We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect combination of adventure and luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Argyle, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect combination of adventure and luxury!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have literally just returned from our stay at Casa Chameleon, and I couldn't wait to sit down to write a review. This was the best vacation we have ever been on! We arrived to find everything just as it was pictured on the website. However, the website cannot capture the beauty and tranquility of it all. The grounds are amazing. The villas are beautiful and each have their own character and vibe. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary, and we asked some friends to join us on the trip. There were 6 of us, so we occupied 3 of the 4 villas. The hotel was pretty much ours. It was awesome!

As beautiful as the grounds and villas are, I have to say that what makes Casa Chameleon truly spectacular is the food and Rob and Oscar, who prepare it. We were lucky enough to eat 5 dinners at Casa Chameleon, and each one was simply amazing. Rob really was cooking just for us. Everything was fresh, exquisitely prepared, and beautifully presented. They were, hands down, 5 of the best meals we have ever eaten. Then every morning Oscar was there to prepare our breakfast to order. From a traditional Costa Rican gallo pinto to french toast and crepes, we looked forward to breakfast every morning. In addition to preparing our meals, Rob and Oscar are super, super friendly. They chatted with us each day and offered suggestions of things to do and places to go. By the time we left, we felt like we were leaving friends behind.

There is so much to do in Mal Pais and the surrounding areas. Every day was an adventure! We would have breakfast, head out on our quads for a planned excursion or exploration on our own, and not return until dinner time. Quads or a 4X4 are a MUST. Without them, it would be difficult to leave the resort. With them, you can go anywhere!

If you have the opportunity, you must stay at Casa Chameleon. It is a trek to get there, but it is SO worth it. Our week there flew by. We fell in love with Costa Rica and Casa Chameleon. We were not ready to leave, and we are already trying to figure out when we can visit again! Pura Vida!!!!!

Room Tip: All of the villas are great! We stayed in the Ultra Villa, which has a spectacular view, is the lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank argyleboymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    23
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
337
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I loved our relaxing, week-long stay at the Casa Chameleon in February 2011. The property is super-private, with only 4 villas (maximum of 8 adult guests). We stayed in the Villa Palma, which has a terrific balcony (and plunge pool) overlooking the jungle and ocean. The room was spacious, with a comfortabel bed and sitting area. The bathroom was hugh and includes a cool, stone shower with a floor-to-ceiling sliding door the opens up to the plunge pool and has the same great view as the balcony. The jungle sounds can be a little loud in the morning, but after a couple of days, you get used to the rhythm of Mal Pais, where people go to bed and get up early.

We got a package-deal, which included 5 days of meals, a 3-day rental car, and 2 activities of our choice. The food was AMAZING and FRESH. Nearly everything we ate -- breakfast, dinner, and dessert -- was either picked, caught, or baked that very same day. And we got to pick the menu! We used one of our activities to get a couples massage in our room at sunset, which was very relaxing.

This resort is also a great value, compared to similar-type places in the Caribbean and even compared to other upscale resorts north of Mal Pais. It was a truly unique and wonderful vacation experience that we will remember forever.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashintonDCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaiii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions now. I don't know why my reviews don't show up!? However, I'll try again. From our first visit we found Casa C. to be the most unique and exceptional little hotel we've ever come across. And we travel extensively!
The design by original owner Anthony and his wife Bobbie was profound! I had never seen such attention to detail and customer service. Especially given the true boutique setting. The villas are so well spaced and lushly private one feels they have the place to themself! It is great to see that the new owners have taken the original concept to heart and today even more details have been added. Nothing takes away from the nature and true escape of the entire property. In a world filled with boring run of the mill places to stay, Casa C. provides a unique escape. Luxurious while still keeping balance with nature. You know you're in Costa Rica. Otherwise, why travel so far? Casa C. is one of a kind and we'll keep coming back to refuel from our fast paced lives. Thank you all for continuing a magical tradition and great customer service! Above and beyond! And the food was spectacular Rob!
G. Klein

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon, which we spent the entire time, 10 days, at Casa Chameleon. Calling it perfect doesn't even do it justice. From the moment we got there till the moment we left, everything was just wonderful. No television, no phone, no internet (wi-fi is available in the main area of the resort - we just decided to turn everything off!). Just gorgeous views, beautiful villas, and impeccable service. We stayed in the Ultra Suite, aka, honeymoon suite, which is the largest and most secluded villa. With our own infinity edge pool overlooking one of the best surf breaks in the world it was hard to leave the room! But when we did leave the staff was more than helpful explaining how to get around, and had great suggestions of deserted beaches, and fun activities, which they set everything up for us! (zip-lining, waterfalls, snorkeling, surfing, in-room massages, you name it) We are two people who speak NO spanish, so that was a huge help!

We had the honeymoon package, which included all of our breakfasts and dinners (we only went to eat out once!) The food was beyond amazing! Chef Rob, and his assistant Oscar, made us whatever we wanted every morning and night. Rob would even run back from the fish market everyday to tell us what was the freshest catch of the day!

All in all, and A++! If you're looking to get away from life and head to a very laid back town with amazing surfing and beaches, and also eat some of the freshest, most delicious food you've ever tasted, head to Casa Chameleon! We're already planning our trip back for next year!

Room Tip: Ultra Villa is the largest, all villas are privat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamelago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My boyfriend and booked a trip to Costa Rica last year and stayed at Casa Chameleon through a recommendation. We were beyond pleased with our stay. We were greeted by Alonso when we came in with cool face towels, to cool off after our drive over. Walking into our room felt like a dream. The pool wrapping around the main room to the bedroom was breathtaking. The town was full of cute shops with local handmade items. It had a nice laid back feel but also offered a fun nightlife. We had the most wonderful time and would recommend this beautiful and unique hotel to anyone. We plan to make a trip back and stay at Casa Chameleon sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklandville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Knowing Casa Cameleon was a great getaway from all that is hectic in life, we decided on a second trip and found that everything had improved. We stayed in a new villa (4 now and soon to be 5 ) and experienced the same remarkable view overlooking the forests and Pacific Ocean from bed, deck or plunge pool. We even had 2 deck chairs sitting in the shallow end of the plunge pool, never having to leave the cool feel of water lapping around us. The service remains impeccable and the food centered on exactly what we wanted, cooked the way we wanted. It was always fresh and perfectly prepared by the hotel's chef. It was such perfection with no phones, no TV, just the beauty of Costa Rica's natural bounty from forests to wildlife to ocean! They say a sequel struggles to meet the level of expectations of the first version but Casa Cameleon does not disappoint!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My fiancée and I took a trip around Costa Rica last year and were only in Mal Pais for two days, which we spent at Casa Chameleon. We enjoyed the location and the hotel so much that we decided to go back this year and spend our full vacation there. We loved the hotel the first time, and it only got better the second time around. Not only was it beautiful, clean, and near the beach, but the pivacy of the villa and the fact that you have your own pool IN THE ROOM makes it a very unique, unforgettable experience. While the staff is very attentive and can accommodate any personal requests, they make sure that you enjoy your privacy by not over crowding you. Rob (the chef) will cook you a luxury meal with whatever you are craving, and it will make you feel like you are on "Top Chef". Every aspect of the romantic vacation that we wanted was met here. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
198 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais

Property: Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais
Address: Punta Barrigona | Province of Puntarenas, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Conde Nast Publications' Tatler Travel Guide, Casa Chameleon hotel Mal Pais is a favorite with honeymooners and couples looking to relax and unwind in an enchanted adult only environment. Casa Chameleon is vacation as it should be: a warm welcome, rich privacy, authentic experiences, and endless adventure. Regardless of which Casa Chameleon Hotel you find yourself enjoying, you can count on handcrafted cultural experiences and endless adventure. At each Casa Chameleon property, it is our priority to help you slip seamlessly into the best of local tradition and cuisine-from cooking fresh-caught seafood side by side with our in-house chefs to paddling the coastline to sipping a nightcap in your private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Chameleon Mal Pais
Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing