We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view ever for a restaurant”
Review of Las Caracolas

Las Caracolas
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best view ever for a restaurant”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We absolutely loved the location. We found the place accidentally and stayed for a lovely lunch. It had a beautiful vista with good food. The prices were inline with other restaurants in the area. The margarita was tipico for costa rica, but not for me - too much lemon and no grenadine. The service was very good and everyone was very nice to us. This place is worth wandering over and visiting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    55
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food right on the beach”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great spot right on the beach. Watch the waves rollin while having a great meal. Friendly service. The owners a relaxed and always willing to make you comfortable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food in Mal Pais”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

While I like to try as many restaurants as possible when I am in the Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area, I know that I am going to get a great meal at Caracolas. This and the convenient location makes it hard for me, after a long day, to want to travel up the road to Santa Teresa to try my luck somewhere else. There are many good restaurants in the area, but this is one of my favorites.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayday1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Top notch chef. The food Devine.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I could have eaten here every night if I wasn't staying in Santa Teresa. Beautiful layout. The sunsets made it even more spectacular.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winkler
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, but need a menu in english.”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The view at this restaurant is beautiful. We came here because of the reviews on tripadvisor. We visited only once for lunch and did not know what to order as the menu is all in spanish. Most of the restaurants in the area have translations on one side. We had dry sandwiches, the sandwiches did not have any sauce on them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Caracolas also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Las Caracolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing