We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new, modern hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Ranked #1 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great new, modern hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place is brand new hostel just south of the Jaco town centre. It's a great modern building with excellent fit out, pool, nice rooms and great mattresses, awesome bathrooms. There is a projector to watch movies over the pool, a great sound system and it's a 30 second stroll to the beach.

When I visited the finishing touches were still being put on the hostel, but it should be 100% complete fairly soon. What stood out to be was the quality of service from the staff - friendly, helpful, welcoming - this has the makings of a truly amazing hostel. Really the perfect spot to be in Jaco.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommymacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    62
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
58
130
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you are looking for a hostel in Jaco Beach, stop looking if you find this! This hostel has an amazing aura, the straff is so nice and can help you with anything you need, any tours you will book or transport.
They have everything; a pool, kitchen, bar, sunbeds, it's clean, and a breathtaking sunset view from the roof top! Me and my friend stayed there for six days, and we would have stay there longer if we could. The weekends was so fun and we enjoyed every moment! Good partying and then calm in weekdays. I will highly recommend this place!

Xx Norway

Room Tip: Stay in room with an AC. It's so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I truely love the stay at this place. It is brand spanking new with all the trims of a classy hotel with hostel prices. Kev and Brian truely look after us and I cant wait to get back there asap. Was good to both relax and have a few drinks at the pool or on the sea view rooftop. Thankyou so much

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hostel was a great place to stay. The Staff created a great atmosphere and made you feel at home. The building architecture is amazing and the lay out is great with lots of room options and 2 bars one by the pool and one on the roof to watch the sunset, and the bathrooms were amazing. I really enjoyed my stay with Room 2 Board.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fantastic set up, attention to detail is unmatchable.
Good location for beach and town access. Great roof terrace with ocean views. Would highly reccomend if you're going to jaco, are a surfer or just want some luxury on your travels.
Friendly and helpful staff, only downside is we had to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Brand new hostel with great rooms and bathrooms. I missed having a kitchen, but this was almost done before I left. Straff is great, Kevin can help you with everything you need. Hostel is about 10 minutes from the centre of Jaco, but super close to the beach. Surfboards are cheap to rent as well. Room2Board is the best hostel I've ever stayed at, would definitely stay here if I'm back in Jaco.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Kristinsj-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place was phenomenal. Definitely the best hostel I have ever been to. I stayed one night with a friend and we met some great people both staying and working there. The guy who was working showed us a great time. Best weekend I've had in a while.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beds on Bohio
Beds on Bohio
#15 of 68 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room2Board Hostel and Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room2Board Hostel and Surf School

Property: Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Address: Metros Oeste de la Clinica de Jaco 200 | In Front of the Beach, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Room2Board Hostel and Surf School 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room2Board is a newly built boutique hostel and surf school located on the Central Pacific Coast in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. Its eco-friendly design provides adventure travelers, surfers, and backpackers a clean, safe and affordable place to stay. Room2Board was designed to have the social atmosphere and affordability of a traditional hostel and surf camp along with the amenities and style of a boutique hotel. Please note we have a 2 day minimum on the weekends and a 2 day minimum over Semana Santa, March 27- April 5th and Christmas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Room2Board Hostel and Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room2Board Hostel And Surf School Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing