We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Smoothies, Delicious Tacos!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Beach Dog Cafe Santa Teresa Mal Pais
Cuisines: American, Central American
Restaurant details
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Smoothies, Delicious Tacos!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I loved the Beach Dog Cafe. I did not need to order both a smoothie and tacos - that was a lot of food! - but everything looked so good I couldn't resist. We sat outside, though the inside is nice and looked like a great place to go for drinks as well. The smoothie was huge and very tasty and filling. The avocado tacos were amazing. They had many vegetarian options and the service was great. Great prices, too. Probably the best value for the quality of food that I tried in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Came here for lunch and I really enjoyed the food. The price is the right, and the staff is super helpful. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ihearttravelling1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Drinks + Food + Music. Anything else?”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After a long walk at the warm sand and the amazing sunset in Playa Guiones, my husband and I took one of the paths out of the beach, and headed to The Beach Dog Cafe.
Somebody at Casa Rosada where we were at in Nosara told us to try. It was a good walk from the place we were at, but it was very worthy.
The happy hour was till 6:30 pm. We got there at 6 and start with some drinks while looking into the menu. For drinks, I chose a fresh fruis with one of my favorites liquor: pineapple with rum Flor de Cana. My husband went just for a delicious, sweet and thick mango juice that, of course, I tried a little sip. The waitresses were very nice. One of them even knew some words in Portuguese! I liked that! We had a shrimp in a light coconut milk and lime sauce. Great combination! The live music started at 7 pm. We just relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful night.
Hint: if you are going out to eat at night, take a flash light with you. Streets with public lights are difficult to find. The gravel roads are narrow and believe me there are plenty of four wheeler, scooters and cars coming and going. No sidewalks either. Kind of different.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luaxlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Service was great, good selection, super nice staff in a kind of patio setting, well done, arty inside but plenty of room outside. Prices are good, all service included.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 12345678910go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food, service and ambiance”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Came here traveling solo and found Beach Dog! The menu had a great variety, but clearly uses local ingredients and flavor. The veggies and chicken are organic and everything tasted super fresh and was well presented. There's inside and outside seating and really clean but also casual. There's good island music streaming though the outdoor speakers and it's a nice vibe. I've been here a couple times and always leave happy and full!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derekthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Dog Cafe Santa Teresa Mal Pais also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing