We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mango Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$565
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Creole(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
114
61
36
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
61
36
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunacosta ricajaco beachmiddle of towncentral locationthe entire staffbar next doorhot watercentral jacorice and beansthe main stripticosnightlifepartying
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days in mid October for our Honeymoon. We were a little worried about the stay as many of the reviews on this site were sub-par. My advise, do not listen to those reviews. The rooms are newly renovated and very nice. The staff in the entire hotel were friendly and very accomodating, and treated you like you were their friends. The restaurant and the staff were outstanding. The beach is less than a block away, and the hotel is very centrally located you can walk anywhere. The front desk is very willing to book tours for you, and there are some great ones near by. We recommend visiting the Manuel Antonio National Park and the Waterfall Canopy Tour.

FYI - This hotel is American owned and they give you the feel of being in a U.S. hotel. The entire staff speak english and love to help teach you their language as well. It is great for 1st time travelers.

Kudos to the staff and the hotel for making our honeymoon unforgettable! Puera Vida!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank agralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

This was our favorite place in Jaco. The food is better than any restaurant in the states! Fantastic food, dishes, presentation, wait staff.... And a great SkyBar (catch all the SEC games) We had already booked to stay elsewhere but would definitely look at staying here next time. Cute, quaint, clean. Great surf at the end of the street.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

I want to thank the entire staff of the Poseidon. My wife and I and two of our friends visited Costa Rica for the first time last week, and all of the staff provided excellent service… even to the point of serving as impromptu Spanish tutors. Thanks to the excellent chef, the food (breakfast and dinner) was superb both in presentation and taste.

Stayed: October 2006
3  Thank craigjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Hotel Poseidon is a quaint and welcoming 'boutique' hotel that offers a quiet but fun and relaxing visit while in Jaco. This is our fifth trip to beautiful Costa Rica. We have had the pleasure of staying at many lovely places but Hotel Poseidon feels like home. The redesigned rooms are comfortable, emaculate, colorful, and meet the needs of any traveler. The pool provides a nice retreat from the heat and humidity of the beach. The restaurant, at any time of day for any meal, is a jewel among choices in Jaco. Not only is every item delicious (and we have had the chance to sample 90% of the menu) but the quality and presentation is wonderful.

The restuarant staff and chef pay close attention to each customer. Our favorite spot during the Fall and winter months at Posiedon is the Sky Bar. Newly renovated it provides an 'at home' feel with comfortable lounge area, dining area, outside terrace where you can see the city lights at night, and most important - watch major sporting events on the satelite, large screen TV. The staff in the Sky lounge are friendly and welcoming. In our businesses, travel around the world has taken us to exciting locations and top resort facilities but when in Jaco, The Hotel Posiedon has become our home away from home. This trip we had the opportunity to meet the owners and offer our thanks for a wonderful stay. We hated to leave but look forward to our return trip in February.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mallorymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2006

We stayed there for a week. The room was dingy and uncomfortable. The staff was not helpful. We asked the desk to help us get transportation to the airport. They forgot and we almost had to pay $200 to get to the airport. To be fair, they finally found us an affordable ride but we had to stick around the hotel for hours trying to figure out the details.

The last night a group of frat boys stayed in the two rooms on either side of our room and brought back a prostitute at about 3 am. They were yelling and banging on our door and windows for another hour or two. (the balconies connect.) The hotel is not staffed at night so there wasn't much we could do but lay in bed and listen to them shout insults at the girl they had brought with them.

Internet was not free. The swim up bar was not staffed. The prices for excursions listed in the rooms and on the website are incorrect (actual prices are much, much higher) The doors are paper thin with a lock a child could break.

Overall, there are better places in Jaco for the money. Too bad we already had reservations.

The restaurant is fabulous, incredible, delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1234Hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews