We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy accident”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When my husband and I visited Costa Rica back in March, we hadn't planned on visiting Jaco but due to some extenuating circumstances, we had to change our route and found ourselves in Jaco for 4 nights. We booked this hotel literally a day before we arrived in Jaco and were a bit nervous because it was high season in Costa Rica, busy everywhere we went and we were worried the good hotels would be picked over. However, Hotel Poseidon was a pleasant surprise. We ate at the restaurant several times and loved the staff and the food. The pool was clean and refreshing. We were a 5 minute walk from the beach and stunning Jaco sunsets. Our rooms had 2 beds, a mini fridge, shower, and much needed air-conditioning. There was an English league soccer game my husband really wanted to watch and the bartender upstairs made sure it was available for him. There was an issue with brown water coming from the shower one day and we experienced a storm one evening which left us without power and therefore air conditioning. But those were the only two hiccups during our stay at Poseidon. I would recommend this location to people as an affordable option with a great restaurant, close to the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel on my first trip to Costa Rica. The rooms were neat and clean, but a bit dated. The staff was very friendly and the pool was gorgeous. The proximity to the beach was also a plus. I would definitely stay here again. Hopefully by that trip they'll have updated the rooms a bit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank BradK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Safe, clean and comfortable! Stones throw from the beach and in the middle of the Jaco strip. The staff is friendly and helpful as well as the colorful locals that frequent the resturuant. The continental breakfast is healthy, delicious and more than ample. The dinner menu is also impressive and the service top notch. The ladies behind the bar and in the kitchen are outstanding! We will stay again when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed a week at Hotel P., and it was a good week. Staff at the hotel are overall very friendly and fun. Now, we're not huge party folks, so we weren't out there at late night hours. The ladies at the bar and in the kitchen are truly some hard working folks. We saw them there all the time. The male staff seem to have a few days off during the week. Service is good, rooms are a little dated. Hotel P is about 75 feet off Avenida Pastor Diaz toward the beach, and it might be easy to miss if you're not paying attention. About 100 yards from the beach. Never saw a security guard. The location couldn't be much better for being in the heart of Jaco. It's a short walk to about everything. 3 short blocks to the bank, bakery, grocery store. Restaurants and shops are just around the corner.

Rooms are cleaned daily. There's about 14 different units on two floors. There's another unit or maybe two over the restaurant. Gets a little loud there at night, but not too bad. Good AC units. Good power grid. Rooms have a small fridge. Two double beds. Rooms are a little cramped, but who's staying in the room at Jaco, except to sleep. Bathrooms are clean, but be careful with the commodes. They don't tolerate paper at all, and will clog up easily. There's plenty of hot water on demand. Water kind of surges here, so there are episodes of cold and hot water rushes. Pool are is small but nice. Pool cleaned and water dosed (chlorinated, etc) regularly. Couple of tables with chairs for lounging.

Dining is very good. Breakfasts can be ordered off the menu, but I suggest the continental. Plenty of fresh fruit, coffee, juice, toast and a wonderful fruitbread, warm. We ate this almost every day, and it was hard to finish. Dinners are good, also. We ate at many different places, but had a couple of evening meals here. The mahi mahi is excellent. There's a little bar in the restaurant serving juices, cokes and a wide variety of mixed drinks. Sports bar way up on the rooftop, showing about 6 screens. You can order your meals up there, if you want.

Poseidon is getting a little dated, and is in need of some basic maintenance. They were in process of plastering and painting the walls. Otherwise, it looks like it has been a couple of years since any serious maintenance was done on the structure, other than room interiors. Lots of cracked woods, sagging pipes, etc. Almost everything needs a good touch up and some places need some solid repair. Nothing that seemed gross, but definitely run down. Hotel P would have been a marvel 10 years ago. Nobody uses the swim up bar. Pool pump and circulation system is housed there. There is absolutely no view of the beach. There's a wall that separates this property from the neighboring properties, and that's the view from your room. I could guess it gets a little claustrophobic in the downstairs room. Saw some reviews from other recent guests that mentioned bugs...didn't have a problem with pest insects. Keep in mind, in Costa Rica there are bugs, but we didn't see any of the nasties.

Hotel P makes a good base to operate from. The price is great. That is a major plus. Over the past 15 years, the price of everything in Jaco (CR in general) has skyrocketed even if the quality hasn't improved. But the rates here are most reasonable. Hotel P is not an all inclusive deal, nor is it a 4 or 5 star resort. We enjoyed our stay here. We weren't bothered by a soul, and never had a concern during our stay.

Room Tip: Not really a place for kids or children. Older teens might do okay here, especially if you have lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chafraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Let me first start by saying the positives outweigh the negatives. The location was excellent, the room was clean, food/service in the restaurant were good. However the guy at the front desk seemed miserable. Out of my entire week in Costa Rica he was the ONLY unfriendly person I encountered. The WiFi could use improvement as well. Given the price point and comparing it with similar priced hotels in San Jose and Manuel Antonio, I'll likely try another hotel during my next visit to Jaco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We found the hotel via a LivingSocial ad. Unbelievable deal and we always wanted to travel to Costa Rica. Booking was easy and the owner went the extra mile by booking our travel to and from the hotel for us. Knowing little about the country, that small gesture went a long way in making the trip easy. The sheets weren't changed in the first room we had. We asked for another room and were given one near the laundry room on the first floor. It was clean and comfortable - and probably quieter than rooms nearer the pool. The beach is about half block away and the staff can arrange any tour you want. The restaurant is amazing - great food, great people and great price. Make sure to have the Gallo Pinto for breakfast and enjoy the coffee!

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poeticj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The staff went the extra yard to make sure we were taken care of and made everything easy from money exchanges to advise on local activities. They looked out for us and obviously valued our business. Rooms aren't new but attitude more than makes up for it. Great food too.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busterboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#5 of 40 in Jaco
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Address: Calle Bohio | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing