We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront condo with awesome ocean view.”
Review of Daystar Bahia Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Daystar Bahia Azul
Ranked #12 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I stayed a week at Bahia Azul, an ocean front condo complex, last month, August 2013. We were on the first floor and had a beautiful ocean view/ breeze. Overall the condo complex is nice, especially the pool area. Friendly staff ready to assist with any requests or issues. In our opinion the 2nd floor is probably a better choice, unless travelling with young children or elderly. Second floor units provide a better view, more privacy and are less noisy. Third floor units have a rooftop 360 view deck, that is only accessible to guests staying in those units. Most of the units have some sort of ocean view. Issues with rented unit: could use updating of furniture, small kitchen appliances and pots/pans.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Bahia Azul is the best place to stay in Jaco. Great for a couple, a family or a group of friends. It's a small gated condo complex within walking distance to restaurants/bars and the grocery store yet just the right distance from the bustle of the main street. A few steps from the gorgeous beach, it also has an amazing pool and a 24 hour security guard. Our unit was exceptionally clean, had air conditioning and fans and was nicely decorated. We stayed in Unit 9C and were really happy with it.

Room Tip: Penthouse/third floor units have an added bonus of a rooftop sun deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank 329SarahM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just returned from our week in Jaco at the Bahia Azul condos. This was a great place to stay. Although our condo was first floor and right next to the Security Guard stand so we could hear his walkie talkie squawking, it was very convenient. A not so short but easy walk into town allowed us to forgo the car rental. Although at night we did take cabs which cost around a $1.50 each way. We were literally across from the ocean and were able to witness beautiful sunsets and the sound of the ocean lulled us to sleep every night. My kids loved the beach (although beware of rocks until you are out into the water a bit. There is a lovely pool that we hung out at prior to showering and heading out to dinner. I would highly recommend this complex. Although I rented directly from an owner, the staff at Day Star were extremely helpful and easy to deal with.

Room Tip: My suggestion would be to stay on the second floor, but face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viet2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for the nice comments. We are very glad that you had a good time staying with us and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Bahia Azul is a condo across the beach road in Jaco, Costa Rica. I imagine that normally the road is only local traffic but they are building nearby and there were quite a few large construction vehicles going past. At weekends the beach is popular with the locals and there were more cars and noise with families and young people BBQing or partying on the beach. None of that would deter us from returning. Our unit (1A) was on the ground floor right next to the manned security entrance. This was both a blessing and a curse. While feeling very safe we also had to put up with brighter lights, cars coming in and out, the guard's annoying communications radio and friends visiting in the early hours. This wouldn't be a problem in any of the other suites. We would return to this complex but would choose buildings 6-7. There are 10 buildings contain three units each surrounding a very large, well maintained pool. The grounds are also well maintained and staff is constantly around. Judging from the outside I assume that the units are all the same. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundry, large kitchen/living room, and a deck with dining table and chairs. The master bedroom has a balcony and ensuite. It is a 20 minute walk to the main street of Jaco where you'll find restaurants (Lemon Zest was great), grocery stores, ATMs and shops. There are a couple of casinos and places to rent vehicles or off-road vehicles. The beach is long and sandy with crashing waves and quite low tides. We felt safe while in Jaco but were smart where we walked after dark and were always in groups. I wouldn't walk the beach at night.

Room Tip: contact Day Star Properties or vrbo,com at the Bahia Azul
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaColwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We are so glad you had a good time and appreciate the comments. Have a great day and we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I have stayed at Bahia Azul many times and in many different units over the years.
Many of the owners directly give you a better price than if you go through Day Star. As time goes on the property all all do is slowly showing signs of aging, but at the same time they do a pretty good job keeping up with things. Each unit is different with its furnishings, noise, beds, TV's, and so on. Some a simply furshished much better than others. I like Bahia Azul because its small and usually quiet. Sometimes the street in the front fills up with people on the weekends as Jaco gets discovered by more people. But all in all its a good location, not right in town, just a 10 minute walk to the store for food. They deliver too if you dont want to walk. The pool is also almost always in great shape and beautiful. All in all its a good property, but each unit is different something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get one of the buildings in the front 1,2,3, or 4. C units are the top with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoy the project. Bahia Azul was our first project and one of our most loved. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I loved the Bahia Azul condo so much. I had to buy it.
- spacious
- excellent location
- everything is close and within walking distance
- not touristy with souvenir hawkers at every turn.
- friday farmers market right behind the condo with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables and of course Costa Rican coffee.
- inexpensive car rentals if you want to do some personal exploring.
- most of the locals can manage enough english so language isn't a barrier. Although they do appreciate any attemot on your part to communicate in Spanish.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuthierOnLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for a week during July condo 7B. The condo was just as described. It was a very spacious 2 bed 2 bath and very clean. The pool is huge and was never packed, most of the time it was just my husband and I. The condo is located on the beach and is a short walk to some delicious restaurants and to the grocery store. We booked through Day Star properties and had no issues besides our key cards not working one day but the 24 hour property security let us in and Day Star was there with new keys in about 20 minutes. If we stayed in Jaco again I would definetly book here because of the cleanliness and location. They also have maintenance men on site every day cleaning the grounds which are immaculate. In a nutshell, beautiful property in a great location in Jaco!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,386 reviews
3.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daystar Bahia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Azul

Address: Calle Morales, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range: £160 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daystar Bahia Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront condo community in Jaco Beach with 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condos. Steps from the ocean and a quick walk to town, you'll enjoy unobstructed ocean views and a lively beach scene at your doorstep. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and WiFi Internet access. Services include concierge, staffed security and free local calls and long distance to USA and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Daystar Bahia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Azul Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing