We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, friendly and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Leobersdorf
1 review
“Quiet, friendly and peaceful”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We spent 5 nights at Pacha Mama and really enjoyed it. Franz - the owner - made sure that our vacation was perfect. The surf board rental included private transfer to the beach. We could treat our sunburn with fresh Aloe Vera from the huge garden.

The bungalows are within a large garden, very private and peaceful. There was no noise from the street. Franz offers free wireless internet and makes sure all his guests have everything they need for a perfect vacation.

A great place to stay...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oorchidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
67
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vlieland, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2010

its allready my fifth time that i travelled to CR now. And everytime i come down here it feels like comming home. The whole malpias / santa teresa area is so beatifull that i love comming back here and might even plan to live here. Pachamama resort gives me that same feeling. Staying with Franz and Mara gives me the secure feeling of being home with that amazing tropical flavor. Really nice and green. Straight on the main road, and 50 mtrs away from the beach were from here you walk in a lazy 15 min to the best surf break or stay there and watch the most beautiful sunset while anjoy a nice fire ont he beach.
All kinds of restaurants are there around to serve the best food and taste like it should taste.
For the rest its just a big exploration of really nice things to do. waterfalls, fishing, hiking, anjoy a beer in the shade all that kind of stuff but than in a relaxed way..
Pura Vida,
Karel Nouta, Holland

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

My husband and I and our 3 1/2year old daughter stayed at Pachamama for 2 months. We were orginally going to stay for 1 month and then find somewhere else for a change of scene. However the place was so amazing and suited our needs that we stayed for the entire time of our Costa Rican holiday. We stayed in the house - its cleaned daily, has very comfy beds , a functional kitchen, big fridge, filtered water for drinking, fast reliable access to the internet (we needed this as we worked whilst in Costa Rica) and best of all an outdoor cold shower (much appreciated), outdoor dining table and bbq. Pachamama doesn't have a swimming pool but it doesn't matter - there are really lovely large natural rock pools nearby that you can do proper swimming in, plus a lot of places that have swimming pools in the area are more than happy for you to use their pool as long as you buy lunch or something like that. The hosts Franz and Mara are extremely friendly, helpful and groovy. We miss them and Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. Our 3 1/2 year old daugher is still taking about Franz and Mara and Costa Rica. She wants to go back there (don't we all). Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area was the perfect holiday for us - bohemian, laid back, groovy cafe's and restaurants, amazing sunsets, surfing and boggie boarding.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredBunnyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Mal Pais is my favorite vacation spot. I have been there 5 times now. The last 4 times I have stayed at PachaMama .

Franz is a great host. He is multi-lingual and can help you with planning your hotel and transfers from San Jose if needed, and your activities while in Mal Pais.

The Lodge is a unique place to stay. Most likely you will have a neighbor if you stay in the bungalows. I have met a lot of nice people this way while lounging in the hammocks on the covered patio. I mimicked the patio at my home in Pittsburgh so that I can pretend I am at PachaMama all summer long.

Also on the property is very nice house if you are traveling with a small group and a huge tipi if you like a camping atmosphere.

Franz has an artsy flair with the décor and painting in his accommodations and they blend very well with the surrounding nature. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained by the resident gardener, Hermancio. Make sure you climb the stairs behind the tipi area to get a great view of the shoreline and watch the sunset.

The food in the area has drastically improved over the last 5 years. There are many great restaurants in any price range.

It is a good idea to have some sort of transportation so that you can explore the area. We rent a quad off of Franz and travel all over with it. There is also a car rental in town.

I can’t wait to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayday1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Last year, I planned out an extended vacation, and wanted to make sure I had the right place. I was set on Costa Rica, and after much investigation, I narrowed it down to the right spot. Sure enough, after a total of six months at Pachamama, I can safely say that Franz has the best place to be in Mal Pais. I scored fantastic surf with great variety everyday and made some great friends. A definite recommendation for an all around great experience of everything Costa Rica at a great value.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLumsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Upon arriving to Pachamama's we were in toal "awe" with the tropical serenity and peacfullness. The town offers Costa Rican culture at its best, we settled into our bathingsuits and surfboards with ease and felt blessed to be there.

Behind the walls of Pachamma's you feel at home and at peace with the hospitality and tropical surroundings. Everyone there was so friendly and happy. The differences is languages didn't matter, we had folks speaking Italian, German, French, English and of course Spanish the native language and all enjoying each others company and appreciating each others culture and differences. We had an amazing cultural experience right behind the walls of Pachamam's. Its a world of its own.There is a house to rent, bungalows or a teepee something for everybody.

The surf and adventures are incredible. Fishing village and national park 1 mile away, beach across the street and town less than 1 mile. We rented a 4 wheel quad right at Pachamama's and ventured over to Montezume to enjoy the waterfalls, shopping and restaurants. We also went horse back riding through the jungles and onto the beach. What can I say We love Pachamama's and Mal-Pais. Its the place to go to experience the Costa Rican Culture and feel the serenity of the tropical life. We are ":hooked"

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I was doing some work online so I needed a secure and relaxed place where I could get online wirelessly and not worry about leaving my gear when I went out. I knew Pachamama was the place because I'd been there before and loved it. It's beautiful, it's away from the hustle of "town" and the owner Franz is a pura vida bro who you can get a ride with to the surf every morning to start the day right:) This place is for people with good energy and an appreciation for nature and life. The name says it all.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Property: Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
Address: 1 km from cross route , 50 m from the beach, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachamama Houses and Bungalows is the perfect place for people who like sports, nature, sun and beach. Only 1 km away is Cabo Blanco, the first national park created in Costa Rica, in 1963.We have two bungalows, each with a double bed and shared terrace for $60 a night, monthly $1400. A third bungalow is on a second floor with a double bed and private terrace. All lodgings are fully equipped with hammock, kitchen, fridge, fan, private bathroom with hot water. The house for rent has air condition and is fully equipped. There are 2 bedrooms, a beautiful terrace with BBQ, outside shower, hammock for $140 per night, monthly $2800. We have wireless internet, security 24 hours, private parking and cleaning service. It is the best option, for relaxing and enjoying the nature. We have a lot of wildlife in our tropical garden: butterflies, exotic birds and monkeys hanging around in the trees, and our coati, a sort of raccoon, which always comes to pick up his breakfast from us. The bungalows and the house are about 50m from the beautiful and quiet beach of Mal Pais. Here surfers find perfect waves year round. Air temperature is 30-35 degrees and water 24-26. We offer surfboard rentals and surf lessons. I'm a passionate kite surfer and if there is coming up some wind I'm in the ocean with a 16 m2 Kite. The wind is 15-20 knots from January to May. It is possible to rent a small house for $80 a night as well. It is fully equipped in a very beautiful and quiet place only 200m from the beach. Perfect location for 2 people. Monthly $1500We can reserve a hotel and transfer in San Jose, or book you a rental car in San Jose or in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing