We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS tapas and gorgeous views”

The Papaya Lounge Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
“DELICIOUS tapas and gorgeous views”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This restaurant was divine! We enjoyed several tapas dishes (the tuna tartar can't be beat) while lounging on the patio overlooking the sunset on the water. The decor was just perfect--beachy, yet modern.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    15
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tapas Average at Best”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I went here because of the reviews of the tapas, but we were not very impressed. The food was average at best, and a bit pricey. Maybe the disappointment was because of the several other GREAT restaurants in the area, and I have had much better tapas in Chicago. I will say thought the drinks were great, they make one of the best mojitos and have a fantastic view!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventureTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent food at a good price with an amazing view. Best place to eat in Mal Pais for sure. Good selection of dishes and wine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RKsloths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We tried a number of restaurants while in the area and this was in our top two. Great food, service and a view to die for. Up high with monkeys, birds in trees nearby and surf off in the distance. A great spot for a romantic meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandJSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth every step”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Some may find the hike up the steps difficult but the food, the view and the service make the trip well worth it! We went at sunset and enjoyed 5 or 6 beautifully executed tapas dishes and cocktails. The cuisine is creative and the chef is obviously very talented. The atmosphere was magical. A truly memorable experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Papaya Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Papaya Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing