We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Aidan for building this place!”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Moana Lodge beats everything in Mal Paid / S Theresa. Stunning views, great service and rooms/restaurant that are just out of this world. Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Junior Suite, and we just didn't want to leave. Moana is luxurious, but still personal and the suites (at least ours) are very privately secluded with great views. In fact we were in Costa Rica for 12 days and I had been planning to propose the whole time, but the other places we stayed at just didn't get us in the right mood, but it made a lot of sense here. To top it off, on our engagement dinner Aidan went out of his way to fix us a better table even though we hadn't reserved. Many thanks for that Aidan, much appreciated!

Room Tip: Choose the Junior suite, it has an outside shower with view over the bay, but no-one can see you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddieKStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here the second week on January 2012 and enjoyed this location immensely. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Arranging trips and tours through the front office was a pleasure. The most noteworthy fact is it's location. It sits on a hill overlooking Mal Pais and the Pacific. If there is a negative it the fact that you have to climb quite a few steps to reach your room and the restaurant but the trade off is well worth it. I noticed one reviewer did not like the location from a standpoint of distance to town and walking down the roads, etc. If you stay here plan on renting a car or as we did an ATV and you can get anywhere easily. Be sure to ask Mike to make you a catica at the bar. After a long hot day, it is the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jr. Suite which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicknMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

What a great place to stay for 9 nights! My husband and I went to Mal Pais and area to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and chose the junior suite at Moana. We were greeted by Mike and Vicky and it was all great from that point on. Everyone on the staff was always very friendly and helpful. Our suite was always clean each day. The grounds of the Moana are very beautifully kept and the setting is just right. The pool area, although a little shady for me, is a very cool setting. Sitting on our balcony each evening and watching the sun disappear into the Pacific was magnificent. Waking each day to the lodge's tropical environment started the day out perfect. We were greeted my howler's one morning and always a menagerie of birds. Then off to a wonderful breakfast each day before hitting the area for a new adventure. We also had dinner in The Papaya a few times and in addition to the incredible views from the top, the food was delicious. The best we had our entire trip. Mike and Dannie in the restaurant were great. I miss them already.

If you want to have a very comfortable suite to spread out and spend a few perfect days, this is the place. Rent an ATV, or quad as the locals call them, and go explore. It's a lot of fun!

We won't bother to look around for another place to stay when we return one day. We found the perfect spot for us the first time.

Thanks to all of you guys at Moana! It was great!

Room Tip: Get the suite if you are going to stay a few days or so. They are very roomy and it's great to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catz9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We finished a 9 day trip through Costa Rica by staying two nights at Moana Lodge. What a place! We stayed with friends who had been there before, so we benefitted from their recommendation. The surrounding landscape was really nice, and the room was very clean. Pool area was cool too. But perhaps the best part of Moana was its restaurant. It's located at the highest part of the property, so while eating, you've got views of Mal Pais and the Pacific. It offered the best breakfast too (gallo pinto). Internet access was nice. The staff is very welcoming and hands-on. Mal Pais was a great place, and when we return, I won't bother researching other hotels.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was our second stay at Moana Lodge in 4 years. The hotel has grown, with the addition of the beautiful restaurant with amazing views, and the additional rooms. Owners, Vickie and Aidan, still run this place with great attention and detail. The included breakfast was the best we had in our travels in Costa Rica. If you are going to be anywhere near Mal Pais, this is the place to stay. Don't even bother looking at other places, you found the best hotel in the area. Rooms are excellent, food is excellent, views are excellent, and owners are excellent.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, if you want to spend a bit more for a room with a view, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here 4 nights at the end of our vacation and it was excellent! Nice room, friendly staff and superb restaurant with a view....WOW. You have to do a few steps to get to the restaurant but it's a good exercise before having delicious breakfast ( can chose out of 4! ) or diner. And you need to try out the cocktails !
Enjoyed every minute

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed here just one night, but wish it had been more, this is an amazing place. Awesome views from a well-appointed room (we had one of the junior suites), great food, and close to the ocean. The owners were also incredibly accommodating and super nice. I highly, highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctcharle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: 1.5 kilometers to the south, Playa Carmen, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: £51 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana is a small private luxury ocean view hotel. Located in the magnificent tranquil region of Mal PaÌs Beach on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. During your vacation with us you'll encounter high quality modern hotel suites and rooms that blend comfort with style leaving you with an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing