We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Condo J-2 / I recommend this unit for the view/Condition”
Review of Bahia Encantada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahia Encantada
Ranked #14 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
“Excellent Condo J-2 / I recommend this unit for the view/Condition”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We showed up and everything was perfect with the condo.This condo J2 has Air conditioning, that's very important, it's my understanding that not all of the condos have air conditioning. The condo had 3 nice sized bedrooms, & 3 Bathrooms, very important for everyone. Each bedroom has it's own balcony. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Unit J2 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisBeevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    36
    4
    9
    8
See reviews for
55
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Booked this condo using the feedback and great reviews on Trip Advisor. Wasn't disappointed. We spent 9 days (family or 6) in a 3 bedroom condo Dec. 27 - Jan. 5 and loved it!!! The condo was well equipped and tastefully decorated. Location is at the north end of the beach which appeared to be slightly quieter and less busy than in the central and southern end. So we had no issues with noise (except New Years Eve :-) ) The grounds staff was very friendly and helpful and the DayStar Property staff were as well. Even though it is at the far end of the beach there are several 'Sodas' and good restaurants within a short 5-10 min walk. The beach is literally steps from the pool and lounge area. The waves are awesome and our two kids (12&13) had endless fun in the waves and then switching to the pool to chill out. Overall, highly recommend this resort!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed Bahia Encantada. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks staying in condo F1. We rented the condo through the owner Chris Wyborne from California. The condo was absolutely beautiful, it was on the ground floor facing the ocean. It had 3 bedrooms and was perfect for our family of 4. I would highly recommend this condo unit to others. Fernan the building super is on hand every single day. He is wonderful. We rented a car from Zuma car rental in Jaco would highly recommend them as well. They picked us up and drove us back to the airport. We had a fantastic holiday and would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to having you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

the condos are very nice and nicely decorated. The daystar people are very nice and amazing with their help. The resort is very nice but noisy! Next door is an open beach bar with nightly bands; we are right beside this bar and can hear every word in the songs and feel the drums with all the windows closed - but they would stop around midnight. The kids screaming and running around the pool got annoying, the guards would tell them (and the parents) that they are not to jump off certain areas but 5 minutes later the kids were doing it again and the parents didn't care. Not the fault of the hotel and the ( very nice ) guards were always trying! Definitely need more lounge chairs by the pool

Room Tip: nearer the end closer to the beach would get rid of some of the pool noise. We were on the K side n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjfit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for the comments. It can get loud during Christmas and New Years week and we are always very busy. We will be passing your comments about the chairs to the home owners as during this time of year it is always a concern. Thank you and hopefully we can have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

If you want to vacation in Jaco... this is THE place to stay... we had Penthouse E5 3 BD and 2 1/2 baths... with a two story deck / tower overlooking the ocean. Our family of 5 had the best vacation in years... The property is just far enough away from town to get away from the noise, but close enough to walk in... Jaco is a very busy place with a slight edge to it which at night means its great for 20 somethings, but not a place to turn your teenagers loose unaccompanied... Fernan, who is the onsite property manager was remarkable... every recommendation he made: Zip Lining through the Cloud Forests, National Parks (where we saw 3 species of monkeys, humming birds, sloths, bats, etc), restaurants in town... were fantastic. Tatty,the DayStar reservations supervisor, directed us to remarkable restaurants and even found us a great sports fishing charter (Felix and Jose) where we were landed yellow fin tuna, wahoo, and even a 5 foot dolphin fish... all of which we had fileted and cooked at a local restaurant (a good friend on Fernan's). The marlin we had on line shook the hook free unfortunately. All in all, lots to do, great fun for the kids (surfing right in front of the condo), wonderful food and a remarkable staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you Bob. We enjoyed having your family stay with us as well and we look forward to seeing you guys back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

So 7 of us stayed here and rented out the 4D Penthouse for two nights. The resort grounds were awesome, our room was beautiful and clean, we had our own private jacuzzi on the roof, in unit washer and dryer, and all of our excursions and adventures were just a phone call away. I would call the DayStay office and let them know what we wanted to do, and they would arrange it for us, even when most of the activities we requested were for the same day! And better yet, they would come to the resort to pick us up. Everyone at the office was very helpful. Most of my contact was with Tatty, Karina, and Lyle, all of whom were awesome. If I had to give any sort of negative remarks, it would be that the activities ran on Tico Time (approx 30 min behind schedule), but this was the fault of the people that ran the excursions, not DayStar. Also, the restaurant next to the resort, which I do not believe is necessarily affiliated with the resort, had horrible service. I'm not one to give negative reviews but we all got the feeling that they did not like tourists. I will not go into details except that there was a glass of water knocked over on a friend of mine with no apologies, or efforts to clean it up other than handing my friend a box of Kleenex, followed by a lot of attitude and incorrect information regarding when they stop serving food and dessert. Aside from the horrible service, the food was the worst food we had eaten in all of CR. So beware of the restaurant. Otherwise, 5 stars!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We are glad you enjoyed yourself. Yes we are not affiliate with the restaurant and we are sorry about your experience there. With that said hopefully you will be back soon. Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We are a family of 4 who just arrived home last night from a 2 week stay at the Bahia Encantada. The property was very nice - beautiful sunsets can be enjoyed right from the pool. We had to get used to the rooster noise as there are about 5 or so that live right next door and they are vocal, plus the music from the restaurant next door could be heard at night although not past midnight. We stayed in F5 which was a penthouse unit - it was a bit worn but they do make efforts to keep it maintained. Pros - staff are excellent, great location, beautiful pool and views, great distance for morning walks into town along the beach, free calls to Canada and the US. Cons - sheets don't fit the beds, toaster didn't work (but we never asked to have it replaced), spotty internet, not enough lounge chairs by the pool (there were people laying on towels on the concrete), not great water pressure in the master shower. Fernan was incredibly helpful and and very responsive to dealing with maintenance issues we did ask about (fridge didn't work, we were concerned about the safety/stability of the railings and some burnt out lightbulbs - all issues were fixed). We booked all of our tours through Daystar and they were excellent - Jaco canopy tour, Manuel Antonio (highly recommend this one) and Tourtega. All of the Daystar staff we met were friendly, knowledgeable and an absolute pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugBitten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
The staff appreciates the kind words. We have passed the info about the condo to the owner and your comments are appreciated as this is the only way we can get better. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Encantada

Property: Bahia Encantada
Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Encantada 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Encantada is an impressive resort-like community at the northern end of Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. Bahia Encantada offers incredible ocean views over a series of infinity pools from what is widely considered Jaco's most beautiful beachfront estate. Spacious 2 and 3-bedroom condos boast luxurious comforts and numerous terraces, including private rooftop terraces atop all penthouse suites. Bahia Encantada offers several floor plans for two- and three-bedroom condos, with two or three baths, and ranging in size from 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. A spacious three-bedroom unit comfortably sleeps six to seven people. All rental condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet access, in-unit laundry, balconies with great views, telephone service, cable programming, and large LCD televisions with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Bahia Encantada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Encantada Hotel Jaco
Bahia Encantada Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing