We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Jaco over New Years. This hotel seemed like one of the nicer ones in the area and it's an easy walk into town and to the beach. It's about a mile. But a cab was only $3. Get to know Brian. He's very knowledgeable and helpful. Jaco was hot! These rooms are air conditioned, have a mini fridge and we enjoyed both. It was a great value for the price. I would definitely go back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyHoltvluwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    43
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
74
118
41
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our family enjoyed a few days rest at this excellent hotel, a safe distance from the town of Jaco itself which we found tacky. Good service, a very calm and relaxed ambience.Comfortable and very clean. Food at the restaurant was good but the restaurant itself lacking in atmosphere as it was so quiet although this might suit some visitors.Helpful and friendly staff. Nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at Doce Lunas one night while passing through Jaco. The hotel has a large beautiful garden and pool. There was a bar / restaurant that had happy hour every evening and it had a very relaxed atmosphere. The room we had was spacious, equipped and nicely decorated.

The hotel was a bit of a drive down a dusty dirt road but it wasn't such a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinDC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

It was easy to fall I love with Dice Lunas and Jaco. Everyone from the staff, yoga teachers, and other locals were so warm and open to this single traveling girl. The accommodations were very spacious and the commons grounds absolutely beautiful. You can find local foods and American fare at their restaurant. The property is a little off the beaten path from town but I saw that as a plus. I was told Jaco has a bit of a nightlife so it was nice to be somewhere a little quieter and secluded. And if your nightlife is your thing or you just want to explore the town and beaches by day, it's only about a mile walk or a $2 (yes, $2!!) can ride!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Traveling through costa rica DoceLunas is a must stay if your in Jaco. Having all the amenities a city has to offer it's tucked away just a few minutes cab ride"literally two minutes"just enough so you feel secluded. I stayed in three different rooms and all were very comfortable, and each one with its own stylish decor "many of witch is done by local artist " Every thing served from the restaurant was top notch,drink specials delicious,and the pool is so nice it's easy to lounge mornings into afternoons."So be carful" My only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I've been to Jaco on about eight different occasions over the years and Docelunas is not just my favorite resort in the area, but my favorite in the country.

The thing I love about this place is that it's just outside of town (a 10 minute walk or $2 cab ride) but is a private, quiet, tropical paradise. The grounds are amazingly beautiful and must employ several groundskeepers just to maintain it. It's the prettiest spot in the area.

I often travel to write and found the resort peaceful and inspiring. The room was great with a large work area perfect for my purposes. I very much loved the convenience of the nearby town while still feeling while at the resort that I had "gotten away from it all."

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhoodfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Second time staying at Doclelunas and no disappointments.
As a group, we held our annual general meeting at the hotel. First time we used the meeting room which was good even though the group was a few too many for the size, but overall we were pleased.
This year we used the bar area which was like having a meeting outside, that was excellent.
For any group of travellers,this hotel is ideal in all categories. For those who just want a place off the main tourist route where you can feel like you are in the jungle but not isolated, then this is the place to be. About a 20 minute walk to the beach or a cab ride for a couple of dollars.
The walk is great, no apparent dangers on the trip to the beach.
Pool area and grounds are well maintained, rooms are large with large bathroom. Layout is a square court with pool at the front and bar/restaurant at the back. Wifi improved second time but still needs some more improvement. Price is reasonable for room and restaurant. Tour guides will pick up at front desk; you get to sit and relax in open lobby while waiting.
Hotel has a gated entrance to parking lot with 24/7 security. Staff work hard to understand what your needs are even though their English may be limited. Booking was easy through their internet website and any adjustments after booking was easily handled by the manager in emails.
On behalf of Costa Esterillos Estates, we congratulate Hotel Dolcelunas on their facility and services.

Room Tip: All rooms are good location. There is one section that has a second tier, so if stairs are a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#20 of 42 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Property: DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing