We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit tired....needs some energy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bit tired....needs some energy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Don't get me wrong - the hotel is great. It's quiet, has lovely grounds and is 1km out of town and away from the hoards. The pool is lovely and the restaurant serves good honest food. However, having travelled through Costa Rica we found our final stop at this Jaco hotel a little on the tired side. The staff were helpful to a point but did not reflect the super efficient and go-getting Costa Rican staff we'd met at previous hotels on our trip. If we'd arrived there first as part of our trip, I am sure we'd be thinking the service compared to some other parts of the world we'd think this was excellent.

The restaurant for dinner lacked any atmosphere - it has such potential given the quality of the food but the drinks prices were ridiculously expensive, the hotel manager acted as if his needs came first as he sat watching the basketball on the bar tv turned up loudly distracting the only diners - us. The customers had to like it or lump it. The staff were lacklustre and seemed surprised when we showed up (the only people there - despite the hotel being full).

The hotel feels a little tired and as if it needs some fresh ideas to pep it up a bit. That said, we had a lovely time, and I thoroughly recommend a day trip to Manuel Antonio and a trip to Punta Leona ($25 in a cab, ask them to drop you at the beach and ask for directions to the white sand beach NOT $75 day trip).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKRachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    43
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
74
118
41
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were a group of four. Two children and two adults.
We checked in on Dec 31st and on the way there we tried
calling about 20 times without someone picking up the phone
to give us directions.
Once we checked in we went to the restaurant, I ordered chicken
which was uncooked and my boyfriend ordered a mahi mahi dish which
caused him food poisoning.
Next day we went to the pool. There were no pool towels available, We didn't
get our room cleaned up until 5 P.M and because I went to the front desk to
request it. There are no phone in the bedrooms, the courtain shower fell of while
we were in the shower. Breakfast was okay but its kept cold so if you go there at 9 a.m
you will find a very unattractive breakfast waiting for you,
I must say they have a nice pool and gardens but besides that, I would not recommend anyone going here. It is not that close from the beach and they have very poor customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerofDoceLunas, Manager at DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
We are sorry you had difficulty reaching us on December 31st. Our receptionist was available all day. Although the president of the national telephone utility is a regular guest of ours, even our system occasionally suffers from the occasional call failure and I believe there were a lot of problems with local phone service that day.

Most of our guests love our restaurant. We certainly don't serve uncooked chicken and we certainly haven't given anyone food poisoning. We expect Tripadvisor to remove that slanderous claim. We keep our kitchen extremely clean and all our employees are formally trained in proper food handling. During your stay none of our many other guests complained, so we are confident that your boyfriend's regrettable illness had some other source.

The continental breakfast includes items that are always served cold, so we keep those cold, although the fruits are usually cut to order.

There are always pool towels available, but we don't leave them lying around. You do have to ask the staff or bring them from your room.

We are sorry about the oversight regarding the timing of your room cleaning. There was a mis-communication between the housekeeping staff.

We are working with the national telephone service to provide the first ICE sponsored in room cell phone service. In the meantime, we apologize that in four of our rooms telephone service is currently not available.

Thanks to our disgruntled guest for the recommendation on the pool and gardens.

We are one mile from the beach, up at the base of the mountain where its a little cooler and quieter, which a lot of our guests seem to enjoy.

We hope you will look at the other reviews and weigh them against this one. Please consider that a "terrible" rating does not reflect the conditions at DoceLunas, especially when you note that the majority of guests say we are a "excellent" - giving us the highest possible rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

we traveled just before christmas and the hotel was nearly empty. Brian, the owner offered us a second room for our 2 teenagers free of charge. What a bonus! It's just outside Jaco which means you walk 10 minutes into town or take a $4 cab ride but I preferred being out of town. The hotel is quiet which is perfect after a long day touring or on the beach. All kinds of animals and plants on the grounds. Great pool-our kids were in it as soon as we got back until bedtime. Best hamburger I've ever had which is a serious review coming from a Canadian. good food in the restaurant and great service. Would definitely recommend for everyone unless you're looking for a really hot night life right at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms are huge. We stayed in a double but there are suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ted3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Not only are the accommodations and pool great, the staff is amazing. Diego at the front desk was sooo friendly and helpful! We were pretty high-matienence guests. We needed to use the lobby phone a lot and had Diego book tours for us and he was so helpful throughout. I broke my wrist while I was staying in Jaco and somehow Diego got word and had the manager, Brian, a Canadian, call us. Brian went out of his way to call around to hospitals and see if there was anything else he could do for us. I've never had such great customer service at a hotel!
Kathryn and Ryan, Denver, Colorado

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I returned to Docelunas after four years and it did not disappoint, Located just outside central Jaco but it might as well be worlds away. The grounds are beautiful filled with flowers and fruit trees that attract the wildlife.The staff is fantastic, very friendly, helpful and genuinely warm people. You feel welcome from the moment of arrival, The rooms are comfortable, nicely done and the bathtub is to die for! Great food an drinks -can't beat it! I will be back for a third visit for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tc217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We spent a couple of nights in Jaco. We liked the fact that DoceLunas is a smaller (about 20 rooms) boutique hotel, and outside the central town area. And the place did not disappoint! Friendly staff, gorgeous gardens meticulously landscaped yet a casual feel to the place. Our room was toward the higher end, and was enormous. Quiet and private, but only 2 minutes drive from the middle of Jaco. We stayed at a very slow time of year, but the restaurant had several choices for us, all of which were very well prepared and presented. Also a full bar. It was pouring rain much of the time we were there, but the pool looks quite inviting if the weather had been better. We asked for a recommendation for a guide for Carara National Park and Brian, the proprietor, booked us with Victor Chaves (www.victourscr.com) who was wonderful. In fact, we used him for a tour of the river estuary and mangroves later the same day. Saw all kinds of birds and wildlife, enjoyed some meals in Jaco town, and the lovely and peaceful DoceLunas made the experience complete.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0atGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Web site and email response were top notch. Upon arriving, we realized there wasn't really a 2nd bed option for my friend and I (we reserved the VIP package w/ 1 king bed) so they immediately gave us the option of adding the VIP package to a deluxe room with 2 queen beds instead. We actually ended up "downgrading" to a normal room without the VIP package and saved a ton of money which was really nice. The grounds are beautiful as described and the restaurant/bar had plenty to eat and drink (they cooked up some fresh mahi that I caught and only charged a few bucks to create a full dish with some sides). Actually met the owner/manager Brian at the bar and he was extremely friendly and definitely specializes in customer service. Diego at the front desk was very friendly and helpful as well.

It is a short distance from the southern edge of town, so you pretty much have to take a cab to and from town. No big deal though as it is only a couple bucks each way. My only complaint was that they wanted $10 to throw a few articles of clothing in the dryer. I understand they can't just offer free laundry service to everyone, but in a place where it is known to rain daily, it would be nice to have a dryer on site even if you have to put in a dollar and do it yourself. Regardless we really enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkopec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Property: DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing