We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what it is, but a fine place.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clarita's Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Clean rooms, killer location on beach, check in at the bar (make sure to ask for a free beer with checkin), good pool. While one of the cheaper places to stay in Jaco, if I had to do it over again I would have shelled out a little extra dough to stay in nicer place since this one was a bit small and beds weren't the best. That said, from what I heard from some other people familiar with the area, Clarita's is nicer than many of the slightly-more-expensive places in Jaco, so who knows.

Recommended because it won't be a bad experience, and I'm not sure how easy it is to do better in Jaco.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jslothouber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2010

Traveled w/3 friends throughout Costa Rica over the xmas 09/New Year 2010. We spent 4 nights in Jaco, all of them at Claritas. I can tell you one of the many positives of Clarities is the location: literally on the beach, north side of town. It felt much more private than some of the places we saw downtown Jaco. Don't get me wrong, Jaco is beautiful, but there's just too many prostitutes everywhere. After eating and drinking in the downtown, a short walk up the beach to Claritas and you're there. The bar services and food were great. Rooms were small, but clean and adequately equipped (we had a refri. in ours, AC, and a TV). And the rates were really reasonable considering were were there during the busiest time of year (we booked WELL in advance). The staff handled the reservation w/aplomb and it was nice waking up in the morning, walking out on the balcony of our 2nd floor room, and seeing the big blue Pacific. I would definitely stay here again. P.S. You MUST go to Tsunami Sushi in Jaco - best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kramerica_Industries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Claritas was just what I was looking for. Clean rooms, right on the beach, good food and cheap drinks. I stayed at Best Western last time in Jaco and Claritas better by far. The staff was friendly, good security and they allow you to enjoy youself and have fun.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb0974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

If you're looking for Atlantis, this is not for you! If you are a high maintenance babe, this is not for you. CLARITA'S is a 25 room hotel w/ good bar and grill right on the BEACH. My grown sons and I have stayed at the Backyard, Fuego del Sol, Terrazzo del Pacifico, the Best Western, and CLARITA'S WHICH IS THE ONLY ONE WE HAVE RETURNED TO!! The kitchen staff will cook your freshly caught fish for you. Happy hour is more fun here than Villa Caletas [very sheshe]. The sunset is a very big deal in Costa Rica and the bar here is filled with people from the neighboring hotels and condos. The clientele is a group of fun loving adults ages 30-60+ who are entertaining and well travelled. Most everyone talks to everyone else. The location is a two minute taxi ride to Jaco for shopping, restaurants as well as the grocery store and more local color. The rooms are comfortable w/ AC for $80/night, good mattresses & equipped w/ a little frig for snacks. At high tide the "kids" put on a great surfing show, but most of the day the waves are swimmer friendly and the beach stretches for a couple of miles. My sons rented the ATV's & had a great time. Other choices were horseback riding or a zip line thru the jungle -- all within a short ride. Golf is up at Los Suenos in Herredura not far. We'll go back to CLARITA'S many more times. The owner has acquired two more vacant lots on the beach and is expanding his room choices to a few bungalows.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithie29020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Clarita is a friendly, if somewhat chaotic place. However, at 60 dollars for a non-air conditioned room with paperthin walls, without breakfast (80 for a small room with AC) it is way overpriced. Most guests seem to be regulars who start hitting the bottle at midmorning and go on till after midnight, but otherwise peaceful, not brawls at least when I was there. If this is what you come for, OK. If you go to Jaco at all, it very likely is, the only other thing to go there for is the Carara National Park which is good and for which Jaco is a good staging point.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Great place to get away with friends. The bar and the restaurant
are right there, and the pool is nice and warm. Place has great character.
I do not recommend this place for familys as it can be a little loud and quite a few
girls do come through there. Also It is easy to walk to town but at night maybe take a cab
its like two dollars.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

I went down with a number of buddies to spend 5 days in Jaco. Let me first start by saying that you should know what type of town Jaco is before going down. Jaco is a big outdoor adventure type town with a big prostitute problem. No matter where you stay, you can't get around that. In no way am I rating this hotel based on that issue, so if you can put up with that, then this is a fine place to say.

PROS: Very clean hotel; very friendly hotel staff willing to help with anything; Nice new and clean pool with shower area; restaurant on premises with decent food and cold beer; AC in some of the rooms.

CONS: Pool had a swim-up bar area, but it was never in service; very small rooms; thin walls so you could hear what was going on in the other rooms (see my original posting above and you can imagine the noises);

I would recommend this hotel to single dudes looking to have a good time. It's definitely a good hotel, just know what you're getting into when visiting Jaco.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbouldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#6 of 40 in Jaco
100 reviews
1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarita's Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita's Beach Hotel

Address: 300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 0078, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £36 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's most affordable beach front hotel with complete restaurant and bar. Prime Beach front location with spectacular views of Pacific Ocean and rain forest. The Place in Jaco for folks who love the beach, crave ocean breezes and breaking surf, who expect excellent friendly service, and who want to kick back, have fun and catch Costa Rica's Pura Vida!!! Claritas provides ocean front clean rooms with ac, cable TV, hot water, refrigerators, room safes, swimming pool and bar, free wifi, free secured private parking, live bands- all at affordable rates. Great surf in front of your room. Cheapest rooms & Coldest beer on Jaco Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claritas Beach Jaco
Hotel Claritas Beach
Clarita's Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing