We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great time and did learn to surf a stand-up paddle board!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista Guapa Surf Camp
Ranked #4 of 29 Jaco B&B and Inns
1 review
“We had a great time and did learn to surf a stand-up paddle board!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Very good experience had lots of fun. The staff at Vista Guapa was fabulous !!!!! They were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. The linens could use updating

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werknout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
19
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haiku, Maui Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Vista Guapa means "Beautiful View." Well, there's a lot more to the resort than its amazing view. The heart and soul of the resort are Wendy and Alvaro Solano. When you go to Costa Rica, you will soon hear the words "Pura Vida!" That basically translates to "All that is good about life!" Wendy and Alvaro are "Pura Vida!" I attended world famous Waterman Dave Kalama's Stand Up Paddling "Kalama Kamp" in April. Our home base was the Surf Camp. From the moment you arrive, you feel at home. The cabanas are very comfortable and have absolutely amazing views. The sunsets are beyond my ability to describe! The staff is welcoming and truly enjoy making your stay special. The surfing is epic! Alvaro is a very well known Pro Surfer in Costa Rica and is the "go to guy" when you surf here. Alvaro has spent a life time surfing the breaks here, and trust me, Alvaro knows where to take you to make your experience amazing. Regardless of your skill level, you will enhance your surf skill with Alvaro's guidance. Dave Kalama can select any resort he wants to host his surf "Kamp." He chose Vista Guapa. So should you. It will be a life altering experience. Trust me, when you stay here, you will forever and always feel the stoke of "Pura Vida!" I'm going again next year. Aloha from Maui!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampico, Tamaulipas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

this is a great place to stay if you want to score good waves in costa rica
the staff is always ready to help but they give you enough space to feel at home
the gardens at the hotel are really nice with mango trees allover the place !

see you next year alvaro and wendy ! muchas gracias !

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Just got back from a week at Vista Guapa. I went with a SUP group but really enjoyed the spot and plan on returning.
The 3 cottages, with two rooms each, are really nice up on a ridge, the breezes and views are worth the steep walk up the hill. Nice, clean rooms, good on-demand hot water, a/c, fridge and a great afternoon napping hammock out front. I saw a pair of Red Macaws fly by below me three mornings I was there. A nice pool down at the base level also. Really well landscaped all around, we were eating Mangos right off the trees by the pool.
Best surfing was early every morning. Alvaro definately knows the area and he'll be psyched to get to the best place every day. Jaco is good for learning but he knows spots for better intermediate waves also and will get you where you should be. He has got lots of SUP gear now, Thanks YOLO!, and a good selection of longboards.
The breakfast was the only meal they made but it was the most memorable food I had all week. You order from a simple menu every morning anytime from 8-10? Some couples I saw would meet back up at breakfast between the advance surfing session in the AM and Alvaro teaching a surf lesson at mid-day. They brought us to different places every night for dinner, always good food.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkfromMaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

This was a wonderful place to learn to surf. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Their surf programs are reasonably priced and the instructors were great.

The accommodations are not luxurious, but they are clean and peaceful. Also, there was a/c, which is a must in this area. There is a bit of a walk up to the rooms. The breakfast was included in my program, and that was also wonderful. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girltravelingforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We spent 4 nights with 3 days of surfing with Vista Guapa, originally we had a 3 night package, but we enjoyed it so much we added another night. The staff and instructors were such wonderful people that there is no way we would not return again soon. We are first time surfers and they had us standing up in the waves on our first try. The camp grounds and bungalos we stayed in were beautiful and the meals were perfect! Can't wait to get back ASAP, for an entire week stay!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reedfromthelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I've stayed at many all-inclusive resorts. None have given me the kind of "Welcome Home!" feeling that Vista Guapa does. After the scenic hour-long drive from San Jose to Jacó, Alavaro pulled up to the cozy lodge I affectionately call base camp. The high ceilings and wide-open windows let all the beautiful Pura Vida air and sunlight in. The camp dogs lay around on the porch, reminding you that despite the surfing to come, you are encouraged to relax. There's a crystal clear pool steps away, with trees offering some shade from the Costa Rican sun. And the small yoga deck stands tall like a life guard stand over the pool.

I was surprised at how large the room was. There may be two yoga decks plus the porch outside my cabin, by I could easily practice in my room without every touching the furniture. I was happy to find a coffee maker stocked with Cafe Britt on top of a mini-fridge stocked with water. And the A/C made the room a welcoming retreat for afternoon siestas. On the porch, hammocks and easy chairs made watching the sunrise over the mountains or sunset over the ocean feel like I was living inside a painting.

Meals were so much fun. Breakfast is made to order at the camp. I'm a huge fan of the local gallo pinto (rice and beans) and blackberry pancakes, but they also offer eggs, etc. The meals come with a generous fruit plate, a delicious fruit smoothie drink, and plenty of coffee. Dinners are at local restaurants. El Rey Marino is my favorite. Their plantain chips with black bean dip are amazing.

The reason you are probably at Vista Guapa is for the surfing. As a complete newbie trying to overcome my fear of water, Alvaro had his work cut out for him. We started with a lesson on dry land. He was very patient with me, quickly building my confidence and trust. When I began to panic as I stepped into the ocean, he calmed my nerves and reminded me he wouldn't let me drown. Once out on the ocean, he gave me time to relax before picking the perfect first wave for me. With his guidance, I got up on my first wave and rode it all the way to shore! Over the rest of the week, Alvaro and his patient and professional team of surf instructors worked with me to not just overcome my fear of water, but to kick its butt!

This may not be what I like least, but it's a fair warning to others. The cabins are uphill. I think it's great exercise for the legs. But don't worry if you're too exhausted after surfing or it's too dark after dinner. They'll give you a ride up!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
4.1 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Guapa Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Guapa Surf Camp

Property: Vista Guapa Surf Camp
Address: Las Lomas de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Guapa Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eco-Lodge features lovely guest bungalows all with an unobstructed view of the ocean, each with two individual rooms with private baths, air conditioning, two Twin beds or one Queen-sized bed and large decks with hand-crafted, native-wood furniture and comfortable hammocks for relaxing. The decks are ideal for enjoying the breeze, watching the sun rise over the hills and set over the Pacific Ocean, or taking in a visit from the family of macaws living near the property. Our bungalows are equipped with small safes for the storage of valuables, small refridgerators for snacks and drinks, and coffee machines for that morning wakeup. We do look to promote a relaxing environment and for you to "unplug", therefore our rooms do not have TVs, telephones or Internet connections, enabling our guests to enjoy the Pura Vida of Costa Rica. We do offer business center servies and free WiFi in the main house. We have a lovely pool and two Yoga decks which also serve as our massage decks, one of which looks out over the ocean, the other over the pool. Our massuese can also offer services on the deck of your bungalow or in your room, and couples massages are available as well. Other spa services such as manicures, pedicures, and haircuts and styling can be arranged. Our concierge is available 24 hours a day to meet all of your needs including shuttle services into town, tour bookings such as camopy tour, horseback riding, ATV, crocodile and much more, private fitness and Yoga instruction. Our staff of professional surfers and SUP surfers are the #1 rated in Jaco for surf and SUP lessons. We currently staff a 5-time National and Central American Champions, as well as other top-ranked professional surfers and SUP surfers. All staff members are certified by the International Surf Instructor Association (ISA) and are certified in CPR, First-Aid, and Open-Water Lifesaving Techiniques. We also currently staff a veteran Beach Lifeguard that worked in Texas, Hawaii, and California, with EMT and Big Surf Rescue training. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Expedia so you can book your Vista Guapa Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Guapa Surf Camp Hotel Jaco
Vista Guapa Surf Camp Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing