We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Would stay there again. Attached to one of the best restaurants in Santa teresa/Malpais. Well situated - 5 minute walk into Malpais centre. Best thin crust pizza. Amazing food, great relaxing pool area...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Clean, organized, friendly, convenient, gourmet, cozy, quiet, beautiful -- and monkeys in the trees! Many hotels are too close to the little town's super loud disco, but Hotel Ritmo Tropical is far enough away to get good night's sleep.
Breakfast fruit salads and fresh homemade tortillas...heaven!
Couldn't have asked for more.
Gracias to Carlos and familia for a great stay, wonderful food

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed at the Ritmo in the middle of February 2013. I originally booked in for three days, not knowing what to expect, and ended up staying for ten days. Had my own cabin, which was very clean, had a safe, AC and large bathroom. The pool was excellent, very clean and great for a cool off swim in the afternoon. Staff was friendly, and restaurant was very good at night (only ate here twice because there is so many great places in the area). Location can't be beat, as you are right in a central location to access Mal Pais, and Santa Teresa and a short 5 minute walk to beach. Would stay again forsure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myles Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed at Ritmo as part of the Kelea Surf program the last week of January and was so happy with everything.
This is a very small property but for what you are in the area for, it's perfect. Cabinas are clean and well kept. Restaurant was delicious and the family that run's the hotel are very accommodating.
Just a short walk to Carmen beach for surfing or the main town of Santa Teresa for restaurants, shops, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCtravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is by far the best-valued place in Mal Pais. I had my own apartment with a kitchen (granted it was nothing fancy, but i had a fridge, stove, and toaster), a private bathroom, and a balcony with an amazing view. The place did not have a TV or AC, and that's because I wanted to pay the price for a room without those amenities. The place is very quiet and the pool area and the grounds are well-maintained and clean. Short walk away from the center of town and the beach. I would definitely recommend this place. Make sure you get a bungalow that has AC, as it gets very hot during the day.

I wish the service was a little better though. I stayed at Ritmo Tropical for eight nights, and there was rarely anyone in the front office to answer questions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milani23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Beautiful, well maintained, clean clean and simple place to stay. Close to the center of the village. Friendly staff and good value in my opinion. Private little bungalows around a pool and one of the better restaurants located here.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank ritch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Loved it. Nice, clean and comfortable little cabinas surrounding a big pool. Great restaurant with many yummy choices, friendly people and service. Nice big Mojito's I might add!

Our room had a queen bed and bunk bed, a bar fridge and bathroom. More than enough for our little holiday stay with myself, my wife and two 5yr old boys. The pool is great for kids, as it has a decent amount of shallow area, plus a 0.5m deep bench around one side. Kids loved it, and so did we.

The only shortcoming, not specifically attributable to this place, is that it is fronted by gravel road with not much shoulder to it (there is ONLY gravel road in this area), so the walk to the beach is a dusty and need to keep kids in step rounding the corner. A short sidewalk or wider should just to El Cruce would be perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fish_kc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathangiorgetti, Propietario at Hotel Ritmo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Thank you very much, hope to have you again as our guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritmo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Address: 100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: £49 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the beat of the nature on one acre tropical gardens. The chant of colorful birds, the sound of the night wild-life and the constant waves of the Pacific Ocean. Let Ritmo Tropical be your host to make your holidays the best you ever had. Come enjoy Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ritmo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritmo Tropical Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Ritmo Tropical Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing