We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Mal Pais.”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My husband, 21 year old daughter and myself had a great stay at the Moana Lodge. We lloved every minute here, from the delicious breakfasts every morning to relaxing on the swinging beds by the pool. The owners, Aiden and Vickie were so nice and helped us out with anything we needed. We were bummed about them not serving dinner the nights we were there, but they contacted us ahead of time and told us that they were not going to do dinners for a couple weeks because things were so slow for them right then. They graciously said that we could opt out of our stay and they would understand, but we wanted to still stay there and we are glad we did.
We only stayed in the standard room, which was still nice(1 queen bed and single bed) with bathroom, but next time we will get in one of the suites which are cool. They are decorated real nice and the view you would get from the suites would be great of the ocean. Our view was the trees and pretty plants, located near the pool which was great. And those swinging beds by the pool are the best---so relaxing!
The big plus for Moana Lodge is the location. During the dry season there is lots and lots and lots of DUST and DIRT and this place is located back off from the road where you do not get that dust flying everywhere-we were glad about that.
I do want to mention the help at the lodge-from the nice pregnant girl(who is due any time), the server at breakfast time, and the pool guy---they were all so very nice and made our stay really great.
We have NOTHING negative to say about Moana Lodge.

Room Tip: Get the suites for the ocean view
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011
Thank SHERRY1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

We had a reservation in a different hotel nearby but were not thrilled when we arrived. So we decided to check out some other places in the area, and happened upon the Moana Lodge. We drove up to the reception area and were greeted by the owner, who was happy to show us 2 rooms.

The rooms were nicely decorated, spacious, clean, and unique. We decided to stay immediately, as the price was also fair. The rooms had strong A/C, nice African-style furniture, comfortable beds, nice showers. Free WiFi internet too.

The owner Aidan, mentioned that they had a bar and restaurant on site, built on the side of the mountain, above the rooms. We decided to go up for a drink and check out the menu. The owner also offered travel advice and route suggestions when we ventured out, which were very helpful.

The view from the restaurant is spectacular. You can see the whole horizon. It is a nice place to view the sunset. It is also a nice place to have your breakfast. The restaurant is open-air.

They had a few special dishes for the day, in addition to the extensive selection on the regular menu. So we decided to have dinner there. I had a Watermelon and Prosciutto salad first, then a delicious, fresh, Mojarra Frita (Fried whole Red Snapper) . I have had this dish many times, in a few different countries, but this was one of the best I have had. We were impressed with the quality of the ingredients, and with the presentation of the food. My friend Tommy had a Filet Mignon in a mushroom sauce with fresh vegetables. They offered some nice Chilean and Argentinean wines. We had fruit and marshmallow fondue for dessert. The international staff was friendly, professional and helpful.

Both Tommy and I are from New York City, and have traveled extensively, so we are not easily impressed. But we both agreed that they got everything right at the restaurant. We looked forward to breakfast, which was also fresh, tasty and well-presented. The drinks at the bar were also made well.

The pool is nice, and has 2 hanging beds next to it, which was a nice spot to relax, and a nice touch. The place was quiet the whole time we were there, so it was relaxing.

I do not have anything negative to say about the Moana Lodge, and I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Mal Pais. And I have to go back, because my wife has seen the photos and she wants to stay there!! Check out their website. I think its moanalodge.com. There's a video on it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My husband and I stayed in a junior suite for 3 nights in March. We ferried across to Paquera with our rental 4x4 and drove to Mal Pais. Roads turn to dirt after Cobano and the last half hour is hard going but we found the hotel no problem. Word of warning - to get the amazing views of the ocean/sunset you have to climb lots of steps to the suites and restaurant - 100% worth it though! The junior suites are very spacious and comfortable and the AC was a god send. Cable TV and free WiFi are nice touches and we enjoyed sipping beers on our balcony while watching the sunset! We ate in the restaurant all 3 nights mainly because of the location of the hotel - the hotel felt a little isolated and after a day of exploring we didn't really want to brave the road again for food! Luckily the food and service on site were excellent so we didn't feel like we were hard done by! If you want a bit of luxury and are prepared to brave the Costa Rican roads to get there then Moana Lodge could be just what you're looking for.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite to get the awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raelarder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed at Moana for 10 nights in March and absolutely loved it! We experienced each member of the hotel staff, including the owners' Aidan and Vicky, as professional, attentive, respectful and very friendly. The exceptionally warm and courteous energy we constantly received from the Moana crew made us feel like we were staying at a relative's estate! After each long day of surf, sun, and dust from the road, we were eager to return 'home' each evening to a tranquil and beautiful oasis. We ate 8 out of 10 dinners at Moana's restaurant, The Papaya Lounge. The food was both fresh and delicious, and the chef was willing to offer extra vegetarian entrees in addition to those already offered on the menu. The breathtaking views from the restaurant combined with an intimate ambiance and amazing staff made for perfect endings to delightful days. We split our time between a standard room and a deluxe room, which were both wonderful in size and style. The room rate, which includes breakfast, was a remarkable deal and the most terrific way to start each new day! Thanks to everyone at Moana for making us feel so loved!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Wonderful views from the rooms up the hill and the restaurant. A short drive to town.
The restaurant served wonderful tasty and well presented food.

Room Tip: room at the to of the hill have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Staff and owners friendly and helpful.
Rooms very clean and comfortable, great bed.
Saw howler monkeys in the car park and a range of birds.
Restaurant had reasonable prices but 90 steps up, well worth it for views.
Great beach walk into town.
Stayed over a week, really liked sitting in the jacuzzi with a beer from the pool bar.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmillstheglades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed for almost a week at Moana in early February. Overall we had a good time there but there was definitely not the friendliness that many reviewers here have reported. We did a full writeup of our stay at our blog.

http://mexicanandredhead.com/2011/02/27/moana-lodge/

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themexican77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: 1.5 kilometers to the south, Playa Carmen, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: £58 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana is a small private luxury ocean view hotel. Located in the magnificent tranquil region of Mal PaÌs Beach on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. During your vacation with us you'll encounter high quality modern hotel suites and rooms that blend comfort with style leaving you with an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing