We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly oasis with terrific amenities and owners!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heavenly oasis with terrific amenities and owners!”
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I stayed at Aparthotel Vista Pacifico for 5 nights and it far exceeded my expectations. The rooms are great and the view from the balcony is breathtaking. The pool is perfect for a morning or evening dip to rejuvenate after sightseeing. Jan and Greg are the perfect hosts and go above and beyond to make sure their guests are comfortable. The terrace and grill are perfect if you want to cook up your own meal every once in a while. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here if you are in the Jaco area, it is a gem and should not be missed!

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
Thank JaneSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    58
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
114
186
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I stayed with my teenage son and nephew during three nights over Holy Week, a very busy time in Jacó. Greg and Jan made us feel at home right away. Vista Pacifico has the best of the b&b and hotel worlds. Personalized service, nice cozy ambiance, great advice to the best restaurants, tours and other places to visit in the region, strict quality controls, cleanliness, wireless Internet access, swimming pool, cable TV, and, notably, the best view of Jaco Beach. Muchas gracias Greg and Jan.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

The hosts were fantastic, from the welcome to the goodbye. We were greated with a huge smile, tons of information and felt at home right away.
The hotel was very clean and the afternoon breeze on the front deck was most welcome. The pool was refreshing and by afternoon was shadded by wonderful gardens. We didn't want to leave each day.
Jan and Greg we able to arrange for excursions for us and as well, gave us some of the best places to learn to surf, and have the best pizza my son has ever had.
With the scarlet Macaws flying by in the evening and the toucans visiting in the morning, what more could you ask for.....well maybe the kinkagee in the evening and the mockingbirds during the day.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 3Canadaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron County, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

The Room:

We stayed in Room # 2, which is a one room suite, and it was great. The room has no air conditioning, but we really did not need it, and other than one night would not have even used it. The breezes blow from the ocean during the night and the mountain during the day (or maybe the other way around?) and the big windows and patio doors let in lots of cool breeze.

The beds were VERY comfortable. The kitchenette was small but had everything we needed, and the hotel even left us a little bag of microwave popcorn, which would have been great if we were hungry when we first got in. The TV is also small... which didn't matter to us. The staff kept the room very clean, and we had absolutely no complaints.

The Service:

Jan and Greg were fantastic. Everything you read about them on here is true. They go above and beyond to make sure your stay is great, have wonderful recommendations that go beyond the general "people like to do this" but are tailored for what they think you would like.

Breakfast each morning was wonderful. It was more like a continental breakfast, with great fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, pastries and juice. The hotel when we were there was fully booked, and so most mornings we ended up having breakfast with a different couple. The guests at the hotel while we were staying all ended up getting to know each other, everyone got along, and the atmosphere that way was excellent. When we would come back from our daily activities we were welcomed back by the other guests and Jan and Greg like friends.

The Pool/Grounds:

If you are looking for an all inclusive type resort with a giant pool/fountains/waterfalls this is probably not your kind of place. But, the pool was clean, a perfect temperature, had an incredible view, and there were always different birds fluttering around in the trees nearby. If you are a birder, I would suspect the grounds here are excellent. We also saw lizards, a Kinkaju, and other wildlife. There are three cats and a dog who live on the grounds also, (not the typical starved mooching resort/street animals, but well cared for house pets) which made us feel at home.

The hotel had high speed wireless internet, which worked very well.

The location is not beachfront, and not really nearby to the town. It is about a 5 minute drive to town, however there was one couple who walked into town every other day while we stayed there. Cabs are readily available, but we rented a car and that was great. Having a car made the hotel being not directly in town a bonus for us.

The only thing I disliked about the grounds was the ride up the hill!! It is an unpaved road, steep, bumpy, and we were driving a Suzuki Alto (you probably wouldn't even feel it in a bigger car).

Jaco:

We had read a TON of negative reviews about the town, but have to say we had just the opposite experience. We found it to be completely safe, we walked around at night without any harassment or nervousness, we were not ever hassled by people selling anything (legal or illegal), and we noticed a fairly strong police presence while we were there.

We found a ton of great places to eat in town, and really were not disappointed with the food. There is also a BBQ at the hotel, which we took full advantage of to grill fresh seafood we purchased in town.

The town seemed fairly clean, the stores and restaurants were all easily accessible, and Jan and Greg had a ton of great recommendations of things to see, places to eat and things to do. We went surfing, visited a national park, took a crocodile tour, found some litle known beaches, and saw monkeys!

We did take standard safety precautions (keeping our car locked, not flashing around wads of cash, not leaving our things unattended etc) but really felt very safe and there was lots to do.

Conclusion:

In all, Vista Pacifico was the perfect hotel for us. If you are looking for a party hotel, or an all inclusive, this is not the place for you. If you enjoy getting off the hotel grounds, seeing the area, and having a clean, comfortable, friendly place to call your home base then Vista Pacifico is probably right up your alley.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reflection78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My wife and I just returned from C.R. and spent two wonderful nights at Vista Pacifico. Jan and Gregg were fantastic hosts, with great recommendations for food, activities and anything else you may need. They sent us to Playa Estrillo Oueste to get coconut palms to plant on our property in San Ramon. While we were there we saw over a dozen beautiful Scarlet Macaws right on the beach. The location is perfect, on a hill not far from the main highway off the first entrance to Jaco. The breezes at night are very refreshing and the views are fantastic. As we will be building a house in C.R. in the near future, Gregg and Jan shared a great amount of wisdom and knowledge with us and showed us the new house they are building. We will definitely return to Vista pacifico for a longer stay and more of the great food at D'Marios, which is a tipico restaurant with awesome food, not too far from the hotel. The rooms are very well appointed and very clean and comfortable. Excellent value and really nice people. Highly recommended if you're in the Jaco area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmelanso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Point, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

My wife and I (in our mid 40's) stayed here for 4 nights. It's a good place if you run the roads and do the tours during and the day and just want to sit back on the balcony and enjoy the night. You have to take a taxi to Jaco but they come in 5 minutes and are very cheap and it only a couple of miles.
Theres no need for me to elaborate what anyone else has said in the other reviews about Jan and Greg cause they are all true, they are great.
Dont let the lack of air conditioning scare you off, it's nice with the windows open and very secure. And for the price you can't beat it.
Make sure you tell Jan to send Mario to pick you up at the airport if you need transport because that in itself is a treat.
Its a nice ride , about 1 1/2 -2 hours from the airport with very nice scenery.
If you're a young and looking to party, stay on the main drag in Jaco. I seems like it could get wild.
If you like to relax and maybe drink a few beers on the balcony at night, stay with Jan and Greg. You won't regret it

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jugadorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend trip to Jacó. Aside from the cozy, comfortable, and clean rooms, the hospitality that the owners showed us was incredible. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived as the hostess greeted us at the gate to show us to our room.
The hotel is nestled away on a hillside nearby the main town (about a 5 minute taxi ride away to the beach). There are 9 units total, 7 of which face an incredible view of the Pacific ocean. Even if you're in one of the rooms that doesn't face the ocean (like we were) you're still given a great view of surrounding mountains.
Breakfast in the morning is absolutely delicious. Jan and Greg put out a spread of fresh bread, homemade jam, yogurt with granola, and all kinds of fresh fruit from 7 to 9 every morning.
The only drawback is that it's not right on the beach, which we knew coming in, and it's also which gives it part of it's charm. Because it's up on the mountain, it gives it a more intimate and home-like feel.
We would highly recommend this place to anyone planning on visiting the Jacó area!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank ksenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Vista Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Property: Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Address: Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Vista Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Aparthotel Vista Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Hotel Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing