We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahia Encantada
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
65
38
5
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
38
5
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslost beachpool courtyardbasic kitchen supplieswonderful accommodationsbath condomultiple balconiesgated entrancean extended stayonsite managermacaws flyingnice condoshort walk into townbeautiful oceanshopping and restaurantstop floorbar next doorbeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

After a month of researching here and other places my girlfriend and I booked our July/August trip to Costa Rica, 4 days which would be spent in Jaco. This was in April. We have been counting down the days that we would be spending in the Penthouse Suite (G5) while there. However we received a call today (June 14th) that they are refunding our money because they are closing the Bahia Encantada during that time to do "roof repairs". Since we got a good deal during low season I slightly think they may have just rented it for more money. We are now stuck looking for a place in Jaco that will be equal to the stay we were expecting (beachfront, penthouse, pool, price, etc) a month and half from when we will be departing for the vacation. Hopefully we get lucky. Of course they reccomended we look at their other Daystar properties since they own them, but with this experience I think that is nixed. I can't write on the place specifically but cancelling someones reservation they made after you have taken their money is ridiculous.I will definitely be sure to stop by and check while I am there and will write a follow up based on the outcome of whether they were actually doing repairs and whether they refund is fully.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank smlytle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

I would like to start off by apologizing for what you had to experience with your room getting cancelled. I can assure you that we didn't rent your unit to someone else at a higher price and that we where doing repairs on the roof. This was really out of our control as it was requested by the Home Owners Association and need to be completed. I really wish we could have put in one of our other 4 projects on the beach. Again we apologize for this and hope that you enjoyed your stay in Jaco Beach and will be back. We are working hard every day to improve and your feedback helps us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel is great if your looking for a nice place near the beach. The pros definately outnumber the cons!
Pros: near beach, kitchenette ( large refridgerator to store mix drinks and snacks), nice location however we had a car and drove to the strip to eat, boogie boards are8 bucks a day, nice waves, gorgeous pool, during the day if you want a snack or tasty beverage Claritas has some tasty drinks and descent appetizers

Cons: no bartender but ended up saving money by making our own, the bar next store gets loud on the weekend, no chairs to recline on or rent on the beach ( not a big problem but this would have been nice), and we had to wear a wrist band to enter facility however we did feel super safe here because security approves you and then opens/closes the gate to the hotel.

We would definately go back and take those surfing lessons we never got to do.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripseekers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Bahai Encantada is well located (on the beach with 10 min walk to village centre). The property has security and is well maintained. The units are large and holding up very well considering the rental volume.

Jaco (pronounced 'hawko') is a great alternative to Tamarindo. Actually I highly recommend staying away from Tamarindo unles you can limit your stay to a few nights.

Jaco is a village along a sweeping bay with a wide beach and great sunsets. It has several hotels and rental condominiums along the water. Most have nice swimming pools. The village has several good restaurants (best for us was the Wahoo).

If you land at the San Jose International Airport there is now a very good highway to Jaco (about a 90 m,inute drive). If you have a rental car you can make some cool day trips out of Jaco:
1) 60 min south to Quepos and the Mannual Antonius Park
2)15 min north to Herradura (turn east at the intersection for great Zip Lining or turn west to Los Suenos Marina
3) 25 min north to the Crocodile Bridge
4) 2 hour north (30 min north of San Jose) to the La Paz waterfalls and game park (zoo)
5) 45 min north to Punta Arenas (a town who's day has past but also where the ferry goes to the Tambor area

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have read through the other reviews and the complaints are all true:
Can be noisy if people are partying on the beach.
Might see some unwanted lady visitors at night.
Bugs around the kitchen.
Not many activities for kids.
Pool bar closed during low season.

Guess what.....this is Jaco! I walked up and down the beach and the town several times and this is by far the nicest property on the beach. I was in the Penthouse #L3 and each room has a nice balcony, the main balcony is on the corner overlooking both the beach and the pool, and the rooftop terrace has a nice view of the entire beach. It was a little annoying to see bugs in the kitchen, but if you rinse all your dishes and throw them in the dishwasher you shouldn't have any problems. Having the full kitchen and washer/dryer are a HUGE plus. I saw someone complain that the penthouse didn't have tv's in every room, but we did, so perhaps this was a recent upgrade. There is security at both the front and back entrance at all times and they are very friendly. I prefer a place with a concierge available 24/7 but for the most part the security guards were able to help me when necessary. I had a problem with my thermostat and called the headquarters, someone was in my room fixing the problem within 5 minutes. There were a few families with kids enjoying the beautiful pool area (3 separate pools including a small one for kids), so I'm not sure what more people want for their kids. Yes there are a lot of hookers in Jaco....if you read the reviews, every hotel has mention of them, so if you don't like it, Jaco isn't the place for you...it is not the fault of the hotel. And yes, it's nice to have the pool bar going, but if it's closed, just grab a bottle and a mixer and make your own drinks (plenty of cups in your room and ice makers in the freezer)...you'll probably save a ton of money anyway. Clarita's next door is a convenient food/bar option and I didn't really have any problems walking into town. A couple times I got lazy and paid the $2 to take a cab...no big deal.

Overall this place is great and I will definitely stay there again. $175 a night for the penthouse overlooking the beach is very reasonable. My only (minor) complaint is that if the maid service is going to only come every other day, it would be nice if they did a little more than a "touch-up" which is to say they made my bed and made sure I had fresh toilet paper. I don't mind cleaning up after myself but it's nice to not have to tidy up and do the dishes while on vacation. If you can understand that any of the complaints apply to pretty much every place in Jaco, then you will definitely see that this is the nicest property overall.

Room Tip: L3 is on the top floor corner adjacent to the beach and the pool. It is on the side next to Clarita's so if you don't want to hear any noise, the same room on the opposite side of the pool might be better.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkopec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here in F5 with our three children for a week. Our visit fell into their "slow time" here, so most of the week we had the pool to ourselves. Loved it!!! The beach is beautiful! The view from the room was spectacular! The penthouses are clean and beautifully furnished. The staff is helpful and friendly. Great place to stay!!!!! Would love to come again!

Room Tip: We were in F5 - four balconies - lots of beautiful views!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamvan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews