We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Paradise 2nd Time Around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Chameleon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise 2nd Time Around!”
Reviewed 26 April 2009

This was our second visit to Costa Rica and Casa Chameleon. The first visit was in 2007 and it was incredible. My wife was nervous about everything before going, but she loved it so much she bugged me for a year and a half to take her back. We just got back from our trip and we both agree it was even better this time. The hotel is even more beautiful with some new furniture and additions. The area was even more fun because we remembered some things, but there were still things we didn't see the first time. We were also more comfortable having been there before. The people were as friendly as ever and Mal Pais hasn't grown at all. It's still the remote place we fell in love with.

The staff were as kind as we remembered. Jorge is still there and opened a coconut for us with his machete that we brought back from the beach. My wife loves coconut and there's nothing like one fresh off the tree! David and Adam were an incredible help with their knowledge of where to go and what to see and do. Casa Chameleon Resort is a paradise. The villas are beautiful. The natural plants and flowers along the paths through the resort are interesting and very tropical. Everything about the place and the serenity just brings a smile to your face every day. I'm sure we'll go back again next year. It's just that wonderful!

Our tips: No need to over pack. It's extremely hot and we wore shorts and sandals every day. Dining in the restaurants is casual and shorts are just fine there too. My wife took along 3 sundresses, 4 pairs of shorts and tops, 3 swim suits and a small makeup case. It worked out perfectly for our 7 night stay. The hotel will do laundry for you too. Since there is the 25 pound weight limit on the small plane you do not want to over pack.

The organic shampoos and soaps the hotel provides are great. They give you a hair dryer and ipod charger dock, alarm clock, and beach towels so no need to pack those things. There were no bugs, but if you go in the wet season and need it they do sell bug spray in town. And sun block.

The tiny geckos in the room make noise like someone is knocking on your door. We checked 3 times until we figured it out. The bigger iguanas run on the roof in the morning. At night it is very peaceful, but when the sun comes up all of the animals wake up. The parrots, monkeys and iguanas make noise so you can get up and enjoy the day!

Final thought: If you ever thought of visiting Costa Rica and want to have a great time with your loved one, there is no better place than the Casa Chameleon Resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    22
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
329
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a week at Casa Chameleon (March 7 - 14) and really enjoyed ourselves. This was our second visit to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa (first visit in 2004 we stayed at Florblanca) and were thrilled with our choice!

Santa Teresa is experiencing a building boom and we were saddened that it has gown so quickly. It is no longer the sleepy, little surfer town that it was in 2004. However, Mal Pais/Casa Chameleon is what we remember and enjoyed of the Nicoya Peninsula.

At Casa Chameleon, we stayed in the luxury villa and our biggest challenge of the day was to decide what we wanted Mario to make us to eat! (We recommend the chicken w/ curry sauce, BBQ ribs, fruit crepes, homemade pasta w/ halibut!) The food was phenomonal. David and Adam were very good hosts - never sent us the wrong way for restaurants, beaches, etc. Most importantly, they gave us utmost privacy, allowed us to relax and enjoy!

A couple of tips I would pass on: 1) For all sorts of wildlife sightings (monkeys, bats, deer, snakes, butterflies, anteaters, etc.) head to Cabo Blanco Nature Preserve (David will give you directions), 2) For great Italian/Mediterranean food, go to Al Chile Voila (It's in the El Rey Patricio hotel). All homemade pasta & breads. David will direct you to this place as well.

You cannot go wrong with Casa Chameleon - it's truly a gem, hidden up in the trees away from the general public!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Spent the last five nights of a two week holiday at Casa Chameleon and it lived up to every review written on here before me. The place is pure tranquility and romance. A huge thank you to David for making our stay relaxing and to Mario for his outstanding cuisine. I will certainly return and next time try and make it outside the four walls of Casa C - although I know the grass can be no greener.

Jonathan
London

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Simply put: you're going to leave knowing the best staff on the planet. Casa Chameleon is a 3 room hotel with the best service you could ever expect. The food is picture perfect, the sounds of the ocean and jungle are rejuvinating, and the staff is absolutely on point all of the time.

During our stay, the rental car received a dent while it was parked at the beach. We told Dave (the concierge) when we returned to Casa Chameleon, and he took care of everything. Also, we discovered that we would need to stay a night in San Jose before our departure flight. Anthony and Bobby (the owners) not only recommended great places to stay, they actually booked it for us. They handle everything for you so you can just relax.

You can see that the staff at Casa Chameleon clearly make it a one of a kind hotel, unlike any other. Your only unpleasurable experience will be having to leave.

Jason O.
Chattanooga, TN

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerJasonO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut, USA
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2009

From arrival to departure, Casa Chameleon was perfect!
I have to admit-I can be hard to please. Although we travel extensively, to find someplace that I think is perfect is rare. The other reviews are great-I read every one.

Waking to howler monkeys, drinking great coffee and bird watching on our balcony, walking steps to have an amazing breakfast and great conversation with David and Mario, who felt like friends by the end of the stay- a perfect way to begin the day.

A gourmet meal on the same balcony, cooled by ocean breezes, watching the sun set over the Pacific, lulled to sleep by the crickets, cicadas and chameleons, the perfect way to end the day.

I ate like a queen, slept like a baby, and felt like a princess. The only place I have been that came close to this was in French Polynesia at 5 times the price.

We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenhenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We fell in love with this resort and the town. Probably the coolest place to live in the world. We drove all the way from San Jose and it was awesome! We took the ferry and it was worth seeing the amazing countryside. It was a real adventure driving on the roads but I didn't think necessarily dangerous. You just have to drive cautiously. We followed the directions and landed in paradise at Casa C. David and Randal(the dog) gave us a great welcome and showed us around the breathtakingly beautiful oasis. We spent a magical week enjoying the vistas and beaches. David & Adam were great to visit with and gave us great advice on tours, dining, you name it . We had spectacular meals at the resort and great local food in cool locations around town. This was a vacation we'll be talking about for a long time.

Nature lovers who enjoy tranquility mixed with adventure and romance, this is heaven!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animalavengers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We spent the first 5 days of our honeymoon at Casa Chameleon and due to a last minute cancellation, we ended up being upgraded to the luxury villa. Whilst the room that we would have had, the Vista Villa was beautiful, the infinity pool and absolute privacy meant that the Luxury Villa made it absolutely perfect. Dave and Mario looked after us wonderfully and even ran an impromptu cooking class for us on Christmas Day because we wouldn't stop talking about the delicious Mahi Mahi! All round, a brilliant place to stay and close enough to town to not feel cut off.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Chameleon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chameleon Hotel

Property: Casa Chameleon Hotel
Address: Punta Barrigona | Province of Puntarenas, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Chameleon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Conde Nast Publications' Tatler Travel Guide, Casa Chameleon hotel Mal Pais is a favorite with honeymooners and couples looking to relax and unwind in an enchanted adult only environment. Casa Chameleon is vacation as it should be: a warm welcome, rich privacy, authentic experiences, and endless adventure. Regardless of which Casa Chameleon Hotel you find yourself enjoying, you can count on handcrafted cultural experiences and endless adventure. At each Casa Chameleon property, it is our priority to help you slip seamlessly into the best of local tradition and cuisine-from cooking fresh-caught seafood side by side with our in-house chefs to paddling the coastline to sipping a nightcap in your private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Chameleon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Chameleon Mal Pais
Casa Chameleon Hotel Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing