We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CR vacation”
Review of Daystar Bahia Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daystar Bahia Azul
Ranked #13 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CR vacation”
Reviewed 1 January 2009

The property is beautiful and the condos are decorated in good taste. But there is no on-site restaurant so you are on your own for food. The tie-up this property has with a local breakfast place is not working - the food at the local breakfast place is awful and it quite a walk in the morning. Better to make trip to the local mas-x-menos and stock up on basic groceries -- coffee, salt, milk etc. Great location though and the beach is right in front, pool is great, and the security staff is vigilant.

  • Liked — location and decor
  • Disliked — no on-site restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfarnwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

The staff at our condo was wonderful and always available to help give directions, book tours and provide other services as needed. The view was terrific and for 6 evenings we watched the beautiful sunsets. We were within walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets and shopping. We will definitely go back. Our experience was very good and so relaxing.

  • Liked — The view, the layout of the condo, and having everything we needed to cook if we wanted.
  • Disliked — The second bed room has twin beds and we had 4 adults part of the time. No big problem.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank slyforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenays, British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We stayed at this luxury Condominium/Resort for six nights. It was only completed last summer so they are still working out some of the issues with running a group of 30 condos in 10 buildings as a resort. Overall the experience was excellent. We stayed in 8C - a top floor unit with an unlimited ocean view.

The co-ordination between the property management and Daystar - the development company that runs this and other properties - leaves a bit to be desired. For example, we were quoted a price on a tour and, after the tour was over, a different amount appeared on our bill. Nevertheless, everybody worked hard to resolve these fairly small issues and Yanina, the resident manager, was very helpful.

Jaco itself is undergoing a huge boom in development and this property is the first of several luxury properties that will soon be available. I am concerned that they may alienate the surfers and eco-tourists that are really the heart of tourism in this area. I'll certainly return to Costa Rica but I doubt I'll bother with Jaco once it is 'developed'.

  • Liked — Clean, luxurious, great pool, views, ability to cook in well equiped unit, private roof-top patio
  • Disliked — Management needs to get a bit more organized.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I stayed at Bahia Encantada earlier when I brought the family down for Spring Break and had a great time. However, on this trip I tried out Bahia Azul , and it was also a very nice experience. It was nice and relaxing and quieter. Maybe during spring break and the major holidays , I'm sure all places are busy. The staff is great and very helpful and the 24 hr security puts your mind at ease. It might not seem like a big deal, but the laundy facilities in the condo came in pretty handy, now I know next time , I do not need to pack too many clothes. Very short walk into town and great views of the Ocean. I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — very clean property
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jitpuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daystar Bahia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Azul

Property: Daystar Bahia Azul
Address: Calle Morales, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daystar Bahia Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront condo community in Jaco Beach with 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condos. Steps from the ocean and a quick walk to town, you'll enjoy unobstructed ocean views and a lively beach scene at your doorstep. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and WiFi Internet access. Services include concierge, staffed security and free local calls and long distance to USA and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Daystar Bahia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Azul Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing