We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Naranja Ocean View House
Ranked #1 of 4 Mal Pais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The best reason to stay at Vista Naranja is the amazing view you will get from your private deck, which also features a sofa and table so you can sit outside. The room itself is beautiful and very clean. The road up to the Vista is rough, so best to drive up in a 4 x 4. And although it seems to be high up the hill, it is actually a very nice hike (~15 min) to the various restaurants in Playa el Carmen (bring a small torch). Monkeys are easily spotted from the deck and one afternoon we even saw a jaguarundi in the trees in front of Vista!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pura_Vida_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I love everything about this place. It's location gives the best view of the beach and the forest. It is very clean and comfortable as well as charming. The owners are very friendly and provide recommendations about restaurants and places to visit around. I think price can not get any better. I strongly recommend this place if you want to relax and take a time just for you. I love it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely balcony, so you don't have to worry which room you are going to, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Friends and I stayed in the Ocean View 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights and loved it! The place was truly unique, with the kitchen and common area outside, overlooking the ocean. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The owner Marco and his wife were very nice and provided everything we needed. This is a place I would stay long-term if I were to go back to Costa Rica. A 4x4 vehicle or ATV is recommended to make the trek up to the hotel, but the view will be worth it when you get up there! There are great beaches nearby for surfing, one of the highlights of our trip. The grocery store we went to in town wasn't the greatest - I would suggest going to the one in Santa Teresa a little further down the road, or stock up in San Jose if you are coming from that direction. I definitely recommend staying at Vista Naranja!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I truly enjoyed our stay at Vista Naranja. The property is exactly as the website photos depict. Clean. Modern. Amazing view of the ocean. We awoke to the sound of surf, birds, and howler monkeys every morning. The shower was the best I've ever had in Central America. The only warning is that the road to the inn is very steep and washed out (like many roads in the Nicoya Peninsula) so it pays to be fit with good walking shoes and/or equipped with a 4 x 4 vehicle.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watching99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend have been staying there for 1 month and it was wonderful! We travelled all over Costa Rica and could compare. Beautiful sunset view, near the beach and at the same time very private place. Rooms are new and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesano, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights while we explored the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. Marc was an excellent host, and the facility provided all that we needed, wash cloths, hot water, coffee pot, refrigerator, sink, stove, etc. An outstanding view of the ocean and tree tops. Nicely built and decorated, comfortable bed and maid service every day. Great to have the kitchen out on the private deck overlooking the ocean. The 5-speed ceiling fan over the bed kept us comfortable inside the room. Marc provided needed advice as well about places and distances, and secure parking. Will be glad to return, and recommend this place highly! You will be glad you stayed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonSchillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have stayed at Vista Naranjo in Mal Pais several times now and every time my breath is taken away! It is a very simple but very high quality hotel that sits high up on the mountain where you are immersed in the beauty of the jungle and the wide open views of the ocean. If you want a vacation where you truly are separated from all your worries, Vista Naranjo is perfect because there is yet to be television or radio, although WiFi is included, making the sounds of the crashing waves and talkative geckos that much more enjoyable. If you don't have a means of transportation it would be no problem. When I had stayed with my mom for about a week we decided to walk everywhere, which was a great experience and trecking up to our hotel wasn't nearly as long or hard as we had thought, plus it's close to the main town of Santa Teresa. To make Vista Naranjo even better are the amazing owners Marco and Nadia who make sure every detail is in perfect condition.

Room Tip: In reality all rooms are great, the room on the very end would be best because it is a bit more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMarie51095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mal Pais hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Naranja Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Naranja Ocean View House

Property: Vista Naranja Ocean View House
Address: 800 Sur 600 Este del Cruce de Malpais / Santa Teresa, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Naranja Ocean View House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Naranja is an energetically healing home, built in 2011. The house has been designed honoring the ancient tradition of “Feng Shui” and is inlayed with hidden crystals throughout its architecture. Special measurements and orientation of architectural features in the home help it to harmonize its inhabitants with good luck and increased well-being. The interior floors of the rooms and apartment are polished white concrete that feels cool and soft to the feet. During the day you can sit on your own teakwood terrace while enjoying the soft ocean breeze and observe nature as it comes to you… Monkeys, birds, parrots, butterflies, and iguanas are some of our regular guests, but at times we see migrating whales in the distance or some even more elusive wildlife. Let the ocean-wave lullaby sing you into dreamland so you can wake up refreshed for another day of adventure. THE ROOMS All four rooms on the second floor have a fantastic ocean view from private terraces and they are furnished with queen beds, fans, screened windows and doors, safes and private bathrooms with hot water. The two central rooms also have fully equipped kitchenettes. The terraces can be inter-connected to create one or two apartments accommodating up to 8 people. APARTMENT The apartment is situated at ground level with a spectacular private ocean view. The “Teak Terrace” is furnished with a complete kitchen including a stove with oven and a full-sized fridge, a table for 6 and a comfortable lounging couch. There are two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with a queen and single bed, a shared bathroom with a beautiful walk-in shower, hot water and a security box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Naranja Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Naranja Ocean View House Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing