We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just enough off the beaten path of the Jaco malecon to enjoy a really peaceful setting, then 5 minutes to the town for food and nightlife! The hotel is really clean, the staff is amazing, friendly, helpful and you see them busy all day working to make your stay enjoyable. Fantastic location to learn surfing, just walk out your room, grab a board, take a lesson! Good enough waves for the experienced surfer as well. We are going to make this place and annual trip we liked it so much! Go there if you plan to stay in Jaco!

Room Tip: Get one on the 3rd floor with a direct ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TateMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    81
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
102
136
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
solebury pa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just got back from a week in Jaco Beach and stayed at this Jaco Laguna again. This place is such a fun destination. All staff members are happy and smiley and go out of their way to help you with all your needs. The food was as good as always and the mattresses are more comfortable than the ones I have at home. Before I found this place I stayed at other hotels in Costa Rica and the mattresses were hard and uncomfortable. The jaco Laguna is the exception. I spoke to a manager and he said all the furnishings in the hotel were imported from the states. I will keep coming back here as I am retired and this resort is the most enjoyable place I have found so far. The Tiki bar is absolutely amazing right on the beach.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 19 and loved it. 3rd floor in the North corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrysolebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca Falls, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here in mid May. The staff was pleasant and the food was very good and reasonably priced. On the ocean, with surfing lessons and a private pool. A very good time to travel, as we almost had the place to ourselves. Can walk the beach to town or a short car ride. Only con for me was the front desk person seemed to need a little more hospitality. All in all, a pleasant stay at a fair price.

Room Tip: First floor is excellent as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrajeanjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

spent five days at this nice place and felt very much at home. Staff always smiled and took care of everything I needed while there. they set up the tours for myself and my family. The rooms were very spacious and clean. I liked the location of the resort and the Tiki bar directly in front of the beach was very special. Food was good too. I will return here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked our hotels about 10 months in advance for our honeymoon directly with the hotel, and this was the last place we were staying for one night because we wanted to get closer to the airport.

When we arrived to Jaco, we kept riding down the streets to find this place. Their website suggests to ask a local tico for directions - so we did, they did not know of this place or just did not want to help us. So we kept driving around until we finally found it. They should put coordinates on their website.

When we arrrived we had to wait for the receptionist to get off a 5-10 minute phone call. She did not have my name with a reservation, yet I had paid 10 months prior. She asked me how much I paid, and put us in the smallest rooms on entrance side of the property. You could hardly move with 2 people in there. I went back up to the receptionist to ask her if she ever found my reservation, because I had reserved a two bed room. She stated that it was never found and said the price I paid should be for the little room. I argued with her for a bit and said that the prices changed shortly after I booked, I remember seeing the change and seeing that when I booked they included breakfast, but that they would not include it when we stayed. After arguing for a little bit, she finally agreed to put us in the 2 bed room, which was on the ocean side of the property, much better. After getting in our room, we left and went to walk around Jaco and have dinner. We wanted really nothing to do with that property anymore.

I do not get whoever designed this hotel. I think it is great that there is a nice pool and bar area that faces the beach and you have beach access away from the main strip. The hotel rooms itself are questionable. They put the door on the ocean side, and instead of putting a window directly right of the door, they put the bathroom, so there are no room with an ocean view, the window is on the other side, so you get a view of the parking lot.

The other thing is to note that they are a stickler to their times at reception, unlike our other hotels who were accommodating to when we wanted to eat, checkout, etc.

Service there is highly lacking from the start of our experience to the end, and we saw several workers just sitting around. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The other reviews are just as they say. The staff is more friendly the longer you stay. The young women at the desk were nice. The major concern for my wife and I (in our 60's) was the continuous bass drum sound played on the outside music speakers. Last Saturday, a disc jockey showed up and played very loud music for about 4 hours. If you stayed in your room, you still heard the continuous blast.
We left and walked on the beach till we found a bar/restaurant for quieter times. We talked to several ex-pats and they said they don't go there because of the noise. We did not use the Tike bar after our 1st day because of the noise. It is a beautiful place and the staff is good, but we do not like the Miami sound.

Room Tip: 20-30 walk on the beach to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Owner at Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We appreciate you choosing the Jaco Laguna for your accommodations and thank you for your positive praise about our staff! In regards to the DJ, please note that the music is not a normal pool-side activity at the hotel anymore. After talking with several guests, we stopped that several months ago to provide our patrons with a more quiet experience. Last Saturday was a special local event/competition that we were supporting and sponsoring at local Playa Hermosa. We strive to continue to provide our guests with the best experience possible and appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you and we hope that you come to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This small and very reasonable hotel is located at the nicest southern end of Jaco Beach. That makes it feel a bit more remote and quiet because it's close to town without being in the middle of it. The staff is very friendly and while I've seen some comments about service not begin fast I thought it was fine. The hotel was recently completely refurbished so the rooms, pool and grounds are all very clean.

There is a great little outdoor Tiki Bar right next to the pool and looking out at the beach. A terrific place to grab drinks during the day or while watching the sunsets in the evening. The food in the restaurant was good and probably as good as it gets in Jaco. You can get surfing lessons right there at the hotel if you like. In shore fishing is great and the staff can help you arrange that. You are assured of having an active day catching a lot of fish. Or take a short ride for an exciting zip line adventure. Or just hang by the pool or out on the beach behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
6.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 41 in Jaco
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club

Property: Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Address: Calle Madrigal | 800mts south from municipality building, before Madrigales street entrance., Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#8 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-room boutique hotel and Costa Rica beach resort is located on an intimate oceanfront property on the south side of Jaco Beach - within a few minutes walk to all of the stops, restaurants and activities that the city has to offer, and is the only four-star rated resort in all of Jaco. We feature the top rated surf school on site, a full service spa, the most unique beach front tiki bar and beach front restaurant in all of Costa Rica. Take a stroll down the beach, let us arrange an excursion or adventure for you, explore the streets of Jaco or simply lounge by the pool. Enjoy our excellent restaurant, have a relaxing beach front message, take a surf lesson from the 3 time Costa Rican world surfing champion, or relax by our beachfront tiki bar for a more casual fare. Bask under the sun and enjoy a spectacular panoramic view of the endless Pacific Ocean, exotic jungle and magnificent mountains, all while experiencing a breathtaking, colorful Costa Rican sunset. Here at Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, we are committed to providing you with the most memorable Costa Rican experience possible. The hospitality of our resort team is truly one-of-a-kind. Jaco Laguna is one of the scenically most spectacular Costa Rican beach resorts and the ideal Costa Rican vacation destination whether you are planning a honeymoon, wedding, celebration or simply a Costa Rican hideaway or adventure experience. Room rates are based on single and double-occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing