We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, but dogs allowed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, but dogs allowed”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. My only complaint was that our next door neighbor had a dog that he would sometimes leave in the room when he went out, and it would bark almost continuously when left alone.

Room Tip: The adjacent street is somewhat busy. Try to get a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    60
    36
    25
    19
See reviews for
26
68
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the second hotel I stayed at, the first one blowing this one out of the water. My boyfriend and I checked in with a grumpy guy at the front desk that didn't want to be bothered and couldn't care less that we were there.. He didn't even smile or welcome us just handed us the keys and told us where our room was.. Ok maybe we were spoiled at our last hotel so we were optimistic. The room smelled funny and I would rather sleep on the floor then those terrible beds. When asking the hotel clerk where the best adventure and excursions were he rolled his eyes because he didn't want to be bothered. He then called one place and then handed me the phone to talk to the company, I don't speak Spanish so that didn't work out. Then they allow hookers to just hang out in the restaurant area and talk to anyone who walk by.. It's disturbing! The prostitutes would wink at my boyfriend when we walked by! This place is terrible they don't care about you as a customer or a person. I will never ever return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtneyleeberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I very sorry our Receptionist did not provide an customer service. We do appreciate the feedback. I will be talking to the Receptionist that is for sure. If you look at other reviews you will see we usually have good customer service. It would help to know which room you stayed so we can get that mattress changed.. As for the working girls, we do not allow them to hang out in our restaurant unless they are with someone. We do not love this part of Costa Rica either, but it is legal in the country. Again thanks for the feed back. Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was fortunate to find this place thru Trip Advisor ! Our family took a trip to Costa Rica last week and were in need of a caterer...which is not as easy as one would think. Most of the caterers recommendations offered a full service five course menu that was way too costly for our budget. ($700-800 for dinner for 8) Since my husband and I were covering 90% of the trip- I thought it would be impossible to have any of the meals catered. Then I found Hotel Poseidon website and extensive menu as well as favorable customers reviews. Tim -(owner) was so easy to work with. He responded to my email on a daily basis and followed up regularly to make sure that I was happy with the selections. He did a full dinner service cooking at the house during a storm that created loss of power! Feeling very stressed and overwhelmed- he took charge of kitchen and worked the grill in the dark to provide a outstanding dinner! Thanksgiving dinner delivery was just as good- the sweet potato casserole was delicious...we tried to duplicate it once we got home but were not successful! I would highly recommend using his services- shopping at the market was not cheap for a family of eight and his pricing and extensive selection of good quality food make it a easy choice! Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions that you may have. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I found this place using trip advisor and I am glad I studied the reviews. The only down fall is it was hard to find being this was my first time in Jaco. I parked across the street and the price was fair. The room was not as updated as I thought but I am not staying in the room the whole time. I did enjoy the weather and the area. I ended up eating breakfast in the restaurant and the coffee did not disappoint. I spoke with the attendant about doing a ATV tour and he made a call and set me up for a tour a hour and half later. He also allowed me to leave my beach bag full of fruit and bottled water there and kept filling it with ice as needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal for one night here. The room was pretty unremarkable, nothing special. The gentleman at the front desk helped me to arrange a canopy tour and instructed me to be in the lobby at 12:40. I waited and waited and the front desk called for me and they were expecting me to drive to them, and because I needed to hot the road for Quepos, I missed the tour. Not a huge deal but a minor annoyance. However for those going to Jaco Beach the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this place and was more than happy with everything. The restaurant is awesome for some pretty american type food. The room was clean, sizeable, and had air-conditioning. The staff was great and the pool was a nice touch for after the beach relaxing. Speaking of the beach, you're practically on it as well. Throw in its location to the beach and being right in the center of town and your in a perfect spot for pretty cheap. Would definitely head here again if I needed a cheaper place to stay without going full out hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEdibleThong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked this place through a Lonely Planet suggestion and were underwhelmed. We saw no one else at this hotel while we were there and the staff looked bored and slow to react to our needs. Granted it is June, but this is prime honeymoon season and feeling welcome is helpful. Our room was certainly not tastefully decorated. The bathrooms had nice showers but we were put in the only room without a nice curved shower, a room back in the corner without any light and the place was empty (?). Stayed one night and the breakfast was the first half of what you normally get in CR, fruit and bread. That's it. We had our items and left. The wireless didn't work in the room we were given, had to go down to the pool. Swim up bar was closed and the patio needed cleaning. All in all seemed like an off season lazy time, which normally was fine across the country, just seemed like people were taking it easy on the efforts on the place. Room was big but the walls were dingy and light switches were stained brown, maybe the place used to be smoking allowed? A coat of white paint and some decent lighting and it might not be too bad. Springs in the mattresses were prominent. Paid $80, felt like this was too much.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pool/reception for good wireless connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We are sorry that you did not feel our staff was very "welcoming" as you stated. Normally we like to put Honeymoon couples in the back area for some privacy. You stated that you did not think the decorations were "tasteful", most people do like the decor of our rooms though we admit there are elephants on the bedspreads instead of Monkeys or Macaws. I just finished looking in the room you described, which we are pretty sure is #14. The shower is just as big as the other rooms though, not curved as you stated. Since you stayed with us in June and now review us in July it is hard to know if a light bulb or 2 was out or what you mean by "not lit very well" . The switch plates were clean when I just checked them, all lights are working as well. The matresses have been flipped and one replaced. As for our Continental Breakfast, it did included Coffee and Juice as well. Again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
448 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
565 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Property: Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Address: Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing