We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Costa Rican Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Caracolas

Las Caracolas
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
166 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Costa Rican Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place was great! It was on the more expensive end, but not too high (spent about $45 for dinner for 2). The ambiance is fantastic, RIGHT on the beach. We walked down to the surf while we waited for our food, watched the sun set... and the food was fantastic. It was all Costa Rican and we had fish; it was fresh, well done, perfect. Highly recommend making a stop here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    53
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had our last dinner at Caracolas after a two week stay in Mal Pais, It was the best dining out experience of our trip,

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MuskokaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best place to eat & watch the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Very informal restaurant with tables and chairs literally on the beach. Food is excellent, I had the fish cooked with a garlic and rosemary sauce - delicious. Staff are friendly, prices very reasonable for such good food in a dream location.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Delicious food and cocktails.....on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a lovely evening here. Tables are arranged under little roofs, spread over a wide area, on the beach with the sound of the waves in the background. Food was of a high standard and service friendly. If you are staying in Mal Pais, don't miss the opportunity to eat here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Picnic tabls on the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

For atmosphere that reminds you that you are in a small town in CR, I LOVE Caracolas. The ceviche is fresh, citrus-y and I LOVE the plantain cakes that are served with it--brilliant! And you can't beat listening to the waves! I always stop in for dinner each time I'm in Mal Pais!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLR819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Caracolas also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Las Caracolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing