We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place is Jaco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Ranked #1 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place is Jaco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hostel is amazing more like a hotel. The view is wonderful, service is great and they are really engaging and helpful. As a solo traveler I am glad I stayed here. jaco is not my type of scene but the hostel was wonderful. :)

Room Tip: I would spend the extra money for an ac unit as the dorms are quite warm. It can be rather loud at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    63
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
58
130
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed with the guys at Room2Board for one night while passing through to find some waves. This place is perfect. You won't find a nicer hostel anywhere. And you probably won't find a nicer hotel either. Everything is brand new as they have just recently opened. It's in the perfect location so you can walk to the bars and find some rowdiness at night but far enough away that you can actually enjoy some serenity and sleep or walk 20' to the beach. The staff is great and will help you out with everything. If you're thinking about stayin here just so it and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mburbelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room2Board, Manager at Room2Board Hostel and Surf School, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for your review! We really appreciate it.. and we're super happy that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and surf with us anytime 8)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in this brand new hostel. It is a great place to spend time there. Everything was perfect. Everything was clean. We hired surfboards for 12$ a day. I think this is not to bad. Also in the center of jaco you will find many good restaurants and shops!
Thanks

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hostel has everything you could ask for. Clean, modern feel and awesome showers! The owner and staff are very nice, and this place felt extremely safe. This is definitely the place to stay in Jaco.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice, so I would recommend any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_Be_111291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was lucky enough to find the Room2board Hostel in Jaco. It was by far THE best hostel I have ever stayed at. In fact it doesn't really feel like a hostel at all. It's more like a 4 star hotel, with impeccably clean rooms, stylishly contemporary bathrooms, comfy beds, a beautiful pool and really friendly and helpful staff. The owner Brian is a really cool and funny guy who knows everything about Jaco and will tell you exactly what to do and where to go. They project movies onto the wall next to the pool at night and have an awesome terrace bar upstairs overlooking the beach and surf which is only 200 feet from the hotel.

Pound for pinch this place was a great deal and I would recommend anybody to stay there except families with kids. It definitely has a younger surfer vibe and there is a bit of a scene with people gathering on the terrace at night having a few drinks and listening to groovy beats.

Fantastic experience, highly recommend, I would go back anytime only I'm sure that it will be discovered and difficult to get a room by then!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed in the hostel with friends for 1 night. The location is great, 1 minute walk to the beach.
The hostel is new and clean, with nice pool and big screen outdoors, and the owner is super friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this place if you want to stay in jaco!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123maria321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This nice hostel is one of the best (if not the best) the I have the pleasure to visit. Nice party's and loots of fun with a really nice staff!! Kevin, juan and the girl were really kind and always willing to help! The owner as well was incredibly helpful! Overall a great experience on the pool and the movies at night! Great food specials in a brand new hostel the meet all our expectations!!!! 5 stars for sure!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sebastian u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beds on Bohio
Beds on Bohio
#15 of 68 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room2Board Hostel and Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room2Board Hostel and Surf School

Property: Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Address: Metros Oeste de la Clinica de Jaco 200 | In Front of the Beach, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Room2Board Hostel and Surf School 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room2Board is a newly built boutique hostel and surf school located on the Central Pacific Coast in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. Its eco-friendly design provides adventure travelers, surfers, and backpackers a clean, safe and affordable place to stay. Room2Board was designed to have the social atmosphere and affordability of a traditional hostel and surf camp along with the amenities and style of a boutique hotel. Please note we have a 2 day minimum on the weekends and a 2 day minimum over Semana Santa, March 27- April 5th and Christmas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Room2Board Hostel and Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room2Board Hostel And Surf School Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing