We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“On top of the world!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Jaco, Jaco District, Garabito Municipality, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chantal F
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On top of the world!”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We took the gamble of staying for the whole of our 2 week holiday in the same place so we were really relieved when we drove up the secluded path to reach this beautiful villa. The owners, John and Yolanda, had communicated regularly with us and all our queries were answered. The villa was exactly what we expected!
Rufino, the caretaker, welcomed us and we immediately felt at home. You need to ring him before you arrive so that he can hand you the keys, so make sure your phone works in Costa Rica. The view from the villa is stunning: lush forest all around and sea view in the distance. You feel on top of the world. We spent many hours on the large suspended terrace, relaxing and enjoying the sounds around us. You can hear the waves crashing on the beach and the forest creatures from sunrise to sunset. The branches leaning just outside the bedrooms on the first floor attracted white faced monkeys, sloths, iguanas, squirrels as well as a multitude of colourful birds. The open plan lounge/ kitchen was spacious and offered everything one could need. We cooked most of our meals and made good use of the gas barbecue. The nights were cool in the comfortable (and generous) beds. Surprisingly, we did not get bitten by mosquitoes as they do not seem to live in the area. We also had the use of the pool for some of our stay.
Yolanda had suggested we should book a “monkey tour” with Raffa, which we really enjoyed. We also visited the Manuel Antonio Park with a superb guide (essential if you want to see anything!) and had a very informal tour of the El Toledo organic coffee plantation in Atenas, near San José. Most afternoons were spent on the beach under the palm trees, playing with the waves or watching the brave surfers. We were warned about the dangerous currents, so we did not venture too far. The beach is clean, quiet and scenic. We felt we had the beach to ourselves on week days. The fishermen can sell you their fish/ prawns on the beach and we were impressed with the range of food served at the Los Almendros restaurant nearby. We did most of our shopping in Parrita, a small, busy town on the main road to Quepos. There are supermarkets, butchers, lots of little shops and all the locals are really friendly.
We are a retired couple who enjoy peace and space and this was just right for us. Rufino was always available when we needed help (ie: when we ran out of gas for the BBQ!). We thank John and Yolanda for their advice and kindness. They are just lovely and so keen to please. (Yolanda is planning to reduce the amount of sun light upstairs, for example). They communicate effectively and listen to you. We would definitely like to return there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure hosting you, we would love to welcome you again in the future! Pura vida :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A private stay 20 minutes south of Jaco!”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting the pacific coast of Costa rica. it was quiet, private and beautiful.

this place is very high end, Safe and private.
the owners John and Yolanda are very nice people who are concerned that you have a nice stay.
The property manager Raffino is very friendly.
they know great people to set you up for tours. Raffa the father of monkeys was awesome.
It has a great kitchen and nice deck to chill on.
the place has a safe in the first bedroom, and air conditioning which cools down the sleeping areas.

the only down side is it is a little far from the beach if walking, but only a 5 minute drive with a car.

we would stay here again when in costa rica again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, I hope you enjoyed beautiful Costa Rica! It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you will return again sometime in the future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrwill120...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This property is absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views. It's a luxury get away on a hill that oversees the jungle and the coast line. The owner Yolanda is so sweet, wonderful and helpful. We stayed in this fabulous oasis for five days. The magnificent view is from anywhere on the property. Complete privacy with patios overlooking the huge backyard. The home is equipped with all you need. The pool and jacuzzi are also amazing. This property is paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
I'm so glad that you have enjoyed this beautiful country ....thank you for your kind words and we will be delighted to host you again ! Happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanishBir...
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, but this page makes it look like more than it is”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

For starters, I just want to say that we had a lovely time in Costa Rica, and at Casa Yola. There's a reason I gave this place an average score, and that's because there are items that are listed as amenities that we did not get access to, and there are photos on this page that lead you to believe there's more to this place than what you're actually going to be a part of when you arrive at the property.

The property was clean and we were happy to have the air conditioner, with fans, in our room. We needed the break from television, so the fact that we did not get to watch it because we were not going to pay for internet (there's a box located on the bar in the kitchen, but you have to go into town and get a sim card, then set it all up for yourselves - we were not about to go through that kind of trouble on our vacation). We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and the porch, during the afternoon and at breakfast. We had a stove and a toaster oven, which is really all we needed. We were not there for long; however, had planned a few things at the house that did not transpire.

We did not get access to the pool, which these photos lead you to believe. I read through the reviews and it appears that other guests did enjoy the pool, but when we arrived there were plants blocking off any access that we may have had to that pool, after our 4 hour hike(it is not shared, but on the far side of the other, larger house that's attached to this one). In addition, the grill was in the pool area so that was also off-limits. The washer was also in the other house, so it we would have wanted to wash anything, we would have not been able to. Also, there was no safe. We spent the trip in a state of low anxiety, sleeping on our passports and hiding them all over the property. I'm not going into why, but let's just say we would have stayed elsewhere if we knew there was not a safe at this property. Or pool access. We were told, specifically, that we could not go to the pool, by the foreman who watches over the house, Rufino.

There was some talk with the owner prior to our arrival about possibly using the bikes; however, the other guests in the house with the pool, grill, etc, were using these bikes so we did not even bother asking about it, after the arrival.

So, there was some minor disappointment on our part, but we made the best of it. This is a great time of year to visit Costa Rica. I booked this trip last January, so there were 12 months before we arrived...I know it is the smaller property, but there are so many other places we could have stayed in CR. That's just my tough luck for believing this page was 100% accurate, and why I am letting anyone else who plans to book this place, based on what's on this page know what's up with this house. We almost had a couple come with us, and I am so happy we did not have to explain why the motivators for the place were unavailable.

The other house is super nice, and they had 7 people over there, so it looks like you could really set up a decent trip for a relatively inexpensive amount, if you're looking to really enjoy this property. It's a great place. And Costa Rica is amazing. We're definitely going to return for a longer stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review! We will take your views into consideration .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyjenn...
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed Casa Yola!”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Yola! John and Yolanda were very nice and helped me plan out my stay as much as they could. They recommended many things to do while I was there. Everything was very clean. The bed upstairs under the a/c unit is very comfortable. The a/c unit works very well upstairs. There is no a/c downstairs in the living area and there is no oven in the kitchen. There is a toaster oven but it is too small to cook a meal with so we were not able to stay in the house and cook a meal during our stay. Aside from that we loved Casa Yola. The views are beautiful and you wake up with a feeling of being up in the treetops. The house is very close to the beach and Jaco is only about 20 minutes away. It was very convenient. Truly a gem for the price!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank for your kind review Jenny, it's very valuable to us! We are so happy that you had a pleasant stay, we try our very best to ensure a positive experience. With regards to meal preparation you are right in that there is no full sized oven, the kitchen is however equipped with an electric 4-burner cook top, a barbecue, mini toaster oven and also small kitchen appliances such as the rice cooker, slow cooker, blender, kettle and coffee maker. Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth...
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hilltop Jewel”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and my adult son and I had the good fortune of booking “Casa Yola” for our Feb/March week vacation this year. This listing is absolutely spot-on in its description and photos as a “hilltop haven!” Each time we drove up to “Casa Yola” and each morning we awoke there, we felt on top of the world, blessed, and at peace. Is there any other reason to vacation?

We chose a private rental rather than a hotel to experience less of a tourist-y vacation, so consider our review from that perspective. Our review considers aesthetics, comfort, location, hospitality, and value.

Aesthetically, the property and the home were gorgeously appointed with a natural but manicured landscape, framed by uninhabited Costa Rican hillsides and an ocean view complete with rumbling surf. Building materials, colors and floor plan all spoke to the natural Costa Rican earth, climate and ruggedness. Indoors flowed out and outdoors came in. [Only an outdoor shower would have accentuated that!] This home is elegant but it also insists you hang loose, have bare feet and make a fresh banana-passion fruit smoothie before plopping down on the sofa or deck chairs to enjoy the morning or evening sun!

Comfort abounds with the clean décor, the king and queen size bed mattresses, pillows, and the security that is insured by the gated drive. Doors and windows remain open to encourage the directional breezes and the owner’s trusted employees refresh the beds, bathrooms and kitchen each day [or less frequently to your liking]. Each room is accented with natural flowers and offers plenty of drawer and closet space to store all the belongings you over packed!

“Casa Yola” in Esterillos is a central location along the coast, which makes it a perfect home base for day trips covering the coast or for quick trips to Jaco or Quepos where there are more shops, restaurants, and services to suit your needs. As it turned out though, the best seared tuna sushi, ceviche and quite possibly the best beach along the coast, was right down the hill – an easy 5 minute drive past the fruit stand!

Our stay happened to coincide with the owners’ plans to be in the main house next door [Casa Buena Vista], which is also an exquisite property. From our first inquiry into our reservation to the last moment of our stay, Yolanda and John were especially gracious and happy to share local tips, directions to the least traveled but most loved places, and even their fresh tuna tartar that they’d made for their own dinner! Although the pool and motorcycles were also offered to us to share, we took advantage instead of the many off site amenities between the beaches, monkey tours, zip lines, waterfalls and horseback riding!

For all, “Casa Yola” was a tremendous value! No hotel could have offered the same large open space, privacy, comfort, services and convenience, especially for the same price. We highly recommend you plan your stay here in this very lovely home on the hill. Esperamos volver!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Dear Lisa and the family,
It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and having you stay at Casa Yola, thank you so very much for your heartwarming review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to share with you some of the things that made us fall in love with Costa Rica. We hope you will be returning soon!
Best wishes,
Yolanda, John and the family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuifeMora
Curridabat, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great View, one of the most beautiful places on Esterillos, and privacy, spectacular !”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Casa Yola by 4 days, the place is awesome!!! We were worried because there is not Air Conditioned , however it were not needed, place is comfortable and Bedrooms are so well located.

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you kindly for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the lovely natural ocean breeze. We have kept your review in mind, and are happy to say that air conditioning is now available in the bedrooms. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing