We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - great service - unreal views”

The Papaya Lounge Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food - great service - unreal views”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Amazing spot. Great tapas food for dinner. breakfast was out of this world. Fresh juices. coffee...great menu options. all looking over the jungle to the horizon of the pacific ocean. Great service from Danny and Michael and the owners.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_reeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    15
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing food and service”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had high expectations based on tripadvisor rating but were very disappointed. We were a large group, service was slow and food was not good. Shrimp risotto was way too salty and mahi mahi over cooked. The one exception was the beef tenderloin which was well prepared
Not worth the long climb from the parking lot to the restaurant or the high end prices.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Owner at The Papaya Lounge Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Were sorry that our restaurant didn’t meet your expectations and we apologize for our mistake as we did on the night. The evening your group was in I heard that you had mentioned that you felt the fish was overdone. As you were unhappy our manager Mike offered without hesitation to replace your plate with a new one as soon as it would be cooked to which you declined and added that it was fine, but obviously it wasn’t. Mike also checked with the rest of your table and they said that they were very happy with their food. Unfortunately we all make mistakes from time to time and you were the unfortunate one on this occasion.
While we did make an error, we also tried to rectify it, but as you wouldn’t afford us the opportunity to correct the mistake there was very little else we could do. We’ve fed many hundreds of diners whom have said great things about our food and you’re complaint was the first we’ve had this season. Regarding your comment of having high-end prices, I have to say that’s a little unfair. We have beers from $2.50, wines from $4.50 and tapas from $3.50 while mains begin at $11, or a 3-course meal can be had for a total of $20. We don’t go for the easy option of serving just rice and salad garnish as a side we put more love, variety and detail into our food. We believe that’s the best way to prepare and serve food. The main course plate you were served was a 200grams/7ounce fillet of mahi mahi, a side of potato puree and julienne vegetables for the very affordable price of $13. We always believe in dealing with problems in the moment as we can’t do anything about the problem once the client has left, and sadly as that was your choice thats the case here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just go once. you'll go back!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

After 12 days in Costa Rica, most spent in Mal Pais, The Papaya takes top honors all the way around! The banana nut bread french toast in the morning melts in your mouth as do all the other offerings. The 2 very traditional Costa Rican choices are delicious too, the Gallo Pinto and the Huevo Rancheros. YUM! Then there is dinner. I had several different dishes and they were all cooked to perfection. I would hate to have to pick a favorite. Mike is a fabulous drink maker! Have the catica made with local ingrerdients. Great mojitos to be had also. The atmosphere in the place is spot on. Just the right vibe for a most enjoyable evening. Now if I could just get that catica at home!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catz9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hilltop Luxury dinner”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Papaya Lounge in the Moana Lodge resort is in the hills overlooking Mal Pais and is a good choice for a nice dinner and great views of sunsets and the pacific coast of Costa Rica. We shared 2 small plates and an entree for our dinner, which included calamari, shrimp, and filet of beef with potatos and veggies----the views are amazing and the food was better than good--we were the only ones at the restaurant that day and enjoyed the quiet luxury. Lots of stairs up to the restaurant, not for the disabled unless you can get a ride up in a golf cart! Not cheap but worth the extra $$$

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dustmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Wow....the views are amazing but the food.....my god we had a lot of good food in Costa Rica but this.....simply the best! We've tried several dishes and they are all delicious! Heavenly...compliments to the chef all the way!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyWolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Papaya Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Papaya Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing