We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe 50 years ago, but not today”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Maybe 50 years ago, but not today”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The hotel is a shadow of its apparent former greatness. The grounds are very nice and well kept and the beach is nice as well. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a different story. I bed was badly outdated. There was a sign posted in the bathroom requesting that NO toilet paper be put in the toilet. The bed was uncomfortable. The TV was poor. I will not return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    44
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
34
35
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I travelled with a mid forties buddie with no pre-conceptions or expectations. We were directed towards this hotel after checking out several others, simply because we had the time. Our room was clean, but early eighties in decor, etc. No biggie, we didn't spend much time there and for twenty bucks a night we could have upgraded to an ocean view room. Great location, it's only a two buck taxi ride downtown, or a short walk, and Hugo the manager is the best hotel manager we met in Costa Rica. Give him a pay rise, he deserves it!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OckerJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We were a bit cautious, having stayed at sume lett than awesome hotels in Costa Rica. I traveled with my wife and two teenagers.

This hotel was clean. Our room was lovely, with plenty of space for the four of us. It was impeccibly clean. The staff -- from the manager to the housekeeping staff -- was exceedingly competent, friendly, and helpful. Our room was right next to the pool. The pool was great -- clean and a bit warm. It is right on the beach. All you need to do is go through the security gate and you're on the beach, which was clean and lovely. The water was warm, which was great since we're from Colorado.

In case you are worried about safety, they have guards at night at the front gate and the beach gate.

The restaurant serves an adequate continental breakfast in the morning, and no dinner. The lunches were surprisingly good; better then most Costa Rican restaurants.

The town of Jaco is a bit crazy, so it was nice being a mile or so away. the walk is not very scenic, but it was nice for my wife and me to take that walk once or twice each day to go to the supermarket.

All in all, we loved this hotel.

  • Liked — everything, truly
  • Disliked — distance from town.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryfromdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the world
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I came here on a prearranged tour thinking the hotel would have to be at least basic but clean. Wrong. It was dirty, the rooms were ugly and dingy, there was construction right next to the pool and beach that is going to take quite a while longer to finish and the restaurant was dismal.

The front office was good with friendly staff and the ability to walk out the back onto the beach is great. These two good points don't make for a satisfactory experience considering the state of the hotel. I can only hope that the tour company got a big discount even though I didn't get a penny of it.

The hotel is not centrally located but in a place like Jaco, that is a good thing if you value your sleep. However, late night party revellers returning and then indulging in vigorous bedroom activities tends to diminish that aspect as well.

In short, a one night stay felt very much longer.

  • Liked — Location on the beach.
  • Disliked — Filthy and dingy.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank painfultruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Irving, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

I spent two nights here in January '06. The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke English well. Though far from luxurious, the room was very clean. The free wireless high speed Internet was a definite plus for me. The grounds are well cared for and had enough lighting at night to make me feel comfortable. The pools were in great shape. The location is fairly remote, on the south end of town, so I was glad I had rented a car. Getting a taxi out there might cause you to have to wait. The only noise was from the sound of the poorly constructed bed frames. If you're going to have any romantic activity, plan on everyone in the rooms around you knowing about it! The beach is right at the end of the property. I saw two Jesus Christ lizards, which are really interesting creatures, and other non-threatening wildlife. Overall, it's a nice place, and I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, free high speed Internet, beach access
  • Disliked — Poor room lighting, location requires taxi/driving into town
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tx500sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, N.J.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2007

1. The best thing about this place is the excellent front office staff. The staff spoke English and was very helpful in arranging tours and answering questions.

2. The town of Jaco is about a mile away. You have to either ford a river (if you take the beach approach) or walk on a dark dirt road (where i tripped over a concrete block and hurt myself). If I had it to do over again, I would have asked the staff to get me a cab, and then hailed a cab in Jaco.

3. The rooms are large but dark. (My room contained a large bed and a single.) The only place to put anything is a set of shelves.

4. The place is really like a motel court -- a number of rooms located around the pool area.

5. The pool area seemed deserted even on a warm day.

6. Aside from the front office staff, you will hear litle or no English.

7. The "restaurant" is really a poolside open-air place where you can get lunch and free breakfast. The free breakfast was passable but there was little selection. The restaurant is theoretically open for dinner, but I don't think this happened on any of the three nights I was there. Incidentally, the restaurant staff has little or no English.

8. There is a lagoon with ducks in it. The ducks sometimes come on land.

9. I didn't see any place in Jaco that looked superior. You might be better off at one of the other beach towns. Make sure, though, that it has ready access to Manuel Antonio National Park,which is not to be missed.

  • Liked — the pool and the location
  • Disliked — Rooms weren't nice, restaurant was mediocre at best.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthjerseyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2006

My husband and i stayed at the Hotel Arenal Pacifico for a week in June. Our room was steps from the beach and we could hear the surf rolling in from the room. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The cleaning ladies even left me a boquet of fresh flowers one morning because they noticed me admiring the flowers on the grounds. The grounds of this hotel are tropical and very nice. There are 2 pools in the courtyard and an area for grilling. There is a nice restaurant next to the pool where a complimentary breakfast is served each morning and you can purchase very reasonable lunches here also. If you want to relax, there are 2 hammocks in a secluded and quiet area. There are bikes that you can borrow to getaround town rather than having to drive. The owner and staff of the hotel are extremely helpful and kind. Out of all of the hotels I have stayed at in Jaco, this is definately my favorite.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 41 in Jaco
140 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Property: South Beach Hotel
Address: Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Oasis of Jaco Beach. Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments located at the southern, most tranquil and beautiful part of Jaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Pacifico Hotel
South Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing