We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Well worth the money, I believe we paid $80 a night? perhaps less?
Includes Breakfast as well. has pool.

Villas were actually pretty big. they are like being in a tree house. The property is surrounded by thick forest with tones of birds. Through out of 3 1/2 week stay in Mal Pais & Santa Teresa we stayed at 7 different hotels. This one by far had the most variety of birds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLaFlamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    39
    10
    10
    1
See reviews for
24
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were planning on staying two nights, but left after only one. For the price of $90, this was not what we expected. The room was entirely screened in, with lots of ways for bugs and other things to find there way in, which they did. The room was very dirty, and the beds in very poor shape, needs major upgrading. Since the room is only screened, the surrrounding noise made for a very sleepless night. People enjoy tearing up and down the dirt road that parallels the beach on their four wheelers at all hours. A near-by party had the music so loud I could feel the bed pulse. If you want a camping experience, then this might be for you - but at a high price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This end of the road location might as well be the end of the earth! Facilities are run down and the general condition of the property is a cut below most remote Tico owned facilities in this price range. Condo-type rooms have noisy A/C that didn't quite keep up with the March heat, no trail lighting from rooms to pool and the pool is a long trek from any room. We can not recommend this property to any traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Blue Jay is a bit run down. These are local owners who don't need much, but provide a very cordial experience. The rooms are $69 including tax and breakfast, which is a great deal for the area. Each is a stand-alone bungalow and any neighbor is at least 15-20 meters away so no shared walls, etc. There are few walls, mostly screens that let in the natural breeze and jungle noise. Yes, you'll hear all kinds of sounds throughout the night, including howler monkeys that can sound like lions sometimes. Each bungalow has a large shower and spacious sink area, but the facets, cabinets, etc. are aging. The shower is big and open air and it is never too cold so it's refreshing and semi-outdoorsy. The beds are kind of small and the mattress springy - you get what you pay for. There were 3 beds in ours, so a family could easily enjoy. We never used the balcony because there wasn't much to see, but there are a few bungalows up in the hill with ocean views and those would be the ones to stay in, and perhaps utilize the hammocks. Beware that you will see bugs and other creatures rooming around the room, it's their turf. There are nice big strong safes in the rooms that you can store valuables in - nice touch. A good value for basic rooms.

The highlights were the breakfasts. I usually got the fruit plate but the eggs, beans and rice were hearty and the coffee very costa rican, so you'll start off on the right foot each and every day. The OJ is of the extra sugar type and the toast is pure white, bummer. We stayed for 4 days and I used the wi-fi each day with great success, super fast and reliable. The location is a bit removed from the nice beaches and you really need transportation. The road is dirt and very dusty so beware. We never sat by the pool, what for? The reason to go there are the beaches and surf. This is not a resort. Stay here if you don't spend much time in the crib and you do what we do - sleep and shower only at a good price. It's basic, but can be worth it only if you can get around i.e. Quads, car, motorcycle, etc.

All in all a good value. You can spend $50-$75 more and get on or near the beach, but then you've got to deal with musty rooms, rooms and pillows if they aren't cared for. In the end, we were happy we stayed here given the alternatives (yes, we had a car).

Room Tip: Call before and ask if you can get a bungalow up high. Otherwise, it is nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solly316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
380 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this is NOT it! But, if you are looking for an interesting Costa Rican treat, this is it! The huts, basic but clean and authentically charming, are in the middle of the jungle so the sounds of howler monkeys and other wildlife will delight you. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed it immensely. We made good use of the hammocks on our private porch during the day. The breakfast, served in the terrace below, was quite good. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The Bluejay is best enjoyed if you have a vehicle, but you could do this by foot if you are a good walker and don't mind the dusty road. There are wonderful restaurants in Santa Teresa, Carmen, and Mal Pais...which are geographically difficult to distinguish.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located uphill from the reception area, one is at the top of a very steep climb so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Bit run down, hardly any service, no drinks etc., nice bungalows, big, nice terrace with two hammocks, bit too expensive for a family of 4.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

These Bungalows are pretty cool. They are all on the side of a pretty steep hill and are well set out in a basic, rustic style. The walk up to them can be painful dependent on the evenings activities ;), but is worth it when you get there! There are hammocks on the verandas to enjoy the view and a large safe box to put your valuables in. The breakfast is basic but fine. It is a little out of Mal Pais so probably best for those with transportation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Mal Pais
Blue Jay Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing