We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

The Papaya Lounge Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Some of the best in MalPais. great fresh choices friendly staff. That says a lot coming from a local...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlitos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    15
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food with a view”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Every dish we tried was wonderful, and the sunset view is spectacular. It's a small and intimate restaurant at the Hotel Moana, but rivals food quality anywhere. My compliments to the chef.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dining experience of the trip”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hello, we only stayed at the hotel one night, unfortunately. We would have liked to have stayed more. The dining situation was wonderful…. the breakfast was great. The dinner was wonderful! My husband and I had one entree, a tapas, and a salad. The presentation was great, the seafood very fresh and tasty and the price, was so moderate. Everyone else comments on the view, yes it is great. But, we actually really liked the play list! The music was not blaring, but very interesting and romantic. We loved the entire experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlb1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Amazing Food and Views!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Moana a few night during our visit to Mal Pais. We absolutely loved the restaurant and bar at the Papaya Lounge. They have a great selection of food. For breakfast you cannot go wrong with the Banana French Toast and in evening they have a tons of Tapas to select from which are all delicious. Last but not least - THE VIEW is Exquisite! We loved our time at Hotel Moana and would return without a question.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible food & views”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was the nicest restaurant we went to in Mal Pais -- absolutely stunning sunset views and amazing tapas. The drinks are tasty too and you feel like you earned it after climbing up their stairs. If you're looking for a romantic evening, go here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snoopy1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Papaya Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Papaya Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing