We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ceviche”
Review of Las Caracolas

Las Caracolas
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ceviche”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had some amazing ceviche right on the beach.They have a nice menu and the location is wonderful as it is right on the beach and you get to enjoy the ocean as you eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    56
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in front of beach”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I like the Pescado Rey (Pargo entero) and my daughter enjoyed her Lomito (Meat).
The atmosphere at night is very special because you eat in front of beach and with candlelights. But for this same reason you should be very careful to not to choose a rainy, cloudy or windy night. It´s worthwhile only in calm and starred nights. Amazing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank leopoldorojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful view at the sea”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

First we were impressed when we entered with one of the nicest views I had ever seen looks like a portal to another continent, then there is a simple but lovely place that makes us think why we love malpais.

About the food the smoothies were awesome.. Asked for mango and another watermelon

Rey fish was delicious typical way to eat a red snapper well cooked... Yummy!!

About the only complaint was that patacones were a bit hard for my taste... Also service is a bit slow but us not as bad as you don't want to ever get out of that place!

Overall Recommended!

Helpful?
Thank HoracioHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this little place, it is paradise”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Location of this place is great & it is a family owned business which I will always support. We came here with a Good size group of people & the service was great & the food was even better. These folks know exactly what they are doing & will withstand the test of time. We visited this place several times during our stay, the Sunset is great & honestly it is one of the only places in town situated right on the beach. I'd recommend arriving before sunset so you can a seat b/c after dark this place fills up quick! The Shrimp Quesadillas & Ceviche Caracolas was amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesParksTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Costa Rican Cuisine”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place was great! It was on the more expensive end, but not too high (spent about $45 for dinner for 2). The ambiance is fantastic, RIGHT on the beach. We walked down to the surf while we waited for our food, watched the sun set... and the food was fantastic. It was all Costa Rican and we had fish; it was fresh, well done, perfect. Highly recommend making a stop here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Caracolas also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Las Caracolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing