We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMMY, don't miss this place!”
Review of Las Caracolas

Las Caracolas
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“YUMMY, don't miss this place!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great food on the beach with the ocean only steps away. You must come here and enjoy the home cooked food and beautiful atmosphere, don't forget to get the ice cream with it's special sauce. Although I am vegetarian, i still found it easy to enjoy supper yummy food lovingly prepared, my boyfriend got the Super Civeche, he said it was GREAT!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank monique m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    54
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Beautiful, cozy, quaint location and wonderful view of the ocean while you dine. Great, fresh food! Had the fish casado - one of the best I had during my week-long stay in Costa Rica.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sboogie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We ate here 3nights. The food was great every time. Loved the sunset from the beach. And it's nice to get a pool to swim in while waiting for our food. The ambience here is second to none.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Life is good (and so is the food) in Mai Pais”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

You don't have to go to Caracolas food. We didn't. We made a mistake. We went for mango and watermelon smoothies and to sit in the pool overlooking the ocean. This was a great place to unwind after walking or driving the hot, dusty roads of Mal Pais. The drinks were made with the freshest fruit. We also laid in the hammocks and listened to the surf hit against the rocky shore. Since we were there between meals, we passed on food. We later heard from other vacationers that we'd made a great mistake. Learn from us. Go to Caracolas, spend some time, enjoy a drink, make sure you eat some food, and think about how wonderful it is that places like this exist and how lucky you are to be there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing location”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If you are looking for delicious food (especially the fish plates), reasonable prices right on beach that’s the best place in Mal Pais and Santa Teresa.
Me and my family enjoyed this place very much that we kept returning back. They have hammocks everywhere where you can lay down and watch the sea while waiting for your food, relaxed music and even a small swimming pool for the young kids to enjoy before the food is served. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMIRSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Caracolas also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Las Caracolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing