copa every time I visit Costa Rica, which now has been about 10 times over the past 2 years. I love the Copa, its staff, food, entertainment and definitely its location. I love hearing the music in the morning till night. The karaoke nights are awesome along with the live music. The renovations to the hotel are great especially the pool. The rooms are adequate and the prices, reasonable! I have become like family to the staff including the watchdogs, Scruffy and Sally. I always overstay my visit as the Copa is addictive because its so great! Thanks to all the staff, Fernando, Pablito, Edgar, Vivianna, Raquel, Ginger (the best karaoke singer, ever!) and of course the cook Norma and a special shout out to Keki. I can't forget Luis and Katia for their hospitality as well as Vivecca, Ronald and Myrna for their welcomes and Santiago for watching out for me at night! Gracias a todos, los quiero mucho!!!!!!!! Thanks guys, Pura Vida from la chica de Canada, ya sabes, besos y abrazos fuertes!!!!

  • Liked — The staff, food, accomodation!
  • Disliked — There is not enough time to stay!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fresa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peru
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Excellent is the only word I can use to describe my stay.
Let me start with my room I stayed in one of the suites with jacuzzi on the Balcony while I was relaxing I was having a drink and watching the ocean.
The food at the Restaurant was amazing, the parties at the Bar incredible.
The Staff is helpful they booked all my tours.
I am booking again for new years everybody told me The Copacabana has the Best New years party and dinner with The Blind Pigs. I will be there for sure.
The Spa was great, relaxing.
They have an Adult Area where you can tan with jacuzzi .
Everything was perfect THANKS.

  • Liked — The room with private jacuzzi on the balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monoperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I just had another great trip to Costa Rica, and of course stayed several times in the Copacabana. Often times, when a client becomes familiar with the employees there is an unintentional drop-off in service. But, not at the the Copa. I was greeted every stay, as well as every day, by a hello and a smile. The pool had been refinished, the karioki nights were a blast, the food and drinks were just as good as they always are, the view was beautiful, the beach was right in front of my room. What more can you ask for?

  • Liked — On the beach, good food drink and fun
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank billlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2008

I have stayed at the Copacabana around 20 times. They support the Surfing Federation in Costa Rica, beach cleanups, overall town planning and more. They are one of the "good citizens" of Jaco.

The staff is always friendly with me. I am from the US, but long ago gave up the "ugly American" attitude. I go to Jaco to enjoy the beach, the ocean, the laid back lifestyle. I have been there several times when I heard people say "I changed my flights, and I'm staying here another week...or two!"

I have taken my four children there and they have had a good time, been well treated, and love the food like I do.

The menu is varied and priced very reasonably. Around 10 items for breakfast ranging from fruit plates to heavier fillng omelettes and more. Lunch, snacks, dinners...lots of fresh seafood, all prepared on order.

The suites overlook the ocean...right on the beach really means right on the beach! These are large rooms that easily sleep 4. They provide kitchens and thus a good place to buy local food and cook it ourselves, which we do frequently. The refrigerators are good size for this type of situation, and hold the food well. I was just told they are adding jacuzzi hot tubs on the balconies!

The studio rooms are smaller, but easily adequate for 2. We choose these when we don't plan to cook, and don't need the view. More economical too, when that matters.

The air conditioning, fans, water, lights all work normally. Occasionally there is a problem, like anywhere, but the staff is quick to fix it. Water pressure does vary, but that is a Costa Rica building problem, not a Copacabana problem.

The pool is cleaned daily, and this last trip they were drained and re-tiling the whole thing for even better maintenance.

The new spa is wonderful, the massages great, and the Pina Coladas sweet and delicious.

If you want a great value right on the beach in Jaco, I whole-heartedly recommend the Copacabana Hotel & Suites.

  • Liked — Beach, beach, beach, and friendly staff, good food
  • Disliked — The hot tub was not hot, but jacuzzi worked.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OrganicmanCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2008

All I can say is I had a blast. This is exactly the vacation I was looking for. The food was excellent and the entertainment was non-stop. We stayed for 7 days. I will be going back again. If your looking for a place to have FUN ( not laying around reading ) this is it. I will go back soon.

Donna z

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank donnazToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Tangeri Hotel
Tangeri Hotel
#17 of 41 in Jaco
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Property: Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Address: From Banco de Costa Rica 200m South 100m West, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing