We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great time!! : )” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morgan's Cove Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morgan's Cove Central
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great time!! : )”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent a week at the Morgan's Central hotel and had a great time, we share a lot in family, not to mention the beach is very beautiful ... insurance would staying again.
the girls in the bar are excellent and the food delicious, the attention of Mr. Oscar was very good as was the receptionist Lucia and I would like to thank the manager who behaved great with us ... thank all the guys from Morgan's main hope to return soon

Room Tip: go to the restaurant the food is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    7
    12
    5
See reviews for
14
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in a standard room, the room was basic but we thought the staff and food were great. Loved the hammock area, and the pool was a nice size. Good value for your money, great for couples who go out to explore jaco downtown area. Its not right on the beach but in close walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is very basic. I feel if they updated the rooms and fixed the entranceway, it would be a beautiful resort. Below are my observations during my week's stay at their villa with kitchenette:

Pros:
- walking distance to Jaco Beach, shopping, groceries, taxis and public transportation
- excellent buffet food which varied throughout the week
- beautiful landscaping
- nice pool
- nice hammocks for afternoon siestas
- friendly staff

Cons:
- bed needs new mattress
- hot water faucet in the kitchen did not work
- bathroom sink was very clogged
- shower took forever to get hot and water pressure was not always good
- noises coming from the toilet when people in other villas flushed their toilets
- no iron/iron board or radio in room

Room Tip: - Ask for the villa with kitchenette as they are bigger - learn some basic requests in Spanish be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here thinking it was the casino and resort (which is on the beach). But this hotel is not on the beach, but in the "downtown" area. The casino and resort hotel looks very nice, but this place is very basic. Check in was easy and the employees were very friendly - which made things little easier. Room was just basic. TV was small and internet worked sometimes. They gave us pass to the casino and resort hotel so we were able to spend a day there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichiganPerson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My family stayed at this hotel when it was Estrellamar. We were originally booked into a regular room. The room was very small with sink and toilet/shower at opposite ends of the room. We requested a villa. The following day we were moved into a villa which was quite nice. A 2 bedroom with full kitchen and nice patio to sit out on. The pool is awesome, loved it. The restaurant and bar staff were great. We were quite happy for the price paid and would certainly go back to check it out now that it has a new owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catty_Vega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here one night while checking on our house in Herradura. I accidentally booked this hotel, thinking we were booking the casino and resort. The casino and resort looks very nice. This place, not so much. We arrived and there was no place to park in their lot. We simply parked behind another car and checked in. Check in was easy, no wait and friendly employees who took us to our room. Room was VERY basic. Prob the only goo thing about the room was the AC worked great. The linens and towels were very worn, the shower trickled water and we received no towels besides bath towels. No hand towels, no wash cloths. The room was loud as well, you could hear the road, people in other rooms and the very loud bar on premises far into the night. The TV is prob the smallest and oldest TV I have seen in 20 years. The Internet did not work in the room either, as promised. The only way to get a connection was to walk outside and sit in a chair on the side of the room. I even felt a little unsafe staying at this property, which is odd since I never feel unsafe in Jaco. The "safe" had a key, not a combination, which made me feel like if they had a spare, our things could be stolen. You could not pay me to stay here again. I never would have in the first place if I realized I had booked the wrong Morgan's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Maries, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

After a bad check-in at a certain establishment in Jaco, my husband and I got online and reserved a room for 6 days at Morgans Cove Central. We absolutely loved it. The Staff was absolutely amazing and helpful, and they immediately made us feel at home, and got us right into our room. Our room was very basic, but it had TV, Hot water, and air conditioning. Which really is all you need. We loved the pool and the small restaurant (Very reasonable prices, especially when considering that it is hotel food). On Friday night they even had karaoke. It was within walking distance of everything. All the restaurants, shops, and beaches. Once you get inside the front gates, it has a very simple, laid back, yet beautiful landscape. If you stay out by the pool long enough, you can spot some tropical birds and iguanas that make themselves at home in the swaying palm trees. If you want to spend a little bit more money, you can get your own "hut" that were so cute! I almost wish we had splurged a little more for the hut. The center of the hotel property has a covered, thatch roof looking hangout area with hammocks. It gives off a very tropical vibe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee42435595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.7 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
1.0 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#22 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#36 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#16 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan's Cove Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Central

Property: Morgan's Cove Central
Address: Calle Invu, 175 meters East of Beach, 75 meters east of Alamo Rental car, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's best kept secret is the newly renovated Morgan's Cove Central.Located in the heart of downtown Jaco this private tropical oasis has 18 private villas surrounding the large palm fringed pool & 11 second floor standard rooms overlooking the beautiful gardens below. All Standard rooms offer 2 double beds, A.C., Cable T.V. & Private balcony's. The Garden Villas consist of 2 or 3 bedrooms,kitchenettes,A/C, Cable TV and private patios . Located around a large swimming pool in a tropical setting with Mojito's Palapas Bar and Grill. Great for families! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morgan's Cove Central Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing