We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax and Watch The Waves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax and Watch The Waves”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great place to have a few drinks and watch the tide come in! Service is great, and there are more than enough lounge chairs around the pool to truly relax. It is on the opposite end from where all the action is, so if you are looking for a "Party party" atmosphere, this isn't it. It's a 20 minute walk along the beach to the centre of town, but its such a gorgeous walk that I actually preferred it this way. There is onsite security 24/7, and plenty of staff around if ever something was needed. Food was slightly disappointing ( don't order a steak- ordered medium rare and it came cold and very tough) but the service was overall was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    81
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
102
136
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huaraz, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I was in a group of 4 that recently stayed at Jaco Laguna Resort and Beach club. We booked through expedia and stayed in room 213. It was only a one night stay, but we were pleased with our experience.

The room:
Our room had 1 king bed and 1 queen bed. The beds took up the majority of the room space. But there was plenty of space in the room to put luggage. There was a desk and chair as well as a chest of drawers. The room had a 32'' tv that was on a swivel. Good air condition. The beds were quite comfortable.
The bathroom was nice and clean. It had a closet to hang any clothes as well as a safe.
The only thing I didn't like about the room was how the curtains were a good distance away from the window. This let a lot of sunlight in the room around 6a.m. I ended up taking the curtains and tucking them into the side of my bed to keep the sun rays out of my eyes.

The grounds:
The pool (choice of kiddie pool and larger pool) were both nice. The chairs surrounding the pool were nice and comfortable as well. The position of the resort is nice. A good ways down from the main part of Jaco.

The restaurant:
The food we ate was good. (Burger $9, chicken fingers $7 for 5 fingers and fries, penne pasta $12, and the chips and dips were great! $6) Soft drinks were expensive as normal... $3 a piece

The staff:
The lady in reception was nice and friendly. She let us stay an extra hour (1p.m) before we had to check out, and then was willing to let us use the pool, and grounds until evening.

Overall: The room was nice and it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

In April of 2014 we went back to Jaco Laguna Resort. Our first stay was in November of 2013.
This resort is awesome. Great location on the edge of town, beautiful views, and the ocean, with the beach, is just steps away from any room!
Our only issue that we have had is that spray the rooms for bugs on a daily basis, so right after they have done up your room, you will smell it. Run the A/C, or leave the door open for a bit, and it will be gone.
Also, it is hard to get WiFi in the rooms, most likely because everything in Costa Rica is made of concrete, hard for the signal to get through. You won't want to stay in your room anyway.
Other than that, everything is excellent!
Jaco is known for its surfing. If you want to give it a try, Jaco Laguna has a surf instructor right on the beach! He had the kids out hanging ten in no time!

Room Tip: Try to get a a room that ends in 2 through 6, you will have great views of the beach. If you are wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalRodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent a week at this beautiful and friendly resort. Location was perfect and so were the sunsets. Food was really good and not overly expensive. The tiki bar on the beach was so much fun and drinks were very good. Staff were friendly and the rooms were comfortable and had all the amenities I would expect from a class establishment like this. I wish my mattress at home was this comfortable. Learned how to surf and it was a blast. Instructors were right behind the hotel and are very professional. I strongly recommend this place to all and I will come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelseyl405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The people were very friendly, the property was very nice and the food and drinks were great. Very close to town(easy walk), but off the main strip which was nice. They just bought new beds when we arrived, so the stain on the frames was still a bit strong to smell, but it wore off after a couple of days. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: There are no private balconies, so there aren't any ocean views out the windows unless you go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMK456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just arrived back from my first trip to Costa Rica. I took a chance after researching on Trip Advisor and stayed at the Laguna Resort. It exceeded my expectations! My husband and I have stayed at many 5 star resorts and hotels and this little jewel in the rough holds it own against the big name resorts. The property is located at the south end of Jaco Beach. The food and drinks at the Tiki Bar were delicious! You have to try the pina coloda made with the best tasting pineapple! Staff is friendly and fun! Surf lessons are a big hit. You can sit directly on the beach and enjoy a beverage or dinner while watching the sunset. Clean pool and accommodations. Mattress is super comfy and air conditioner works great. Not much I can say negative about this place. We will be back for sure! If you are looking for a relaxing, enjoyable stay at a reasonable price, you will get your money's worth and more!

Room Tip: Get out early to the pool to get a lounge chair if the place is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have been traveling to Costa Rica several times for work and can truly appreciate this property! Everyone is so friendly, accommodating and hardworking. Always felt safe, property was clean, beds are COMFY and the entire hotel is wonderfully taken care after. This trip, I decided to bring my boyfriend along and we had such a memorable experience. While I was busy with work, he was able to hang out by the pool and work remotely via wifi... when I came home, he said the highlight of his trip was the awesome surf lessons... and according to him, a definite must-do! He ended up renting a board from the hotel the rest of the trip. We were there for 4 nights and never felt the need to dine off property - the food was some of the best I've had in CR and very reasonably priced... Tiki bar was GREAT and the view of the sunset... just amazing! So happy to have found this hotel after being disappointed in Jaco and the surrounding area many times. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
6.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 41 in Jaco
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club

Property: Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Address: Calle Madrigal | 800mts south from municipality building, before Madrigales street entrance., Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#8 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-room boutique hotel and Costa Rica beach resort is located on an intimate oceanfront property on the south side of Jaco Beach - within a few minutes walk to all of the stops, restaurants and activities that the city has to offer, and is the only four-star rated resort in all of Jaco. We feature the top rated surf school on site, a full service spa, the most unique beach front tiki bar and beach front restaurant in all of Costa Rica. Take a stroll down the beach, let us arrange an excursion or adventure for you, explore the streets of Jaco or simply lounge by the pool. Enjoy our excellent restaurant, have a relaxing beach front message, take a surf lesson from the 3 time Costa Rican world surfing champion, or relax by our beachfront tiki bar for a more casual fare. Bask under the sun and enjoy a spectacular panoramic view of the endless Pacific Ocean, exotic jungle and magnificent mountains, all while experiencing a breathtaking, colorful Costa Rican sunset. Here at Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, we are committed to providing you with the most memorable Costa Rican experience possible. The hospitality of our resort team is truly one-of-a-kind. Jaco Laguna is one of the scenically most spectacular Costa Rican beach resorts and the ideal Costa Rican vacation destination whether you are planning a honeymoon, wedding, celebration or simply a Costa Rican hideaway or adventure experience. Room rates are based on single and double-occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing